We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to spend an hour: Löwenmenschen = Lion Man”
Review of Ulmer Museum

Ulmer Museum
Ranked #11 of 43 things to do in Ulm
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Nice to spend an hour: Löwenmenschen = Lion Man”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Small museum in a modern building. We only visited the ground floor Löwenmenschen exposition around the main attraction, a 35,000-40,000 year old art object of about 35 cm made of mammoth teeth. Nicely lighted, but very limited explanation in English, summary of the German info. Very much worth to spend an hour when you are already in Ulm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Was there today - had to pay extra to see the "lion man" which is part of their permanent collection. No one could tell us where any of the modern art paintings by Rothko, Warho, et al were housed...only that they have been mved. No one could tell us where they were moved to. Weasked several people and no one could tell us anything even when we pointed to the exhibits we wanted to see. We have been to hundreds of museums and this was the most frustrating. This was mediocre at best.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Powerful space, interesting selection.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was there this summer attending the biennale, the curator is really nice and the museum itself offer large artshows spaces, the selection of works is also quite interesting and well separated in different areas of the museum ( I have seen my first Rothko there! )
Lovely book shop!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbiccheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kew Gardens, New York
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A lovely, small museum”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Housed in both old and new buildings, the Ulm museum features a nice permanent collection of the ancient history of Ulm and art from the middle-ages. The newer addition to the museum was beautifully designed and includes excellent gallery spaces. The location on the Marktplatz makes it convenient to see the Rathaus and walk to the Danube. Personnel at the museum were exceptionally friendly and helpful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dnvpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ulmer Museum also viewed

Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Ulmer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing