We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but needs lots of updating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, but needs lots of updating!”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

It is hard to tell anything bad about this hotel when you think of the history it carrys, because it is one of the oldest hotels in Germany and the oldest in Bad Reichenhall. It has a lot of interesting historical pieces. But for sure it needs unpating, as the furniture is too old in some of the rooms, also there are some scratchs and damages in the walls, but they are minimal, so it is not so hard on eyes.

I have seen the suites there, and they were quite impressive! Great view from the window, nice furniture, spacy rooms. You would be lucky to live in rooms on the top floors with a view of the garden, that is the wining of the hotel. Nice big breakfasts and the great dining room with a view of the garden. All in all it is hot bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate-go-round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    253
    136
    43
    24
See reviews for
129
318
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was beautiful. The carpet was somewhat worn and the window frames needed painting ... but the large room and high ceilings made up for small deficiencies. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was downstairs in a beautiful large room and had a good selection. We did have to note that the cold cuts were of standard quality at best and we would have expected a better quality in such an establishment as this. This hotel is now part of the Radisson chain and perhaps they will address such deficiencies. There is a large pool and wellness area. Desk personel wasn't terribly friendly - or helpful for that matter. They answered our questions, but made us feel like we were bothering them. We ate at the Axel Stuberl Restaurant at the hotel one evening and both food and service in the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

There has been a lodging on this site since the mid 15th Century , The current embodiment is a grand old lady of gracious, refined comfort updated to current standards and beyond. The breakfast is massive and included with Servers who remember your needs even after one day. The rooms are large, comfortable with excellent bathrooms and a balcony for each room. There is even a smoking floor. A daily newspaper is published in several languages (just like on a ship but even more inclusive) and there are "events and day trips" if one chooses. The bed pillows were real down feather but too soft for me...parking is 6 euros daily ...The location is right downtown (or should I say 'downvillage) in the middle of a pedestrian mall (but its ok to drive you car right up to the front of the hotel !) The buildings are surrounded by a magnificant woods with developed flower beds and walkways. A true wonderland. Finally the price was quite reasonable (119 per night with breakfast and free internet). Salzburg, Austria is 20 mins away by train which leaves every hour .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2010

we didn't have a reservation and needed two rooms. our travel book listed this hotel. we did have some trouble finding the place and the parking wasn't super convenient. we enjoyed the spacious rooms and the breakfast. The location is right next to the shops and a few good restaurants. we stayed three nights and went to Bertchesgaden and Salzburg during the day. It was perfect for us and we would definitely stay again if ever back in that area.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed for two nights with our almost five year old daughter in the newly overtaken hotel Radisson Blu Axelmannstein. It was indeed a bit difficult to find entry from the parking place, but once inside, it seemed like some of those former five-star houses that need to be revamped. The receptionist was not very helpful but we found our room easily. All in all, it did not look like a 5 star, more like a 3 star but very clean, although there was only little room left as the additional third bed was squeezed into the room at our king bed's end.... Luckily, the bathroom had been refurbished with two sinks and - luckily - we had a window too.
On the first evening, we ended up in the hotel's restaurant since there is almost nothing else within walking distance - end were surprised by the very good food and service which we can totally recommend! The other night we trayed the Axelstüberl which serves original Bavarian food. The service was a bit lousy as we had to wait more than 30 minutes for the main dish (which is extremely stressful when you have dinner with a little child!) but the quality of the food was excellent. Since the breakfast seemed to pricey for us, we never had one in the hotel so cannot judge.
However, despite the restaurants, we used the spacious swimmingpool and sauna one afternoon and also found a children's playroom which offered various things from air hockey, monkey bars as well as a large TV with a Wii connected (which did not work however) as well as a computer with PC games.
All in all, a clean and nice hotel which is in on the verge of becoming a 5 star hotel again once new manager has settled in ;-)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Arrived at hotel on Thursday 9 July for a two night stay. Initially disappointed - no obvious sign at car park so little hard to find entrance and looked a little run down from outside.

Check-in was quick - given corner room on 1st floor (standard) overlooking pedestrian zone and fountain. Large and clean but decor a little dated (and alth' not bad it wasn't not up to usual Radisson standard in my opinion) - bathroom was spotless and looked as if it had been refurbed recently. Poor TV choice for non-German speakers and no tea/coffee facilities (although a bottle of water and some fruit was in the room on arrival).

Location though is perfect - well sited in centre town (and also within its own park area) - easy walk to shops and some cafes/restaurants. The town itself (as is the hotel) is probably more geared for an older clientele.

Hotel also has a small gym, pleasant pool area overlooking the park/gardens and a spa. Very pleasant Bavarian style restaurant also attached to hotel - where the food was reasonably priced and tasty.

All in all my initial disappointment did change. The hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable and proved to be an ideal base for a couple of days in a very scenic location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysReady2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We enjoyed staying here, the hotel is about 20 km from Salzburg, in a picturesque setting in a small town. The room was spacious and well equipped. The value was excellent for us since we were able to book a special rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woozster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Reichenhall
0.3 mi away
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#1 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#7 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
#17 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gablerhof
Hotel Gablerhof
#3 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayern Vital
Hotel Bayern Vital
#6 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Klosterhof
Klosterhof
#1 of 2 in Bayerisch Gmain
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Property: Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Address: Salzburger Str. 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Axelmannstein Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#3 Family Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bad Reichenhall
Radisson Blu Axelmannstein Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing