We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yamas

Yamas
Ranked #19 of 257 Restaurants in Ulm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The food was excellent and good value although the service was a little slow. The waiter was friendly and happy to explain in English some of the more complicated dishes to those like me with limited German. Recommended as long as you're not in a rush!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank blakeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    25
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We wondered around the old town of Ulm looking for a good restaurant and were delighted when we turned the corner and saw this buzzing, smart looking restaurant. We thought it would be fully booked and expensive, luckily it was neither.

The menu was full of tempting dishes and the choice of wines incredible. The sommelier was extremely friendly and helped us choose a delicious well priced local wine - sorry can't remember what it was.

The menu is not obviously Greek and we didn't realise the significance of the name Yamas (cheers) until half way through our evening.

Great service, food and ambience. A very welcome end to a long day's driving from England.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanessaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best culinary experience in Ulm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting, very chic interior. The quality of service and food easily make up for the price. This is no budget restaurant, but you'll experience the best of Greek cuisine

Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Went with low expectations left joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

It was a happy surprise. Normally you wait for a Greek restaurant the typical Gyros - Souvlaki etc.
It was more elegant with Greek-Italian mixture of flavours. Nice dishes full of taste and good portions. Great wine selection and price-wise was normal for the region and the quality.
I would totally go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grigoris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expectations high, poor outcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We wanted to try out one of the best ranked restaurants in town. The place looka very nice outside and is very often full. When entering to the restaurant the welcome was already somewhat lame, I mean it was there but didn't work. The menu was longer than expected. I ordered a dip variation as starter and sword fish with veggies and puree as main. My friend took a fish plate as starter and moussaka as main. We also asked for wine recommendations for the dishes as the wine list looked promising. Unfortunately the waiter had a little clue what would fit, and at least my wines were good but did't fit that well with the dishes. The best of the dishes was the moussaka, but the other portions were firstly too large and had little taste. The fish plate had tuna which is perhaps a bit questionable choice due to the over fishing... My sword fish was also dry and had an odd taste. I've eaten sword fish several times and it was always very nice, but now failed. The bill for two persons with wines, starters and mains was over 90 euros, which was much. My sword fish alone was 25 euros and obviously not worth the price. It is a bity as the place looks nice and has potential, but the whole experience was a disappointment and gives little reason to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaakko S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Yamas also viewed

Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Yamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing