We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IntercityHotel Ulm
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Reviewed 10 January 2014

No IHG Hotels in Ulm, so my business colleagues organised this hotel via a booking agent. What a faff. i indicated that I would stay 1 night and the hotel tried to charge me for 2.

The hotel is next to the station, so there are plenty of eateries about. But it's a pretty soulless place. My original room had a window that would not close (think of all those trains hooting). So they moved me - to a quiet room - thank you Intercity Ulm.

Not much else to say. It's pretty basic, but OK for an overnight stay - as long as you get a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

when arriving to Ulm by train the Intercityhotel is in same building with station. There is actually a direct door from train platforms to hotel lobby but it seems to be locked and have a note telling that access is only from street side. Anyhow not long walk from train to hotel. Lobby itself is modern and clean this applies to rooms also though rooms look a bit from 80's. Rooms are anyhow in very good condition and also well maintained and clean. Only thing to complain about room is that at least one I had have a slight noise from railway and trains, did not disturb myself at all, but if you are sensitive to noise might consider some else place to stay. Breakfast is good quality but not any remarkable selection of varieties. If you don’t have anything else to do it is a good idea to take a short walk to Ulm town centre, it is a mixture of old and new. There is some very beautiful old houses and also huge cathedral having amazing over 160 meter high church tower.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeikkiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel clearly divides opinion. We too stayed one night as part of a Treyn holiday. On entering one (the only) disgruntled member of our party was heard to mutter "Back to civilisation at last". This is a bleak, cheerless hotel with ridiculously wide corridors which could have increased the size of the rooms - in our case almost doubled it. The room was difficult to get into with large cases and the single beds were far too low for anyone with knee or back problems to easily get into or up from. One reviewer mentions the convenience but had a quiet room. Our room was directly over one of the lines and we could have abseiled onto Platform 1. There was no noticeable sound proofing. No point in going to bed before 11, and the first heavy train went through about 4, with station announcements following from about 5.30. Very few of our party got very much sleep The evening meal as just about adequate, but you had to like red cabbage. I do, but even then could not manage all of it. A disappointing end to the overall trip and we have told Treyn that we will not be interested in another trip which uses this hotel. Why could we not have gone on to Mannheim InterCity which we had used on the way out - very much better, see review.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Situated on platform 1 of Ulm Hbf it was surprisingly quiet at night. We stopped overnight as part of a Treyn holiday. Once again it was a clean and well run hotel with a very friendly staff. We had a good evening meal and spent some time in the bar area. We were made to feel very welcome.
The only down side was the drunks hanging around the station entrance, but to get out of the hotel in the morning they had their own exit onto platform 1.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malp1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We visited ULM for an overnight stay as part of a package tour with Treyn Travel. The hotel was just next door to the station, so very convenient. We had a nice room, simple but very clean and overlooking a courtyard... Some people had rooms overlooking the railway which they said was noisy.... We had a very nice meal in the hotel, the staff were helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for us as we were able to have a few hours in the afternoon looking around ULM city centre. It was a very interesting place to visit... Lots of shops, some entertainment in the city centre by acrobats and a team of jugglers, also we walked through the old fishing part of the town. We walked by the Danube, in high water because of the recent floods. So would recommend this hotel and city for a whistle stop on route journey.

Room Tip: ensure you have a room away from the railway........and preferably with a courtyard because you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is belonging to the intercity chain, which is directly by the train station.
So the location is uncomparable, breakfast is great, room is small but recently renovated
You get transport card, which u can use for all public transportation for Free
I booked for 85E/night for double room BB
Internet is overpriced, but you can use the one in the next Burger king for free(max 1 hr per session)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is virtually at platform 1 in Ulm railway station. It means good access to public transport and also traffic noise. Hotel has fairly good soundproofing but no air conditioning. And the traffic noise in area is terrible. During my visit the weather was not too hot, but I could imagine that these rooms can be scorching during summer.

Rooms are newly renovated and clean, breakfast buffet is good. There is a garage with direct access to hotel on price of 9€/day. 1h WiFi costs you 4.5€. I would summarize that this hotel has good price/quality ratio and it provides a good base for short time stay. For longer vacation, you probably want to look for something else from Ulm area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
3.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Ulm Blaustein
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Ulm City
0.2 mi away
Ibis Ulm City
Ibis Ulm City
#4 of 38 in Ulm
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Ulm
B&B Hotel Ulm
#2 of 38 in Ulm
232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#32 of 38 in Ulm
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
LeoMar Flatrate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Ulm

Address: Bahnhofplatz 1, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IntercityHotel Ulm 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Ulm is located at the ICE main station and in the vicinity of the city centre. Here, everyone will find sights worth seeing according to his or her taste. The Ulm Minster with the highest church tower in the world is a striking sight. In the immediate vicinity the visitor will also find the town hall with the astronomical clock. The visitor can easily and comfortably reach the Friedrichsau, Ulm's largest leisure park with the zoo, and the exhibition grounds by bus and tram. As a guest at the InterCityHotel you can make use of the Ulm FreeCityTicket included in the price of your room to travel free of charge by local public transport throughout the city and Neu-Ulm. The 135 sound-proofed rooms furnished in modern and functional design ensure that you start off the new day in best condition. The 3 air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight illumination and modern technology, catering for up to 40 participants will ensure the success of your event at the conference hotel in Ulm and form the perfect background for every type of event. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your IntercityHotel Ulm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Ulm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing