We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Ulm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Loewen
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel was a real surprise, in a very positive way. Sadly we only stayed one night as we were using it as a stopover on our way to the UK from Tuscany. It is a small hotel and only 3 stars but everything from the room, food to the service was excellent and I wished we had stayed longer both to enjoy the food but also to visit Ulm.

The staff were very generous in dealing with my poor schoolboy German and did everything they could to "help" me out!

Definitely eat in their restaurant and try one of the local specialities.

Room Tip: Try the Schwabian Plate from the restaurant menu - truly wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MulhollandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

This deserves all the high praise and even more. It is a perfect combination of old and new. While maintaining the charm of the old convent, they have upgraded the facilities in every way. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The restaurant had the best food of all the places at which we ate in Ulm. The staff? Well I can't praise them highly enough, from top to bottom. They truly go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. They are warm, welcoming and absolutely devoted to giving the best experience possible. This is apparently a favorite place for a lot of people, and during our four night stay, I believe we were to only English speakers there, but never once did the staff miss an opportunity to assure our stay was perfect. We loved the neighborhood with its little shops, bakeries and cafes. The tram was very close, making it unnecessary to move our car once we arrived. If you come to Ulm and don't stay here, you will be missing out on the experience of your life.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lanalee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

As soon as we arrived the welcome was warm and genuine. We'd had a problem with our car and our host rang his brother (a mechanic) to ask his advice! The hotel itself is chic and stylish with original decorations and fittings.
It's not in central Ulm - and this may make a difference to someone who really wants to be in the centre - but it is in Söflingen; a delightful suburb in the most tranquil and peaceful setting you could wish for.
We ate in their restaurant, which is very popular as we couldn't get a table till 8.30 and the food was very good. We had a table in their lovely terrace and as the evening cooled, the waitress came round offering soft, snuggly blankets to wrap round yourself.
If fault were to be found it would be lack of storage space and seating in the room was one desk type chair and a wooden stool. Obviously didn't matter for one night, but would if you were staying longer.
Anyway, if ever we were returning to Ulm (which is a 7-10 min tram ride away and trams run every 15 mins) we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandJay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for one night. A very friendly reception and a perfect design. We felt very welcome.
The interior of the hotel and the restaurant was just wonderful.
We had a great furnished apartment right under the roof with kitchenette and two spaces. All rooms are newly renovated in a modern and light way, that gives a perfect contrast to the old monastery building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel, and was absolutely delighted with everything, this is a very special hotel and deserves the many positive reviews I have read on here.

Location: The hotel is located not in the centre of Ulm, but in Söflingen, which is 10 minutes away on the tram. The tram stop is only 1-2 minutes walk from the hotel, and the number 1 tram will take you into the centre of Ulm. Söflingen itself is a very pleasant place, with a few shops, a very nice looking ice cream cafe, 1 small bar, plus a nice beer garden/bar right next to the hotel. The hotel is sitauted in Klosterhof, which is a kind of courtyard which you enter through an archway on the main street.

Hotel: The hotel is part of a former monastery, dating back to the 1700's, in the last centrury it became a guest house, then in 2008 work began to turn it into a stylish, small hotel. The outside of the refurbed hotel certainly blends in well with the other buildings in the Klosterhof, but the inside is very modern and stylish, but still retaining lots of charm with the many exposed beams.

Reception - Reception is a small area next to the restaurant, every one of the staff we met were very friendly, and it felt genuine too, unlike the scripted friendliness at many bigger hotels.

Restaurant - We ate breakfast here on both mornings (its included in the room rate), plus one evening meal. Each time the food was superb, I recommend the home made ravioli! Outside the restaurant there is outside seating for I think 50 people, so if weather permits, you can dine outside also.

Room - Very nice and stylish, cleanliness was 100%. The bathroom arrangement was a bit unusual, just a frosted glass sliding door seperating it from the main bedroom, and a gap in the wall, alongside the sink, so not private at all, but this was a single room, so no problem, I assume the double rooms have a more 'private' arrangement?!! The only negative of the room was lack of storage space, there is no wardrobe, although to be honest, adding a wardrobe would clutter this room and spoil the ambience. There was a hanging rail in the corner with 4 hangers, and there was one shelf in the little cupboard that also housed the safe. There was a special space to put the suitcase though. They also provide complimentary water and free wifi access (they give you a code).

Conclusion - Very special hotel, it was a pleasure to stay here, I would love to come back sometime in the future. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in June and can't think of a bad thing to say really. The apartment we had was huge for the 3 of us, and included a sofa bed, with a fridge and cooking facilities! Very comfortable and clean, while retaining original characteristics like the attic beams. It came with breakfast, and service with a smile always. We dont speak German but always felt the warmth of Lowen's welcome. Kudos to melanie and especially sabine, both were always patient, whether it was about directions, recommendations or translating the menu for us. The restaurant is very good - we had 2 dinners there, and the regional sepcials and seasonal white asparagus dishes were delicious, as we're the home made desserts. Try the freshly-made strawberry sorbet. All whipped up by the owner-chef himself.

A big plus worth mentioning is the wifi which comes with the room. Unlike some hotels, it's free and isn't restricted to a single device at any one time. So I could use my smartphone even as my was on his iPad. No phone though, which we found interesting, but we didn't miss it at all (sign of the times I guess)

Location is wonderful, with the hotel in a very quiet area with several heritage buildings and a church nearby, and a stream which you can hear. Like most churches in the region, the bells go off at regular intervals, which really enhanced the overall ambience of the area.

We drove as legoland (about 20 minutes away) was part of our plans, but there's a tramline that's a 5 minute walk away. Cafes, banks are also within easy walking distances.

Will absolutely choose Lowen again when in Ulm.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank adhoctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for one night on our way through Germany, took a family room which was excellent, the hotel is pretty new and the rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable. We arrived late afternoon and had dinner in the hotel restaurant, good service, great food and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great as well, good selection and eggs cooked to order....

I will definitely stay again if passing through the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
1.7 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#11 of 38 in Ulm
175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maritim Hotel Ulm
Maritim Hotel Ulm
#8 of 38 in Ulm
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Lowen
2.8 mi away
LAGO hotel & restaurant am see
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Atrium Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Loewen

Address: Klosterhof 41, 89077 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: £91 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Loewen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing