We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Nearby Hotels
AMBER RESIDENZ(Bad Reichenhall)
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel am Rupertuspark(Bad Reichenhall)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Pension Seeblick(Bad Reichenhall)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bayern Vital(Bad Reichenhall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pension Schwarzenbach(Bad Reichenhall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dora(Bad Reichenhall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Hotel Sonnenbichl(Bad Reichenhall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
208
284
165
56
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
284
165
56
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolshopping areacoach holidayno air conditioningnice hotelnice poolexcellent value for moneyold schoolnice walkcould have been betterbig hoteltype hotelfront entrancebeautiful parkbeautiful roomdining hallhigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

very old, very dusty and no hot water. absolutely no go. i disliked the moulded lobby and everything is carelessly run down. it formerly was planned as a beautifull hotel but has a 1 star status in 2014 not anything better. i would never go there with someone with allergies or who is not able to cope with lots of dust and dirt and mould. also the wellness garden shower is constructed of pure pipes and the foot basin has cracked and uneven surface that cuts your feet. the balconies are halfed by barriers so the old huge ones cant even be used. maybe because they are not solid anymore. this hotel needs to be completely redone or rented to i dont even know maybe careless young packpackers for a one star price.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graphicsdesignusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein.
However I certainly appreciate the constructive points made. Rest assured, I shall share your observations with the relevant departments, as it is only through our guests’ feedback that the appropriate improvements can be made.
It has been disappointing to note that you felt our room was not what you had expected, because we often have many compliments about it. They often tell us, that they like this old, traditional hotel.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great stay.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived by car after nightfall. It was ridiculous trying to find it on GPS. The front is actually on a foot path, so not knowing that you are allowed to drive on it can make things awkward. We opted for the cheaper 6 Euro/night parking with about 6 Euro per night parking tax on top of that. It was in a seemingly secure well-lit lot, so no problems there. Not the most convenient getting in and out of, but we left it parked for the duration.

Located on the edge of a very nice shopping district, and most of the sights are within walking distance. It's definitely the most impressive looking hotel in the area, if not a bit secluded. Good views of the mountains from the upper floors.

The decotage is in an awkward phase where it is clearly a classical hotel living in the modern age. Lots of history in these walls, but the Cold War was not kind to the furniture. A lot of the furniture was obviously modern- for 1975. Not a big deal, but I'm not sure the hotel likes that stuff being inside it. The mercury glass throughout is very nice.

I kept referring to the hotel as the 'Land Titanic'. It had a very nice pool and spa (to be expected in a spa town), along with some mysterious bathtub rooms. It was cold during our stay, so I can't speak for the gardens and exterior. Breakfast was a pretty delicious spread. Nothing too fancy, but definitely a nice way to start the day.

Lots of help from the front desk. They offer plenty of discounts for local area attractions and a lot of knowledge. Maid service was efficient and friendly. Internet was about 50 Euro for 4 nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you wear your hotel robes to the pool or you will get the stinkeye.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peppermintpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern A, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for the positive review on trip advisor and also for your comments. It was great to see, that you had a good time in our Axelmannstein Hotel and we are all looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Björn Achstaller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had bought 3 nights inclusive wellness and half board.
There are no information anything. There was NOT free wifi. The dinners were terribly! During the 3 days we had the SAME: fish in whitewine sauce!!!!
The breakfasts were poor and average.
We asked superior double room, but the room was average: used furniture, peeling paints, rough towels.
But the surroundings and the city was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very difficult to find - our GPS send us to a closede road and so did other residens GPS too... The hotel parking place was located behind some other hotels and you has to pay 6€. No information at all when we got our room key, we had to ask for every info ourselves. Our room was on first floor, just across the road for a dancebar which played music all night :-( Breakfast was ordinar, nothing more... If you like old fashion style you will like this hotel. But you will not have value for money!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Topi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had bought a package deal - apply 3 days inclusive wellness and half board. On arrival there was virtually no information - nor where to eat dinner. The dinner was poor and the dessert did not respond to the written menu, so we did not eat it.
There was not free Wi-Fi, however a opportunity to use the hotels computer that was located in library.
The private park around the hotel missed the gardener, but could have been really beautiful and this - once apon a time great old hotel - did not fit with burn marks in the bed headboard.
The hotel can certainly be nice with moderated repair and not at least somewhat kompetet staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dope60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Dope60,

first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Axelmannstein Hotel and for this reason we would like to take the time to apologize for the circumstances you have experienced.

Regarding the incidents which had appeared, we would like to insure you that this is not our standard. Please be insured that we will pursue the scene you have described to us, as the satisfaction of our guests is very important to us.

Once more we apologize for the circumstances and we hope to maybe obtain a second chance from you in the future.


Best wishes from Bad Reichenhall,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews