We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, rich breakfast”
Review of Hotel Stern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stern
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Spent a couple of nights in hotel Stern and was pleased, both with the room and with the breakfast. The room was a bit small but comfortable, I slept well. Bathroom was clean, wifi internet was a bit slow. The hotel staff is formal but still manages to be quite friendly (night porter is a bit sulky, but I guess that's part of his role). Breakfast is rich and I enjoyed it (however, try to arrive early or you might find that the cakes are gone). At night the breakfast room becomes a restaurant, serving food till 11pm: quite handy, if you arrive late and hungry!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Firstly I must say that the front line staff were very pleasant and helpful (especially to our dog) but the rooms were not great. The lighting was awful- (don't try reading at night), pillows were old, rooms were clean but there was a tear in the curtain and one of the lights had no globe. Worst was though- there was no seperate shower- so we had to use the hand-held hand-shower in the bath- water everywhere! The hotel is on an intersection (opposite the theatre) and there were roadworks outside.
Its an easy walk to the Muenster and there are many good restaurants around- especially around the Jugendgasse

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the Muenster and of the three rooms we booked- none had this view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel pleasantly surprised me. Located just a few minutes walk from the train station & more or less across the road from the theatre, it was very easy to find. The reception area was small but check in was quick, friendly & welcoming. My single bedroom wasn't huge but it was very clean & comfortable & appeared to have been recently renovated in nice bright colours & with limed oak timberwork & furniture. The room had tv, a decent sized single bed, mirror, adaquate sized wardrobe, dresser, chair & a very reasonably priced mini bar with 330 ml bottles of beer for 2.00 euros & cola for 1.90 euros. There was no tea/coffee making facilities. The room was just a little bit on the hot side & quite noisy in the evening from the busy road outside but this wasn't a problem by night time. The bathroom had hairdryer, towels, shower gel, detachable shower head & hose, shower tray & curtain but no bath.
The continental buffet breakfast was good, served in the very comfortable & easy on the eye large restaurant with it's timber wall panelling & flooring. There was plenty to choose from with cereals, fresh fruit, scrambled & boiled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruit juices, tea & coffee.
The hotel has a small but adaquate lift, shoe buffing/shining machines, a big beer garden that seemed to be popular with the locals as well as with the hotel guests & a very lively bar & restaurant. The staff that I spoke to at reception & in the bar & restaurant all had good english & were more than willing to help with any questions or queries.
Another plus for the hotel is it's location. As i've said already, close to the train station but it's also very close to the Munster, Rathaus, Fishermens' Quarter, River Danube & old city walls. Also, just across the road from the hotel is an excellent bar located in a large cellar, Murphy's Law, busy & with a great atmosphere, good choice of beers, comfortable seating & friendly staff, well worth a visit.
To sum up, a good, clean, welcoming hotel with friendly staff in a great location, perfect for a sightseeing trip to Ulm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank darimass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenterundzita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank cbed2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: le camere sulla parte esterna hanno un po' di vista sulla città
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PietroPloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Adler
Hotel Gasthof Adler
#19 of 38 in Ulm
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
RiKu HOTEL Ulm
RiKu HOTEL Ulm
#16 of 38 in Ulm
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
LeoMar Flatrate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#10 of 38 in Ulm
178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Atrium Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern

Address: Sterngasse 17, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: £79 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing