We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashion luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I wanted to give that nice hotel 5 stars. There are two reasons that hold me. First, there is no air-condition. Even in the beginning of July, it was too hot in the rooms. Second is the Wi-Fi that is free only in the lobby.
Otherwise, the Hotel is very comfortable, and the location is perfect, at the center of town, on the pedestrian area. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast is excellent.
The shops on the pedestrian area closing very early, even some of the restaurants
The hotel has several wings not always on the same level. The room numbers not always consecutive, and can be very far from the following number.
When you want to go to the pool, sauna, or gim, take a map with you. Each one is on different floor and can be difficult to find.
The hotel has a beautiful relaxing garden.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Dear GaiMike,

thank you very much for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience.
It is a pleasure to share your warm and motivating comment with respect to the team.
We are pleased that our guest rooms met your expectations.
A great breakfast is best the start into a great day. Tea or coffee specialties, sweet or hearty delicacies, something light or something healthy… We are pleased that it found your appreciation.
We do hope that there will be a few more opportunities in the not to distant future when we will have the pleasure of your return to the Hotel.

Best regards,

Henrik Mészáros
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We already had stayed here third time,and always got perfect service for reasonable money .There are perfect breakfast and good menu at restaurant (especially courses from Chef). Also,you getting discount for visit some attractions (Salz Museum,Koenigsee etc.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mikhail V,

Thank you very much for having chosen again the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience.
I am delighted that you chose our property for your visit again and I shall certainly share your positive feedback with the relevant departments.
A great breakfast is best the start into a great day. Tea or coffee specialties, sweet or hearty delicacies, something light or something healthy… We are pleased that it found your appreciation.
Thank you for your kind comments and I appreciate your compliments with regards to the excellent standard of service, accommodation and food and beverage we provided. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

i had known the Axelmannstein in its grand time, almost half a century ago and have chosen it for nostalgic reasons when attending a seminar in Bad Reichenhall. One could say it urgently needs an overhaul, especially the furniture in the dining room - the chairs are spotty or downright dirty. if you are more amiably inclined you call it shabby chic.......
The personnel at the reception, all but one I think Syrian man, were clearly out of their depth....
The room was cleaned well. The breakfast buffet was at first sight large, but a little meager after all...the scrambled eggs not made from fresh eggs but egg powder and all the eggs were more than hoard boiled, even the five minutes ones. The breadselection however was large and varied.
The Axel Stübel Restaurant was great on the other hand. A variety of food and beer and capable and friendly waitresses. Do try the Horseradish soup - it is something different and excellent - however, there does not seem to be a standard recipe for it, as it was different every time - I ate it three times!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Dear HazeTaze,

thank you very much for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience.
It is a pleasure to share your warm and motivating comment with respect to the team.
We are pleased that our guest rooms met your expectations.
A great breakfast is best the start into a great day. Tea or coffee specialties, sweet or hearty delicacies, something light or something healthy… We are pleased that it found your appreciation.
We do hope that there will be a few more opportunities in the not to distant future when we will have the pleasure of your return to the Hotel.

Best regards,

Henrik Mészáros
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

very old, very dusty and no hot water. absolutely no go. i disliked the moulded lobby and everything is carelessly run down. it formerly was planned as a beautifull hotel but has a 1 star status in 2014 not anything better. i would never go there with someone with allergies or who is not able to cope with lots of dust and dirt and mould. also the wellness garden shower is constructed of pure pipes and the foot basin has cracked and uneven surface that cuts your feet. the balconies are halfed by barriers so the old huge ones cant even be used. maybe because they are not solid anymore. this hotel needs to be completely redone or rented to i dont even know maybe careless young packpackers for a one star price.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graphicsdesignusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein.
However I certainly appreciate the constructive points made. Rest assured, I shall share your observations with the relevant departments, as it is only through our guests’ feedback that the appropriate improvements can be made.
It has been disappointing to note that you felt our room was not what you had expected, because we often have many compliments about it. They often tell us, that they like this old, traditional hotel.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great stay.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived by car after nightfall. It was ridiculous trying to find it on GPS. The front is actually on a foot path, so not knowing that you are allowed to drive on it can make things awkward. We opted for the cheaper 6 Euro/night parking with about 6 Euro per night parking tax on top of that. It was in a seemingly secure well-lit lot, so no problems there. Not the most convenient getting in and out of, but we left it parked for the duration.

Located on the edge of a very nice shopping district, and most of the sights are within walking distance. It's definitely the most impressive looking hotel in the area, if not a bit secluded. Good views of the mountains from the upper floors.

The decotage is in an awkward phase where it is clearly a classical hotel living in the modern age. Lots of history in these walls, but the Cold War was not kind to the furniture. A lot of the furniture was obviously modern- for 1975. Not a big deal, but I'm not sure the hotel likes that stuff being inside it. The mercury glass throughout is very nice.

I kept referring to the hotel as the 'Land Titanic'. It had a very nice pool and spa (to be expected in a spa town), along with some mysterious bathtub rooms. It was cold during our stay, so I can't speak for the gardens and exterior. Breakfast was a pretty delicious spread. Nothing too fancy, but definitely a nice way to start the day.

Lots of help from the front desk. They offer plenty of discounts for local area attractions and a lot of knowledge. Maid service was efficient and friendly. Internet was about 50 Euro for 4 nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you wear your hotel robes to the pool or you will get the stinkeye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peppermintpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern A, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for the positive review on trip advisor and also for your comments. It was great to see, that you had a good time in our Axelmannstein Hotel and we are all looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Björn Achstaller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had bought 3 nights inclusive wellness and half board.
There are no information anything. There was NOT free wifi. The dinners were terribly! During the 3 days we had the SAME: fish in whitewine sauce!!!!
The breakfasts were poor and average.
We asked superior double room, but the room was average: used furniture, peeling paints, rough towels.
But the surroundings and the city was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very difficult to find - our GPS send us to a closede road and so did other residens GPS too... The hotel parking place was located behind some other hotels and you has to pay 6€. No information at all when we got our room key, we had to ask for every info ourselves. Our room was on first floor, just across the road for a dancebar which played music all night :-( Breakfast was ordinar, nothing more... If you like old fashion style you will like this hotel. But you will not have value for money!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Topi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Reichenhall
0.3 mi away
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#1 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
AMBER RESIDENZ
AMBER RESIDENZ
#12 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#7 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Klosterhof
Klosterhof
#1 of 2 in Bayerisch Gmain
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Luisenbad
Parkhotel Luisenbad
#24 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnenbichl
Hotel Sonnenbichl
#15 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Address: Salzburger Str. 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Axelmannstein Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#3 Family Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range: £78 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bad Reichenhall
Radisson Blu Axelmannstein Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing