We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for an overnight stay”
Review of Hotel Engel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Engel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good value and close to The E42/A8 in a little hamlet (Lehr) just 3.5 Km north of Ulm.

Very clean if a little basic. Car Park, Wifi and an onsite restaurant - which serves excellent steak. English spoken.

This was my 2nd stopover on Route from Calais to Rome

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob4Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

On our way to Austria this is the perfect stopover. This time we turned up in good time and were hoping to spend an hour or so relaxing before dinner. Sadly some improvements were in progress and the Reception, Bar and Sauna were out of action. I could mark it down for this but I'm not going to because this is my 3rd trip there and it is only an overnight stop! As usual everyone is friendly and efficient. Last year my son left his phone in the room and they returned it to us the following week. My marginal gripe is that the Germans like smoking more than the Brits so...make sure you get a NON Smoking Room/Floor. We did this year which was fine but we didn't last year which wasn't...Car was pranged (lightly in the car park) but the culprit came to find us via the hotel staff so can't wish for much more. Restaurant serves decent enough food and some local produce which is worth a try. Breakfast good.....already planning for next year

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Non Smoking Floor/Room if you don't smoke the Germans smoke a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way to Austria. The rooms are nothing special but we were impressed by the nice staff. Although the restaurant was fully booked that evening with a Christmas function, they went out of their way to make sure we could still eat something there with our two little kids! This was much appreciated. The bar on the other hand was awfull, cause only smoking, and no place to sit with our kids.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleurdeLys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We booked a doble room comfort in April after having looked at the hotel facilities on the internet.We arrived on Sept. 6th at 4 pm and was given a room on the top floor. The room was absolutely not as expected according to the advertised comfort room. There was absolutely no comfort as the ceiling was so low above the bed that you could not sit in your bed. A quick wake up can easily end with a headache. The room was also very dark (dark ceiling and wall above the bed) and the lightening was poor. According to the advertisement there should be a bathroom with shower. Instead we got a bathtube you had to climb into to get a shower. Not very comfortable. We also missed the table we expected according to the advertisement. We advise everybody who want to stay at this hotel to check the room before excepting. Unfortunately we complained too late as we were told that the better rooms had been given to later arrived guests. Hopefully dinner and breakfast will be better than the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank 65norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with our son, for our visit to Legoland. Booked a suite, which actually was only one room, only bigger. Room was clean, bathroom had both shower and tub, unlike the standard rooms, which had only shower. Parking was public, right beside the hotel. No air con in the rooms, so we slept with the windows open and in the early morning there was always noise coming from outside the restaurant. Free internet in the rooms, but this wasn't always working. The lady at the front desk never smiled, nor did she greet us in the morning. Breakfast was good for a three star, had also lunch and dinner at the restaurant, food was really good, regional dishes. Hotel is about three kilometers away from Ulm's city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel is next to the motorway. Clean hotel, excellent breakfast. Bus stop nearby, a visit to Ulm is recommended. Hotel is a good choice to stay overnight when you travel between Belgium (or neigborhood) and Austria/North Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is a fairly good overnight stop being close to the motorway linking eastern France with Munich, the Brenner Pass and Italy. I have stayed here for a couple of years en route to the Italian ski resorts in the Dolomites and find it gives good value for money. The chief advantage is its location for a one night stop near the motorway but it could be used as a moderately priced hotel for an extended visit to the historic city of Ulm if you don’t mind staying outside the city itself. The hotel also possesses a large car park.
The hotel is comfortable – particularly the beds, the rooms are spotlessly clean, and there is a good restaurant open until very late in the evening. It is possible to get a full blown meal here up until 10 in the evening. There are some nice meat and fish dishes but the portions are huge. The restaurant specialises in fish dishes as most of the fish is farmed on the premises. The beers are particularly good. Restaurant prices are quite reasonable.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and the whole place is run with typical German efficiency.
Wi-Fi is available free of charge and works very well in all parts of the hotel.
Breakfasts are not great and are just about acceptable. There is a tendency for the hot dishes to be overcooked. The scrambled eggs are like leather and the boiled eggs like bullets. The coffee is very weak and unpleasant. There are some good cheeses though and a good selection of the usual cold meats, cereals, jams and bread. The breads are particularly good.
Overall the hotel is to be recommended for its location and cleanliness and gives good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
6.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Am Zehntstadl
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Ulm City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Ulm City
Ibis Ulm City
#4 of 38 in Ulm
511 reviews
1.6 mi away
iQ-Hotel Ulm
iQ-Hotel Ulm
#8 of 38 in Ulm
92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Ulm Blaustein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engel

Address: Loherstr. 35, 89081 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing