We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really adore this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Anker
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I always stay here when I come to Bayreuth for the Festspiele. It is just perfect. Family owned, full of character, located right in the town centre and the staff are all very friendly. All the rooms are distinctive and different, the restaurant is excellent and the place is always spotlessly clean. I love the many photographs of all the famous people who have stayed here over the years too. If I have one criticism, it is that the wireless internet is very poor. But then again.. perhaps we have all become too obsessed with that anyway! Full marks. I would never stay anywhere else in Bayreuth!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart_c_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights.
The location is perfect, on the main shooping street.

The room was midsize with one bed and working table.
The bath was quite comfortable.
breakfast was good. You can ask for any kind of egg or coffee you like with three home made jam.

You can park the car in the hotel but this cost extra per day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Went to Bayreuth for the first time in September, it is a really stunning place with loads of historical interest, the hotel did not disappoint and added to a memorable visit. Helpful staff , old fashioned rooms with a modern twist and excellent levels of service all around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent one wonderful evening in Bayreuth in September. We were greeted by the Golden Anker's very professional staff who all provided excellent service and met all our needs. The corner room was very large and very quiet directly above the pedestrian area. The breakfast was made to order and no request was too much. On site parking was very convenient. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed one nigth. The room is very nice and special - old, renovated just special. The price is really high. I am fine paying high prices and the Wagner festival was taking place. What was missing, the service was not in place. By charging such rates i have certain expectations - these were clearly not met. It is a pitty because the location is fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albatross1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva-Graf-Handel, Manager at Hotel Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Leser dieses Forums,

Dieser Gast hat sich für das erste Haus am Platz entschieden, vor dem Check In den angebotenen Preis akzeptiert und konnte sein Haupt auf teurem Damast, in Eiderdaunen und inmitten eines mit reiner Seide üppig dekorierten Zimmers betten. Bedient wurde er von fair bezahltem, kompetentem mehrsprachigem, festangestelltem Fachpersonal.

Unser sehr gepflegtes Haus bietet einen 24 Stunden Service, zwei Zimmerreinigungen pro Tag und kostenlosen Gepäckservice, Wäscherei, Bügeln, Schuhputzservice, ausländische Zeitungen, warme Küche bis nach Mitternacht etc. etc. etc.

W-Lan Internet im ganzen Haus ist kostenlos.

Wir wissen nicht, welchen Service unser Gast vermisste und warum der von ihm bezahlte Preis als zu hoch empfunden wurde, ist er doch mehr als angemessen für die Klasse unseres Hauses während der Hochsaison.

Wir würden uns freuen, diesen Gast dennoch wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here in July 2012 with our large dog; booked directly by e-mail; arrived by car; stayed one night (enjoyed a good breakfast). Very friendly staff. Room very large and slightly dated, but very clean. Very nice location right in the town centre (parking at the hotel very convenient).

PLEASE NOTE:
the reason for this review appearing with such delay is that we have only now (May 2013) been able to finally fight our laziness in reviewing the more than 60 hotels and B&Bs we stayed at in 2012 and, so far, in 2013.
As everyday (!) users of this site, we feel we must make the effort of contributing - we also think that there aren't enough real reviews by real people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-Travel-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel is up the street from the Margraves Theater, currently under reconstruction. The Hotel is amazing, old style uniformed gents and ladies great you upon arrival. Rooms are down winding halls. Huge piano in second floor atrium was played by several guest when we were there. No A/C, but the heat factor was not great the days we were there. A fan was provided. WIFI best in the lobby, not available from our room. Breakfast in the dining room was wonderful. Walking distance to several good restaurants and local sites. We were there during festival season, the town was jumping and there was music everywhere. Comfy bed, large bathroom. Had a wonderful german dinner there one evening, out on the sidewalk under umbrella. Great spot, watch out for bicycles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnandSteve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayreuth hotels
0.5 mi away
H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#1 of 19 in Bayreuth
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#7 of 19 in Bayreuth
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#4 of 19 in Bayreuth
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arvena Kongress Hotel
Arvena Kongress Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bayreuth
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
#5 of 19 in Bayreuth
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Anker

Address: Opernstr. 6, 95444, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range: £93 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Anker 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Goldener Anker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Anker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing