We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, stunning and authentic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Schmale Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Das Schmale Haus
Ranked #1 of 6 Ulm B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, stunning and authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Possibly the best B&B I have stayed in. Our host Michael was so lovely and genuine. The rooms are perfect, right on the water with views of the cathedral, breakfast had everything you could want. What else can I say? Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1900TheJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Be warned - this place is always booked up quickly so it pays to book in advance. The reason for this is not only due to the popularity but there are only 5 rooms available at any one time.

Nestled in the historic Fisherman's Quarter (Fischerviertel) of Ulm, this quirky hotel is a pure gem. Michael and his family are wonderful hosts and will cook you a lovely home-cooked breakfast throughout your stay. There are always fresh bread, a selection of cold meats and cheeses on offer (a very typical German breakfast).

The rooms are very clean, modern and each of them have their own bathroom / shower. The rooms have been maintained to a high standard and still have original features such as exposed ceiling beams and wooden framing on the windows. Beds are super comfortable and Michael does go to great lengths to provide special touches - fresh fruit upon arrival, bottles of water on the desks and chocolates on your bed.

I've stayed here a number of times for both business and pleasure and will not hesitate to stay here again. This type of place deserves to be highly commended and they will not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acreative78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

A very pleasant bed & breakfast. Michael made us feel very welcome as well as providing a good breakfast selection. The location in the fisherman's quarter is perfect for exploring Ulm with many restaurants to choose from. The river ran right outside our room which was a first and very relaxing.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameramadsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was reluctant to navigate my car into the warren of narrow streets that is the Fisherman's Quarter, but with the help of staff on duty, it was a cinch--and parking surprisingly nearby and convenient for day trips out side of Ulm. But the pleasure of staying at Das Schmale Haus was the comfort and contemporary elegance of the room. I will plan to stay here again without hesitation. Great breakfast (communal table), centrally located (walking distance to the Cathedral and major sites), and to excellent restaurants. Couldn't ask for a more historically evocative setting. I was there in October, and the quarter was decked out in autumn floral and harvest colors. Beautiful setting. And the reception and assistance during the stay were personable and helpful.

Room Tip: I had a room that looked out on to a river canal; it was on the ground floor adjacent to the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyborys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This has got to be one of the great small hotels in the world. Every comfort, every facility a glorious old building next to the river in the midst of a hundred great restaurants and shops. A lovely old city from the walk along the ancient walls to the great Cathedral Square. But best of all is your host, truly one of the nicest men you'll ever meet and an excellent chef into the bargain. What more is there to say. Go to Ulm just for the experience of staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Loved this house and loved Ulm. Thanks Michael for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Das Schmale Haus is just like the photos! It is small and adorable. Our host's family lives there and is available for anything you might need but they are not at all intrusive. The property is very clean and modern inside a very old beautiful German building. The window overlooks a stream. The decor is gorgeous and tasteful with loads of art. Our room had a large VERY COMFY bed, a sofa which was made into a bed for our son, a flat screen TV, high speed internet cable, snacks and wine which were replenished daily, a sleek modern bathroom with a shower (no tub but I think other rooms may have a tub). Breakfast was fantastic and prepared fresh for you at your time schedule. We were there 3 days and he prepared 1)German pancakes like crepes (with mushrooms and bacon for the adults and cinnamon sugar apples for my younger child) 2) omelettes and 3) eggs and bacon. Also out for eating were varieties of bread, juices, cold cuts, cheeses, jelly and butter, yougurt, cereals, milk, and the best coffee. Tea and chocolate milk also available. The location was very picturesque in the old area and there are loads of great restaurants with authentic Swabian food in the area. I loved Ulm and this B&B!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#10 of 38 in Ulm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Ulm
B&B Hotel Ulm
#3 of 38 in Ulm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maritim Hotel Ulm
Maritim Hotel Ulm
#5 of 38 in Ulm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Partner Hotel Goldenes Rad
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Ulm City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Schmale Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Schmale Haus

Property: Das Schmale Haus
Address: Fischergasse 27, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Das Schmale Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Schmale Haus Hotel Ulm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing