We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We already had stayed here third time,and always got perfect service for reasonable money .There are perfect breakfast and good menu at restaurant (especially courses from Chef). Also,you getting discount for visit some attractions (Salz Museum,Koenigsee etc.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mikhail V,

Thank you very much for having chosen again the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience.
I am delighted that you chose our property for your visit again and I shall certainly share your positive feedback with the relevant departments.
A great breakfast is best the start into a great day. Tea or coffee specialties, sweet or hearty delicacies, something light or something healthy… We are pleased that it found your appreciation.
Thank you for your kind comments and I appreciate your compliments with regards to the excellent standard of service, accommodation and food and beverage we provided. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    249
    129
    41
    24
See reviews for
125
313
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

i had known the Axelmannstein in its grand time, almost half a century ago and have chosen it for nostalgic reasons when attending a seminar in Bad Reichenhall. One could say it urgently needs an overhaul, especially the furniture in the dining room - the chairs are spotty or downright dirty. if you are more amiably inclined you call it shabby chic.......
The personnel at the reception, all but one I think Syrian man, were clearly out of their depth....
The room was cleaned well. The breakfast buffet was at first sight large, but a little meager after all...the scrambled eggs not made from fresh eggs but egg powder and all the eggs were more than hoard boiled, even the five minutes ones. The breadselection however was large and varied.
The Axel Stübel Restaurant was great on the other hand. A variety of food and beer and capable and friendly waitresses. Do try the Horseradish soup - it is something different and excellent - however, there does not seem to be a standard recipe for it, as it was different every time - I ate it three times!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear HazeTaze,

thank you very much for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience.
It is a pleasure to share your warm and motivating comment with respect to the team.
We are pleased that our guest rooms met your expectations.
A great breakfast is best the start into a great day. Tea or coffee specialties, sweet or hearty delicacies, something light or something healthy… We are pleased that it found your appreciation.
We do hope that there will be a few more opportunities in the not to distant future when we will have the pleasure of your return to the Hotel.

Best regards,

Henrik Mészáros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

very old, very dusty and no hot water. absolutely no go. i disliked the moulded lobby and everything is carelessly run down. it formerly was planned as a beautifull hotel but has a 1 star status in 2014 not anything better. i would never go there with someone with allergies or who is not able to cope with lots of dust and dirt and mould. also the wellness garden shower is constructed of pure pipes and the foot basin has cracked and uneven surface that cuts your feet. the balconies are halfed by barriers so the old huge ones cant even be used. maybe because they are not solid anymore. this hotel needs to be completely redone or rented to i dont even know maybe careless young packpackers for a one star price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graphicsdesignusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein.
However I certainly appreciate the constructive points made. Rest assured, I shall share your observations with the relevant departments, as it is only through our guests’ feedback that the appropriate improvements can be made.
It has been disappointing to note that you felt our room was not what you had expected, because we often have many compliments about it. They often tell us, that they like this old, traditional hotel.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great stay.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived by car after nightfall. It was ridiculous trying to find it on GPS. The front is actually on a foot path, so not knowing that you are allowed to drive on it can make things awkward. We opted for the cheaper 6 Euro/night parking with about 6 Euro per night parking tax on top of that. It was in a seemingly secure well-lit lot, so no problems there. Not the most convenient getting in and out of, but we left it parked for the duration.

Located on the edge of a very nice shopping district, and most of the sights are within walking distance. It's definitely the most impressive looking hotel in the area, if not a bit secluded. Good views of the mountains from the upper floors.

The decotage is in an awkward phase where it is clearly a classical hotel living in the modern age. Lots of history in these walls, but the Cold War was not kind to the furniture. A lot of the furniture was obviously modern- for 1975. Not a big deal, but I'm not sure the hotel likes that stuff being inside it. The mercury glass throughout is very nice.

I kept referring to the hotel as the 'Land Titanic'. It had a very nice pool and spa (to be expected in a spa town), along with some mysterious bathtub rooms. It was cold during our stay, so I can't speak for the gardens and exterior. Breakfast was a pretty delicious spread. Nothing too fancy, but definitely a nice way to start the day.

Lots of help from the front desk. They offer plenty of discounts for local area attractions and a lot of knowledge. Maid service was efficient and friendly. Internet was about 50 Euro for 4 nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you wear your hotel robes to the pool or you will get the stinkeye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peppermintpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern A, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for the positive review on trip advisor and also for your comments. It was great to see, that you had a good time in our Axelmannstein Hotel and we are all looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Björn Achstaller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had bought 3 nights inclusive wellness and half board.
There are no information anything. There was NOT free wifi. The dinners were terribly! During the 3 days we had the SAME: fish in whitewine sauce!!!!
The breakfasts were poor and average.
We asked superior double room, but the room was average: used furniture, peeling paints, rough towels.
But the surroundings and the city was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Very difficult to find - our GPS send us to a closede road and so did other residens GPS too... The hotel parking place was located behind some other hotels and you has to pay 6€. No information at all when we got our room key, we had to ask for every info ourselves. Our room was on first floor, just across the road for a dancebar which played music all night :-( Breakfast was ordinar, nothing more... If you like old fashion style you will like this hotel. But you will not have value for money!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Topi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had bought a package deal - apply 3 days inclusive wellness and half board. On arrival there was virtually no information - nor where to eat dinner. The dinner was poor and the dessert did not respond to the written menu, so we did not eat it.
There was not free Wi-Fi, however a opportunity to use the hotels computer that was located in library.
The private park around the hotel missed the gardener, but could have been really beautiful and this - once apon a time great old hotel - did not fit with burn marks in the bed headboard.
The hotel can certainly be nice with moderated repair and not at least somewhat kompetet staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dope60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Dope60,

first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Axelmannstein Hotel and for this reason we would like to take the time to apologize for the circumstances you have experienced.

Regarding the incidents which had appeared, we would like to insure you that this is not our standard. Please be insured that we will pursue the scene you have described to us, as the satisfaction of our guests is very important to us.

Once more we apologize for the circumstances and we hope to maybe obtain a second chance from you in the future.


Best wishes from Bad Reichenhall,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Reichenhall hotels
0.3 mi away
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#1 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#7 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
#16 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayern Vital
Hotel Bayern Vital
#6 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gablerhof
Hotel Gablerhof
#3 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnenbichl
Hotel Sonnenbichl
#18 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Property: Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Address: Salzburger Str. 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Axelmannstein Resort)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#3 Family Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bad Reichenhall
Radisson Blu Axelmannstein Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing