We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of Alex 30 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alex 30 Hostel
Reviewed 9 March 2014

stayed in the month of feb 2014 for four days .Realy a nice place to stay ; connectivity is very good ; Olgaek U-bhan station is at walking distance ;Three important tourist spots of stuttgart ,the statesgallery ; koenigstrauss and kings palace are at walking distance or few stations from olgaek ; Main station is also at a walking distance or at the most few station from olgaek;
the U- bhan line was visible from my window but to my surprise noise was not a problem ; the reception desk is very co-operative and speak very good english ; rooms are quite comfortable with temperature regulation ; you wont need extra blanket ; the toilet and bathrooms were sharing but very clean ; Wi-fi was free but speed was poor ; tickets for mercedes benz museum and three days tourist train tickets are available at the reception counter ; supermart is near by in case you require any thing to purchase ; Reception desk are always ready to help you ,as the laptop charger with me had three pin but all plugs had two pin.The reception desk immediately provided me with an adapter .I had a room on first floor therefore carrying them was not a problem inspite of no lift ;
Would stay there again if ever had an opportunity to go there .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had a pleasant stay in october 2013 in this hostel while attending a congress in the city; the main flaw was the room wich was quite small, and the noise from neaby rooms wich was quite disturbing in one occasion at late night; anyhow thisi is what you expect from a hostel, after all; it was acceptably clean; the main values on the other hand are that the hostel has a very good price, is located in the city centrum and offers free wifi internet which is quite important for a business travel;

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescopadova111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I booked to stay at Alex30 Hostel in Stuttgart, Germany for 3 nights.
On the last night I had a heated discussion with Fred who claims to be the owner & manager. Honestly, with his customer service skills, i'd be surprised if this was true.

I owed the hostel Three (€0.03) Euro Cents. This amount came about because I had €1.40 in my wallet on my final night in Europe before returning home to the UK the next day. I was using the hostel's computers and hopped off the computer when it reached €1.40. Unfortunately, i hadn't realised that the computer timing doesn't stop when you stop using it. It proceeded to go up to €1.50 by the time I went immediately to the desk to pay. I think this is an outdated practice, but it wouldn't have been a big deal if it wasn't my last night in Europe, so I was low on coins

I explained my situation and offered the €0.07 in bronze I had. This was still not good enough and Owner/Manager, Fred threatened to kick me out of the hostel that night (occurred approximately 22:00) and then threatened to call the police when I couldn't pay the additional €0.03

Owner/Manager, Fred, said it wasn't how much I owed, but that I owed the hostel money. I wasn't exactly calm at this stage, but Owner/Manager, Fred seemed to enjoy threatening me.

Is this how he treats travellers very often? I found his behaviour reprehensible and it coloured my entire hostel stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlliK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked Alex30 after seeing the great reviews here. I was not at all disappointed. The hostel was a short walk from the main station. The staff are really friendly - always willing to help with any questions or directions. The room was clean and so was the bathrooms. I did think that being on the second floor it was a little tedious to get the luggage up - but that's just a minor thing.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road will have some noise from the tram and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prakashh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Heading says all. Very helpful staff manning the front desk. I was delighted that my room was only on the 1st floor as I read from reviews that lagging your luggage up the higher floor is a nightmare. Thank you. Located at a rather convenient are, walking distances to a lot of place of interest, palaces, churches, park, shopping mall, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chempaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Don't follow the advice of Google Maps and walk to the hotel- there's a bunch of really convenient S-bahn stops nearby that save a whole lot of walking up and down hills. The hotel is very clean; rooms are pretty standard for a hostel. Staff at the front desk are really friendly and will help with directions, etc - they know quite a bit. The hotel doesn't have an elevator so the higher the floor you're on the more stairs you'll obviously have to do - in hot weather though you may get more of a breeze. There isn't air conditioning. Shared bathrooms but the bathrooms are really clean and separated based on genders (the same for showers). There are fans you can rent (I believe for a deposit) if you're too hot.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank wonderguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After a horrifying day, my friend and I collapsed in Alex 30 Hostel. The staff was accommodating after we discovered we'd booked our stay for the wrong night. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. No there isn't air conditioning, but the room temperature isn't an issue with open windows. A fan is available if needed. The staff was very knowledgeable about local attractions and sights. For 1 euro you can buy a city map and the staff pointed out things to visit. There is plenty to see within walking distance of the hostel as well as delicious local eateries. Two-thumbs up from this newbie to the hostel world.

Room Tip: When you booking with hostel bookers.com you get free WiFi. Aim for a room on the lower levels becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincinnatideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hotel Stern Stuttgart
#128 of 146 in Stuttgart
42 reviews
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,294 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Ibis Stuttgart Centrum
#21 of 146 in Stuttgart
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex 30 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex 30 Hostel

Address: Alexanderstr. 30, 70184 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Stuttgart
Price Range: £14 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALEX 30 Hostel, the first hostel in Stuttgart with the service of a hotel. Our hostel is located in the center of the provincial capital Stuttgart. In our artisticly designed rooms we will provide our guests with a hotel-like service combined with very favorable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Alex 30 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing