We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danube Cycle”
Review of Hotel am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel am Rathaus
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel during our Danube cycle holiday. It was a lovely hotel in a great location, in the centre of the old town and a few metres from the Danube cycle path. The rooms were lovely and very good quality. The breakfast was very good, although the staff are a bit too fussy, insisting on seating everyone rather than letting people just find a table. Good bike storage and helpful staff. I booked it last minute so I did think it was quite expensive compared to other hotels we had stayed in, but it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julieDBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This has been in the family for years. You would love your stay here. They treat you like family. The location is great, the breakfasts are fabulous and you would not be disappointed.make sure you walk around the town and see the lovely sights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FloridaChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Right in the centre this is a nice place to stay. I had a clean and comfortable room with lovely views over the roofs of the old town. The Munster, nice shops and restaurants are close by. Breakfast is good and also cozy. I will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our second time starting a bike trip from this Hotel and the first time was great but this time they put us in Hotel Reblaus next door. We went for dinner and when we returned to our room we found out there was a night club on the ground level and our room right above it. The music pounded through the floor of our room until 2:00am along with the smell of smoke coming into our room from the parking area below. On top of that we could not change rooms as I had food poisoning from the restaurant we ate dinner at. This was probably the worse night we have ever had on any of our 20 bike trips. The breakfast was excellent for the others that were not too sleepy to eat it..........

Room Tip: Stay in Hotel am Rathus not next door at Hotel Reblaus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Norine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Located right on the edge of the oldest part of town, the Fishermen's Quarter, it actually consists of both the Rathaus and the Reblaus. Everything is immaculately clean. Breakfast is one of the best ever. Parking in the hotel's lot behind the building is available for a fee of €5. Two glitches: 1) In the Reblaus, where we stayed, WIFI was virtually non-existent. We could only get Internet access in the breakfast room in the Rathaus. 2) We booked a small room with a "French double bed" on the hotel's website. It turned out that small meant the room was so small that one person had to crawl into bed from the end or over the other person because the bed was up against the wall. The bathroom was also minuscule, accomodating only one person at a time

Room Tip: Room 36 in the Reblaus is good for one person but not for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaussettesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here on the way home to the UK from the alps. Ulm is a charming city and this hotel is right by the main square, near the cathedral and the river. Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, like staying with friends.

We were here on a Friday and didn't notice it being more noisy than any town centre hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at this guest house which was part of a package bicycle tour of the German Danube. It is located in the centre of old Ulm and within a 5 minute walk of the Cathedral (the tallest building in Europe before the Eiffel Tower was built). It is surrounded by fascinating, well-maintained buildings within the walls of old Ulm. This guest house is quaint: our room was decorated in a french provincial style. The bedroom was an adequate size, with a well-appointed modern bathroom. The proprietors were welcoming and friendly. Although there is no restaurant 'on site'; we had vouchers for an evening meal quite close to the guest house. Continental breakfast was provided in a separate building to the actual hotel rooms (next door) in a lovely breakfast room (upstairs) with beautiful crockery. Our bicycle was stored in a secure garage which was situated at the rear of the accommodation building.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulm hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
0.4 mi away
Ibis Ulm City
Ibis Ulm City
#2 of 38 in Ulm
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Ulm
Maritim Hotel Ulm
#7 of 38 in Ulm
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Ulm
B&B Hotel Ulm
#3 of 38 in Ulm
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
RiKu HOTEL Ulm
RiKu HOTEL Ulm
#20 of 38 in Ulm
15 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loewen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Rathaus

Address: Kronengasse 8-10, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: £66 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing