We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel Fischer(Berchtesgaden)
US$185
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Wittelsbach(Berchtesgaden)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bavaria(Berchtesgaden)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaestehaus Achental(Berchtesgaden)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel EDELWEISS(Berchtesgaden)
US$264
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kempinski Hotel Berchtesgaden(Berchtesgaden)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Gruenberger(Berchtesgaden)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
418
48
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
48
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolcake buffethalf pensionhalf boardgames roombreakfast and dinnercable carfamily roomevery afternoonwonderful hotelcourse menulake konigsseesauna areabeautiful locationhotel is locatedgerman alpsrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just returned from an impromptu 1 week visit to the Alpenhof. This was our 7th stay. We are booked for our 8th in August 2014. We really love the friendliness and family atmosphere. Any help or advice that we have asked for from the reception has always been accurate and helpful. The restaurant staff are courteous, friendly and efficient without being intrusive . The facilities in the hotel are superb and my wife particularly recommends the massage and pedicure facilities in the spa.

Yet again I have nothing but praise for Stefan Zapletal and his staff

Room Tip: The views of the mountains are slightly better from 2nd floor rooms, although this is more noticeable in the summer when the trees are in leaf.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonsdvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We chose to stay here based on recommendations for a change as we have visited the area towards St wolfgang since 1975.We only stayed for 2 nights and were lucky to have warmer and drier weather than our home in the South of France.We now realise we will return to this area as it was more vibrant at this time of year than where we had been before.Armed with information from the helpful receptionist we had the perfect day in the nearby National Park and wonderful walks there along with the Deer feeding between 2-3pm.We then returned to the Alpenhof for tea and (low fat) cakes followed by a swim in the immaculately indoor and outdoor pools,shower and then down for a lovely 5 course meal all of which was included in our daily offer price.
We will return with friends next time as I know they would be totally impressed if only we could fly direct to Salzburg but we have to go to Munich and the journey which should take 2 hours took 4hours and we arrived with 10 minutes to spare.Finally to us it was great to be able to dress for comfort around the hotel as explained in the room booklet which immediately makes one feel at ease when on holiday.Thankyou also to all the staff who created such a friendly atmosphere and made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a basic room which was far from basic compared to many other hotels we have stayed in,we were hardly in the room but it was great to have comfortable chairs to sit in along with a couple of English news channels.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulsanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week in the Alpenhof hotel. We choose this hotel based on the great reviews we found on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. From our arrival until our departure the staff exceeded all our expectations. Stefan the owner is so lucky to have such wonderful staff and they always greeted us with a huge smile. Sylvia on reception was a huge help to us. She checked us in and showed us around the hotel before showing us to our beautiful room, Jenner 1. She also gave us advice on places to go and how to get there which we were delighted with as we don't speak German. The girls Mira, Christine and Brigette were there at our beck and call serving us delicious food and always bringing our drinks to us when we were relaxing after dinner. The facilities in the hotel were excellent and the cleanliness of this hotel was top notch. There are a lot of people who work in the background whom you don't get to meet but they all do a fantastic job keeping this hotel just perfect. Although the hotel is up in the mountain it did not hinder us from going anywhere, even though we did not have a car. It is a 15 minute walk down hill to the local bus(in summertime the bus comes up the mountain) and the hotel provide you with a free bus pass. We travelled to Bad Reichenhall, Trainstein, Salzburg and also spent some time in Berchtesgaden and Konnigsee. We are very much looking forward to returning to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Yesterday evening I returned to my home country still longing for the atmosphere, the genuine friendliness, and service provided by the Hotel Alpenhof.
This was my second stay and far from the last.
From the moment you arrive in the historical, majestic yet cozy town of Berchtesgaden any expectations will already have been met. The scenic beauty and traditional German ambience is present as far as the eye can see.
At the moment you arrive at the Alpenhof, you will enter an almost perfectly tailored hotel to the vacation you are embarking on. The decor is unique with a mixture of modern to vintage tradition to country chic.
You will be greeted by any number of VERY friendly staff. We were greeted by Sylvia who never fails to smile and emote warmth and genuine courtesy. The hotel offers a lunch or tea time in the afternoon hours and she invited us right away to relax and unwind upon arrival.
The dinners are not to be missed, and we feel like old friends after only the second visit!
Mira, Christin, Anna, Patricia we will never forget the wonderful conversations and joy you bring each and every day! We can't stop talking about it..to everyone here at home!
Being of mostly of German decent, I am learning to speak the language on my own, and they made it even more enjoyable and were so helpful and patient!! Although everyone speaks English clearly.
You will not want to leave, and it was with heavy hearts packing our bags and departing after only 6 days there. The dinners are amazing and full of flavor, the chefs do a first class job and my compliments to all those who work in the background because you are ALL FIRST CLASS!
The Aplenhof rooms are very comfortable (we stayed in the suite with separate living room area and couch), the houskeeping staff is WONDERFUL, as the sheets are crisp, the down pillows and soft and super comfortable. The decor to me is Bavarian, with wood beams and Euro color scheme which is inviting and again mixing a traditional German style with a modern look. The bathroom is more modern with the water being hot and the showers strong! The towels are crisp and absolutely fine.
Foreigners, typically the US guests, should remember, you come here as an ambassador to your country, this is not the Ritz Carlton in Manhattan, it is clean, comfortable, stylish and VERY friendly. Skiiers would feel right at home.
The inclusive breakfasts are NOT to be missed. Individual delicious karaffes of coffee are provided to you at the table. The scrambled eggs mixed with various sausage or ham are lecker! The breads, rolls, donuts, pastries...simply delicious! The juices are fresh and wonderful. The cereals, jams-jellies, fruits, cheeses all are just great.
The owner Stefan has welcomed us as friends from the moment we met and is always available for advice or just to say hello. One day, I overstayed my parking time at the nearby Lake Konigsee, and Stefan easily helped me with this as dilemma!
Speaking of which, the beautiful Lake Konigsee is just down the road, in walking distance in fact (maybe a kilometer or two?).
Do not hesitate to book your stay here, you will not be disappointed and I am writing this as someone who appreciates hosptality, yet privacy and being treated with courtesy and friendliness..The Alpenhof NEVER DISSAPOINTS!

Room Tip: A suite provides ample space to stretch out and relax. There is also a separating curtain if you desire.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dssstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our latest trip to this wonderful, relaxing, peaceful, friendly hotel. Stefan and his amazing staff really know how to offer their guests a welcome that makes them want to come again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank bradnsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews