We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Prosper, Texas
1 review
“Breathtaking Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Breathtaking views! Secluded hotel but close to all the major sights. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Was great having a drink on the patio while the kids enjoyed all of the activities...bike riding, swimming, tight rope, sauna and more. Breakfast was fabulous...especially our own personal table. Highly recommend. Only negative is we could not stay longer. Thanks for a Great Stay!!

Room Tip: Edelweiss rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
133
236
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. It's the second time me and my father have stayed here, and we absolutely love it we wouldn't stay anywhere else when we visit this part of Germany. The staff are very very friendly and helpful and make you feel so welcome. The owner of the hotel is a great guy aswell very pleasant. The food is fantastic with a great menu. The whole place overall is Amazing set among the most beautiful scenic mountain ranges and landscapes. It also has indoor and outdoor swimming pools with sauna, spa beauty therapy and massage parlour it has everything a perfect hotel should have.We will be back again next summer,and many summers after that. I highly recommend this hotel, it really is something special.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adzc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great Hotel outside of Berchtesgaden...On way to Konigssee lake...would have had a dreamy view, but our weather was terrible! Rooms were nice...Check in easy. Breakfast and Dinner great. Spa was good and European...Being a Alpine resort, I expected a signifcantly better Hot tub!!! Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: WIFI as in most Europe Hotels was not great. didn't work very well in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star_Buck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas at Alpenhof. However we did feel at times that it was maybe a little too formal for our 2 year old son. Food was fantastic, afternoon cake fabulous and very friendly people. Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YokkaBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

a perfect wellness- and hiking holiday. The staff at the hotel, reception, service and cleaning were excellent, friendly and always helpful. A place you have to visit! The area around Berchtesgarden is stunning, the mountain beautiful and the lake Koenigssee very relaxing.

Room Tip: our room was just excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayUrlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just enjoyed a marvellous few days at this friendly and very relaxed hotel situated in the hills between Berchtesgaden and lake königssee in southern Bavaria. We have visited this part of Germany before so we know it is very special as the beauty of the mountains and the lakes are almost without equal. We have stayed in different hotels and pensions in the area but for us this was the best because it is in a very good location close to lake königssee and the obersalzburg, and because it is very relaxed with good food and a nice swimming pool. Our room was spacious with a good view of the mountains and the bathroom was superb. There was a very good range of food at breakfast. Finally all the staff were friendly and helpful. We aim to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazandrew433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Perhaps the name of the hotel is a bit typical of German nomenclature and lacks the romance or wit of a silicon valley start up company but that's where the weakness ends.

My wife and I stayed this past summer (2013) with our two children and it was nothing short of fantastic. We are skewed though toward Berchtesgaden and the Alps in general which ought to be taken in account but not to the effect of writing this review with rose colored glasses. The hotel is quintessential Alp style except with a level of service which sadly is not that common anymore. An all inclusive format is a turnabout of nearly unfair play by Alpenhof and removes any apprehension in the daily mindset of a european vacation which, for Americans shelling out not only for the the loss in the monetary exchange rate but for the cost of living differential to boot, can place undue restraint on what should be a relaxing and free flowing time.

Sadly, though I'm second generation German, I don't usually recommend the cuisine of my Opa to my compatriots on account that it typically is not something with which the American palate agrees. Occasionally though I'm pleasantly surprised and such was the case with Alpenhof which had splendid dinners! Truly several leaps above the typical fare most will experience in Germany.

They also made some wonderful nonalcoholic drinks, too. My son swears to this day that his favorite drink of all time is a "drachenblüt" which they made for him every.single.night! Additionally they were so kind to email us the recipe so we can continue to give him copious amounts of grenadine for the rest of his childhood.

Lastly I'll never forget horsing around in the meadow adjacent the Hotel in my new lederhosen (to great embarrassment of my wife and children) and asked for my photo to be taken while I was skipping through the wildflowers in flip flops. Now seldom does my wife take photos and even less so with this particular lens I had mounted to the camera which is difficult for most to use for action shots especially if one is laughing during the moment. Alas! She nailed it. And better yet, I hadn't realized several German families sitting on the back patio watching my chicanery and who promptly applauded my skipping foray. My favorite photo of me ever and one of my greatest impromptu moments ever.

Can't commend Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof high enough.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lance_The_Short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchtesgaden
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Property: Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing