We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Anker
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel is up the street from the Margraves Theater, currently under reconstruction. The Hotel is amazing, old style uniformed gents and ladies great you upon arrival. Rooms are down winding halls. Huge piano in second floor atrium was played by several guest when we were there. No A/C, but the heat factor was not great the days we were there. A fan was provided. WIFI best in the lobby, not available from our room. Breakfast in the dining room was wonderful. Walking distance to several good restaurants and local sites. We were there during festival season, the town was jumping and there was music everywhere. Comfy bed, large bathroom. Had a wonderful german dinner there one evening, out on the sidewalk under umbrella. Great spot, watch out for bicycles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnandSteve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have to admit that this review is for a stay a couple of years ago but despite a couple of recent reviews I doubt that much has changed in that time, nor in the last hundred years!

I stayed for two nights on business and this hotel is so far removed from the usual business style hotels that I stay in that is was a breath of fresh air. Apparently the hotel is over 250 years old and retains massive charm. Very higgledy-piggledy layout, all the rooms seem to be different in size, layout and decor. My room was just fine, if I was really honest a bit flowery for me but hey I'm a man. Room was clean and I didn't notice much noise.

Staff are all turned out in burgundy tunics and all very helful. No bar to speak off but there is a small casual seating area on the first floor landing and a quick call to recpetion had a beer in hand extra quick time.

Room rate was very reasonable , but was a corporate rate and out of Festival season.

All in all, a super little hotel and a massive change from the norm for me. As the title says, Absolutely Charming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMAEEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

If you want a hotel in Bayreuth which is different from the usual chain hotels and which is interesting, traditional and of the highest quality, seek no further.
Right in the centre of the pedestrian area this building has been a hotel since the 1700's and has been run by the same family for the whole time. What a record!
We visited during the quiet season, so the hotel was not full, but we understand that during the high season or during festivals early booking is pretty much essentail.
As the hotel has been extended over time, it is something of a rabbit warren, with small seating areas here and there, one of which has a grand piano, but this adds to the charm!
The walls and these small areas are complemented by interesting decorative items and signed photographs of the many performers and celebrities who have stayed there.
Our welcome was most warm and efficient, our good sized room well equipped, although with no fridge and the bathroom extensive and gleaming. Furniture and fittings are of the highest quality.
We had dinner and breakfast in the bistro, complete with wall panelling and served by charming and efficient staff dressed in period costume, as was the receptionist, incidentally. All of the staff spoke english easily.
Breakfast in particular was an excellent meal, no buffet here, just attentive service.
If I would return to Bayreuth I would unhesitatingly choose the Goldener Anker and would be sure I would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: WE asked for a quiet room and had one overlooking a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas_H443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

If you like old world charm, wonderfully comfortable rooms, genuinely caring staff (who all wear 18th century period costume) and a great restuarant serving delicious traditional German food, then look no further than the Golden Anchor. If you like plastic sterile modern hotels then you need to look elsewhere, but for a hotel right in the heart of Bayreuth and within 100 mtrs of the famous opera house, don't look anywhere else. It's a real gem of a hotel and both my wife and I loved the few days we spent there. Thoroughly recommended. TZ, London

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this hotel for our Tay during the Richard Wagner Festival following a recommendation of a friend. The place is nicely decorated. All staff are dressed in period costume. The housekeepers are the best. The room is keep beautifully cleaned, with clothing items all nicely folded up. When they provide the turn down service, they even put your PJ on the bed for you. The bedroom always has a small basket of fruit which gets replenished daily. The service is fantastic in the restaurant. The food is good in the restaurant and the chef is very flexible with the opening hours. One night we got atable for 22.30 and stayed in the restaurant until 1pm. One drawback is there isn't any air-conditioning. Nevertheless, it still deserve 5 stars and I will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank NoNo0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

One of the best hotel we ever been, the rooms are very nice and clean. The the ambient is breath taking. The staff is very helpful and nice, very efficient, everything was done to perfection for a high level of expectations.They were very professional and attentive - they are clearly used to providing top level service. The hotel was fully booked and there was a lot of activity, but it was not evident by the staff.
The location is fantastic, a winner, close to all the shops in the area, easy access to anyplace in Bayreuth.
We traveled only me and my wife and we had one of the best terrific stay. I'm sure we will come back again. A big compliment for manager and staff!
Richard Branson

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel during the Wagner festival over the course of about 7 years. The hotel is a wonderful building in a wonderful location and with a quirky style all of its own. It is extremely expensive during the festival. We loved the hotel the first two times we stayed but were disappointed this time - extra charges are creeping in and service is slipping. There was no wifi, or at least none that worked. This really is unacceptable nowadays. The hotel just shrugged their shoulders and said they always had a problem with Apple kit but couldn't suggest where we might go to get wifi. The helpful tourist office pointed us to the excellent town library, just 5 mins walk from the hotel, which has free and fast Wifi. The food is excellent but the service very slow and erratic, despite a large number of staff. Fruit is provided in the room but not at breakfast, except for an additional charge. In previous years, I seem to remember freshly squeezed orange juice but now it's straight from a carton. Fine in a budget hotel but not in one of the best in town. Bottled water is provided in the room, but at €5.50 for a small bottle. We had to provide a €10 deposit to get a key for the safe in our room. And the rooms are noisy at night, both from within the hotel and outside. I suspect we will try a different hotel next time we visit Bayreuth.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayreuth hotels
0.5 mi away
H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#7 of 19 in Bayreuth
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#1 of 19 in Bayreuth
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#4 of 19 in Bayreuth
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arvena Kongress Hotel
Arvena Kongress Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bayreuth
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
#5 of 19 in Bayreuth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Anker

Address: Opernstr. 6, 95444, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range: £146 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Anker 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Goldener Anker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Anker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing