We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Family Holiday. Fantastic Hotel we had 2 rooms”
Review of Hotel Gruenberger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gruenberger
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You can not beat this hotel for friendliness, cleanliness and value for money.
We had two rooms both spotless with super clean bathrooms. My Mother and I used the Sauna and Pool which is an added extra .
The owner and the staff could not do enough for us and the food both a breakfast and for the evening meals were of a high standard and they met dietary needs.
We had pleasant evening in the bar area and were made very welcome.
he Hotel is in a convenient spot for bus rides and the train station. You can walk to the town although the walk is steep, however a taxi is no more the 2minutes away.
We were all sorry to leave the hotel who gave us an unforgettable experience and a very memorable holiday
Well done and Thank you

Room Tip: Both rooms we had had great views and a balcony. Warm and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a room to sleep 3 (2 adults and one 5 year old) which was fine. The service at reception was good and helpful with advice on attractions. Breakfast could have had some more choice on fruit but other than that it was fine. Pleasant surprise to have an indoor pool which we used. Location for attractions in the area was good with a short drive or longer walk to the centre of town and a good selection of restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We found this hotel on booking.com and liked it since it had a room which would fit the four of us (me, wife, two son 19 & 22). The room had been newly renovated with beautiful handmade wood furniture, closets and beds. Everything was very clean and the lady (owner?) was very helpful. It is located within a short walk to the train station. The breakfast was very good. The hotel has renovations underway so the restaurant isn't open and there is a little bit of work ongoing but it didn't bother us at all. Internet access was very speedy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMAKFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We fully recommend this hotel the welcome by Silke is first class and she makes this hotel tower above the rest. If visiting this area stay at this hotel you won't be disappointed The pool and sauna are fanfastic

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donnee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are two blocks of this hotel. The Block A sided with the river will be a better one. I lived in the Block B 2nd floors above the restaurant, have a glimpse to the river. I checked-in quite late and the reception lady was working on the restaurant. Though I have been waited, she came back with a very friendly smile. I have dinner at the restaurant. To me, the taste was just average. The breakfast is also basic. Though, with good weather, the restaurant let you have a Picturistic view to the town. Last remark: the wi-fi didn't work some times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location, one block from train station,1/2 block from information, just down the road from the salt mine--need bus or car or long walk. hotel clean with good beds and quiet even on the main road. front desk helpful and the breakfast is very complete.

Room Tip: you can use the TV as an alarm clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8084P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is located a very short distance from the train station, which was important for us as we were travelling Germany by train. The young lady at the reception was very personable and greeted us warmly when we arrived. Gave us a room with a balcony, which we liked.

Rooms were very clean, bathroom was very clean as well. They have a pool and sauna which we didn't use. The comforters where the nicest and fluffiest we had encountered in 5 different hotels that we stayed in while in Germany. Breakfast buffet was good and the dinner meal we had in the evening was very good.

I had hurt my ankle the previous day and they kindly gave me ice for 2 days to help reduce the swelling. I certainly would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abram797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
0.4 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruenberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruenberger

Address: Hansererweg 1, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: £116 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruenberger 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gruenberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing