We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Old hotel located in the Heart of Bad Reichenhall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Concord,MA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Charming Old hotel located in the Heart of Bad Reichenhall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is a charming old hotel, slighly (just slightly) worn here or there like my Great Aunt's House- but still charming with a nice restaurant and sauna. My room (106) was just up the staircase (luggage had to go up the elevator) but this made it very convenient. My room was rather larger by European standards- even by American Standards- the bed, as is typical was two twin beds pushed together. The bath room was very large with double sinks and a very nice hot shower.

The meeting room we were in (for 60 people) was a large ball room, carved molding and chandeliers with gold trim and floor to ceiling portaits of what I suopose were long dead Bavarian nobillity. The restaurant had large glass windows to one side where the snow covered mountains were visible a very nice venue.

Wifi for our event was free but sporadic (if everyone went onto WIFI for the meeting it brought the connections to a standstill). No workout facility but a nice running trail (paved) only a half a kilometer run down the street in a park that parallels the river. Nice swimming pool (heated and indoor) and sauna in the basement floor.

Good value and recommended for staying in Bad Reichenhall

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    236
    123
    39
    23
See reviews for
124
301
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband & I normally choose to stay in small & more personal hotels, but this larger hotel turned out to be just perfect for us! Lovely old charm feel, elegant furnishings, big rooms & bathrooms, delicious breakfast {which went to 11AM!}, helpful staff, beautiful views, & a nice pool & sauna.

We stayed in Bad Reichenhall for three nights over a long weekend. We visited the Salzburg Christmas Market {which was fantastic!} & spent a relaxing weekend at the Rupertus Therme. It was a great weekend!

Also, the Axelmannstein restaurant was delicious! There didn't seem to be a large variety of restaurants near the hotel, so we stayed in one evening for dinner here at the hotel restaurant, & we were not disappointed! Good prices, also!

We really enjoyed our stay at this elegant but affordable hotel in the heart of Bad Reichenhall!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mundublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This was our second time staying here, the first time in 2007 it was still under the ownership of the Steigenberger Group. The hotel is generally rated as 4+, and I think this is still adequate, even though it seems to go downhill, even though only slightly. It is still a great place, good value, but details show that it is now heading towards 4 star rather than 5: Ticket machine in parking area broken, no free newspaper in the breakfast room anymore, scrambled eggs just a little too well done, breakfast buffet very good but not excellent (no salmon) - nothing big, but tiny details add up, too. Also less staff now it appears - BUT still extremely friendly and totally dedicated to your well being.
We'll go there again next time in the area, but if noone cares, one day they will compete through price alone - and that'd be very, very sad!
Sometimes things show age, but everything seemed always very clean. Nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kibofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel was built in an age of elegance. Today, if you enter through the front doors, past the reception with its bank of old fashioned room keys, through the lobby to the bottom of the grand staircase you may believe that this is still an elegant hotel. This belief may continue as you climb upwards admiring the tapestries, walking along a wide corridor to arrive at your room. The effect will still be there upon entering the room with its high ceiling and old fashioned french windows. Then look at the furniture - you could be in any four star chain hotel anywhere in Europe. On the table will be a little tray upon which will be two glasses and a bottle of mineral water. Around the neck of the bottle is a label explaining that the water comes at a cost of 4.50 euros. There is little that this hotel will not try to charge you for.

In addition there is no item of expenditure that the latest owners of this hotel are not willling to cut. One area is the reception where only one person is on duty at any one time. This person has impossible task in a hotel that has hundreds of rooms all with old fashioned keys. At one stage the member of staff was on the telephone taking a booking - surely that should have been dealt with by the group reservations office? Therefore it was not surprising that waits of ten minutes or more were common.

Our main reason for staying at this hotel was to dine in the Park Restaurant which we had admired when we had visited before but only for the day and had to leave before dinner was served. Looking at the hotel's website before we left the UK the Park Restaurant is listed as one of the amenities, it still is. The guest information stated likewise but the Park Restaurant has been closed. Sorry it is open but only for breakfast. That meal is standard four star chain hotel fare.

Also in the guest information is reference to the lake in the gardens. It invites you to relax and sit round it. When we located it there was about one foot of very dirty water in the bottom of this six foot deep pool. No one would want to sit round it. All around was decay. There were tennis courts that could not be played on. In fact, the whole of the park gave the appearance of neglect.

The car park was the same. It was badly in need of resurfacing along with the removal of various shrubs that have sprung up due to the lack of attention. It would not be so bad if you did not have the whole length of the car park in order to get into the hotel there being no direct entrance from the car park to the hotel. Also there is only one tiny sign indicating to drivers where reception is.

We were so disappointed with what we found that we checked out after one night although we had booked for three.

This is a lovely hotel that has suffered as a result of two changes of ownership in three years. It deserves better - let us hope that there is someone out there who will restore it to its former glory.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

It is hard to tell anything bad about this hotel when you think of the history it carrys, because it is one of the oldest hotels in Germany and the oldest in Bad Reichenhall. It has a lot of interesting historical pieces. But for sure it needs unpating, as the furniture is too old in some of the rooms, also there are some scratchs and damages in the walls, but they are minimal, so it is not so hard on eyes.

I have seen the suites there, and they were quite impressive! Great view from the window, nice furniture, spacy rooms. You would be lucky to live in rooms on the top floors with a view of the garden, that is the wining of the hotel. Nice big breakfasts and the great dining room with a view of the garden. All in all it is hot bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate-go-round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was beautiful. The carpet was somewhat worn and the window frames needed painting ... but the large room and high ceilings made up for small deficiencies. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was downstairs in a beautiful large room and had a good selection. We did have to note that the cold cuts were of standard quality at best and we would have expected a better quality in such an establishment as this. This hotel is now part of the Radisson chain and perhaps they will address such deficiencies. There is a large pool and wellness area. Desk personel wasn't terribly friendly - or helpful for that matter. They answered our questions, but made us feel like we were bothering them. We ate at the Axel Stuberl Restaurant at the hotel one evening and both food and service in the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

There has been a lodging on this site since the mid 15th Century , The current embodiment is a grand old lady of gracious, refined comfort updated to current standards and beyond. The breakfast is massive and included with Servers who remember your needs even after one day. The rooms are large, comfortable with excellent bathrooms and a balcony for each room. There is even a smoking floor. A daily newspaper is published in several languages (just like on a ship but even more inclusive) and there are "events and day trips" if one chooses. The bed pillows were real down feather but too soft for me...parking is 6 euros daily ...The location is right downtown (or should I say 'downvillage) in the middle of a pedestrian mall (but its ok to drive you car right up to the front of the hotel !) The buildings are surrounded by a magnificant woods with developed flower beds and walkways. A true wonderland. Finally the price was quite reasonable (119 per night with breakfast and free internet). Salzburg, Austria is 20 mins away by train which leaves every hour .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Reichenhall hotels
0.2 mi away
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#3 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#4 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
#14 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gablerhof
Hotel Gablerhof
#2 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayern Vital
Hotel Bayern Vital
#7 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnenbichl
Hotel Sonnenbichl
#15 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Property: Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Address: Salzburger Str. 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Axelmannstein Resort)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#3 Family Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bad Reichenhall
Radisson Blu Axelmannstein Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing