We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience away from the town centre...”
Review of Waldhotel Stein

Waldhotel Stein
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldhotel Stein
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience away from the town centre...”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends during the bicentennial Wagner festival last summer. All in all, the stay was a very pleasant one, despite a few (mostly minor) problems. The setting is particularly nice. The hotel is wonderfully located with a nice garden area, and is in the middle of the beautiful Upper Franconian countryside. Alongside the hotel is a forest and a golf course, with a lovely walking path. Several mornings I went for long walks having been guided by the very friendly owner, Frau Stein. She was one of the main reasons why the stay was so pleasant. The service was very good and friendly. The buffet breakfast also good, and was served until quite late. The rooms (cottages mainly) are a little dated and quite eccentrically decorated. A sort of 1970s kitsch meets German countryside!! But the rooms are clean, and housekeeping services were good. The few times we dined in, each time in the garden area, both the food and the service was fine. On the last day, the phone lines were down, but Frau Stein was very accommodating and accepted our credit on good faith. Some of us had cash to pay but the others paid our dues when we arrived back home by electronic transfer. Generally, a good and pleasant stay, and I will definitely stay here again when I visit Bayreuth.

Room Tip: Choose one of the garden cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place wowed us!!! Upon arrival we got greeted by the owner, Mrs. Stein. Not only did we get one piece of chocolate... no, everybody got a whole bar and on top of that a bowl of fresh cherries. However, that wasn't all. Since we went during low season, we got a free upgrade! While we indulged in some great food in the dining room, we were able to enjoy a wonderful view! The hotel is located outside the city (just a short drive away) and was built on top of a hill - hence the gorgeous view and oh so wonderful fresh air. We also got a chance to chat with Mrs. Stein who told us about how her family (a couple of generations before her) got this place. Let me tell you - real life stories are still the best! Also, Mrs. Stein gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us in which room Chancellor Andrea Merkel always stays. She also informed us that members of successful German families such as Oetker, Krupp, etc. stay at her place.
Every room is special and has its individual and unique personality. Mrs. Stein told us about her love for faucets... there are some crazy and fascinating faucets :)
In addition, her place has a park with gazebos and beautiful outdoor furniture. We sat there, enjoyed some delicious wine and felt just wonderful. In the morning, I went to do some yoga there and the tranquility of the park made my stay unforgettable. Furthermore, the breakfast buffet offers something for everybody! Organic lunch meat, eggs, honey, and jam! Also sliced salmon, many different types of cereal, cheeses and juice! Once again, we were able to enjoy the wonderful view that the panoramic windows of the dining room offer. The attention to detail with which Mrs. Stein decorated the place is astounding!
Should I come back to Bayreuth (maybe for the Wagner festival), I will definitely stay again at the Waldhotel Stein. Definitely the place to go!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perfectjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holzheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

After finding this hotel via our rental car's GPS and getting over the general area's expensive hotel fees, we managed to book a room as all other hotels in the area were full. When we arrived the place seemed deserted and after parking we were greeted by an extremely friendly manageress and her dog 'hund'. She checked us in, gave us a plateful of fresh cherries and strawberries and a bar of dark chocolate. She then personally escorted us to our room, unlocking the door and showing us around asking if we liked the room. Asked if we would need anything from the kitchen, what time we would like to Have breakfast, etc. she then left. Being used to the cold reception and the decor of the more modern-style business hotels, my husband and I stood in the vast expanse of the room, basically at a loss for words.

It felt as though we had stepped back in time. Everything in our room - and bathroom - was straight out of the seventies. And not in the modern retro decorating kind of way...everything was literally probably still the same way it had been since the 70's. the paisley cloths under the ornate nightshades. The wallpaper. The curtains. The only hint that we were in the present was the flat screen tv that seemed lost and strangely ugly on the vast expanse of the dresser.

The space was wonderful, the view fabulous and breakfast the next morning was also a trip down memory lane which was strange as my husband and I are too young to have memories of the music of long before pre-70's, such as Frank Sinatra playing in the background as you sit in the grand dining room, eating an assortment of goodies, drinking tea or coffee out of porcelain teapots and gazing down at the forests below.

A very, very different experience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel itself consists of separated bungallows, in each one are 3 or 4 apartments. The rooms are big, spacious and comfortable. The hotel itself seems to be very old (but not in a bad way) and classic.
It´s about 30 minutes away from the city centre, but the best way to travel is by car. When you travel y public transport, you have to walk 10 minutes up hill to reach the hotel, which can be uncomfortable every day..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tereza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Waldhotel Stein is in Germany, but makes you feel like in Switzerland. Green grass, mountain flowers, nice big functional rooms, enormous bathrooms more like a 19th century hotel, but in a modern setting. Healthy breakfast - farm eggs, homemade yoghurts, fresh fruit... A lovely, unsophisticated place, not far from the city of Bayreuth and its crowded hotels during the Wagner Festival.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strechParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My trip was to the famous Wagner Festival, and this hotel is out of town. However the beautiful surroundings make up for any slight inconvenience this might cause. The hotel has it's own car, and for a modest fee collected me from the station. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a local bus into Bayreuth, but in hindsite a hired car would have been ideal. Breakfast is sumptuous, and there was no hassle getting me something to eat at midnight! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our room was comfortable and spacious with a large balcony, the restaurant offers
excellent cuisine and a fantastic breakfast buffet. All waiters are of extreme friendliness
and offer outstanding service and the landlady takes good care of every single guest.
Generally spoken this hotel is highly recommendable for a perfect vacation. The location
is ideal ,on the outskirts of Bayreuth,within a short distance only by car to "Gruener
Huegel",which makes it a splendid place to enjoy the "Festspiele" as well as nature
in garden surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristanundisolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayreuth hotels
3.9 mi away
H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
1.6 mi away
Grunau Hotel
Grunau Hotel
#10 of 19 in Bayreuth
53 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Anker
Hotel Goldener Anker
#6 of 19 in Bayreuth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#1 of 19 in Bayreuth
147 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#7 of 19 in Bayreuth
90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
#5 of 19 in Bayreuth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Stein

Property: Waldhotel Stein
Address: Seulbitzer Str. 79 | near Seulbitz, 95448, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waldhotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Waldhotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing