We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite surrounding near Munster”
Review of Hotel Stern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stern
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite surrounding near Munster”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I stay at Stern Hotel for 1 night last summer, because it is located in the center within 3-5 minutes from the Munster. The hotel is quite old but clean and tidy. I reserved single room but they upgrade to double room without charges due to my requested room with view of Munster not available in their single room. Staff quite helpful but little English. I was lucky because my Ulm friend accompany me during check in and check out. Hotel location on the quite area near the Munster, so you can sleep and relax at night very well. I can see the Munster over my window.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ElsaMuninggar_Echa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
22
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed a night in the Stern hotel this week. Booked it late, right on my arrival day, but got a very good price of € 80.--, breakfast included. The hotel has obviously no own parking, and is the first building on a crossing at a pedestrian zone. I found however a public parking just a 5 minutes walk away fromt the hotel, and the overnight rate (or 24 hours rate) was just € 9.--, very reasonnable. The hotel has a reception on the left, and on the right is the adjaccent restaurant (belonging to the hotel) and the lobby room. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but I had the impression that it was a very refined establishment. I got a single room in the first floor. The room was fairly large for a single, and the funishing looked quite new and appealing, although it's more traditional than modern (-but nice). Unlike in lots of French hotels where everything you touch seems to fall apart, here everything is solid and elaborate, and everything works. Obviously they applied here the same thoroughness furnishing this room, as the Germans are doing it when they build a VW, or BMW -it's just unthinkable that something doesn't work properly.. The cleanliness was irreproachable. The bed was good, and I think it was a tad larger than single beds usually are. The tv was an older CRT (hello old friend, long time not seen), but it worked and pic and sound were perfect. The bath was much larger than you'd expect in a single room, and even had it's own window. The room was furthermore fitted with a minibar, and with a workdesk. Wifi was free and fast. Usually you're bothered by street noise when you're in the first floor, but this wasn't the case here, maybe also because there's the pedestrian zone, so there was actually no through traffic. I ate breakfast the next morning. Since I had a relatively late appointment, I went to the restaurant at 08:45 h. I don't recall exactly until when the hotel claimed to serve breakfast, but I think it was until 09:30 at least, or even 10:00 h. But at 08:45 when I went, many bowls were totally empy. No joghurt (neither plain nor the fruit one), I catched just one measle last slice of bacon, and there was not much scrambled egg left neither. Apart from that, there was however still a whole lot to choose from, mainly different bread types, cheese, ham tomatoes, etc.. So the empty breakfast bowls were actually the only little stain during that otherwise perfect stay.
All in all, I'm sure that this hotel would count as a four star in another country than Germany.

Room Tip: The described room was # 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Spent a couple of nights in hotel Stern and was pleased, both with the room and with the breakfast. The room was a bit small but comfortable, I slept well. Bathroom was clean, wifi internet was a bit slow. The hotel staff is formal but still manages to be quite friendly (night porter is a bit sulky, but I guess that's part of his role). Breakfast is rich and I enjoyed it (however, try to arrive early or you might find that the cakes are gone). At night the breakfast room becomes a restaurant, serving food till 11pm: quite handy, if you arrive late and hungry!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Firstly I must say that the front line staff were very pleasant and helpful (especially to our dog) but the rooms were not great. The lighting was awful- (don't try reading at night), pillows were old, rooms were clean but there was a tear in the curtain and one of the lights had no globe. Worst was though- there was no seperate shower- so we had to use the hand-held hand-shower in the bath- water everywhere! The hotel is on an intersection (opposite the theatre) and there were roadworks outside.
Its an easy walk to the Muenster and there are many good restaurants around- especially around the Jugendgasse

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the Muenster and of the three rooms we booked- none had this view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ulm hotels

County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel pleasantly surprised me. Located just a few minutes walk from the train station & more or less across the road from the theatre, it was very easy to find. The reception area was small but check in was quick, friendly & welcoming. My single bedroom wasn't huge but it was very clean & comfortable & appeared to have been recently renovated in nice bright colours & with limed oak timberwork & furniture. The room had tv, a decent sized single bed, mirror, adaquate sized wardrobe, dresser, chair & a very reasonably priced mini bar with 330 ml bottles of beer for 2.00 euros & cola for 1.90 euros. There was no tea/coffee making facilities. The room was just a little bit on the hot side & quite noisy in the evening from the busy road outside but this wasn't a problem by night time. The bathroom had hairdryer, towels, shower gel, detachable shower head & hose, shower tray & curtain but no bath.
The continental buffet breakfast was good, served in the very comfortable & easy on the eye large restaurant with it's timber wall panelling & flooring. There was plenty to choose from with cereals, fresh fruit, scrambled & boiled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruit juices, tea & coffee.
The hotel has a small but adaquate lift, shoe buffing/shining machines, a big beer garden that seemed to be popular with the locals as well as with the hotel guests & a very lively bar & restaurant. The staff that I spoke to at reception & in the bar & restaurant all had good english & were more than willing to help with any questions or queries.
Another plus for the hotel is it's location. As i've said already, close to the train station but it's also very close to the Munster, Rathaus, Fishermens' Quarter, River Danube & old city walls. Also, just across the road from the hotel is an excellent bar located in a large cellar, Murphy's Law, busy & with a great atmosphere, good choice of beers, comfortable seating & friendly staff, well worth a visit.
To sum up, a good, clean, welcoming hotel with friendly staff in a great location, perfect for a sightseeing trip to Ulm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuthor
Hotel Neuthor
#15 of 38 in Ulm
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akzent Hotel Roter Loewe
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ulmer Stuben
Hotel Ulmer Stuben
#23 of 38 in Ulm
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Goldenes Rad
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#10 of 38 in Ulm
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Munster Hotel
Munster Hotel
#25 of 38 in Ulm
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern

Property: Hotel Stern
Address: Sterngasse 17, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing