We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have stayed in many excellent hotels over many years but this is simply the best in every possible respect. More so because it is privately owned. It is quite a large hotel but has managed to keep an intimacy which makes guests feel immediately at home and GENUINLY welcome. The staff, all dressed in local costume, could not be more friendly and could not do enough for the guests. The weather was not great during our stay in May and one evening, as we sat in the comfortable lounge, a passing waitress noticed us and immediately came and lit the log fire without any prompting from us.On another occasion, when the car park was unusually full, the previous owner who still lives on the premises, noticed and offered us a place in his own garage! - it is this attention to detail that sets this hotel apart from any we have known. As for the food and facilities, they are wonderful. Breakfast offers everything you could desire, beautifully fresh. Dinner is a 5 course meal, with a super starter buffet and delicious varied courses to follow. And the afternoon cakes complete the gastronomic delights! The hotel has wonderful facilities - 2 pools, sauna, fitness suite, beauty suite, children's playroom and billiard room.and it was a joy to swim in the outside pool, accessed directly from inside, so no shivering on the edge, with the lovely grounds and the snow capped mountains in the background. Our Alpenrose room was 34 sq. metres (large!) with loads of storage space, a large and comfortable lounge area and balcony overlooking the grounds. The area has lots on offer - Salzburg, half an hour away, stunning Königsee, mountain walks etc.
We cannot recommend the Alpenhof too highly. And its prices half board are very reasonable. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alpenrose rooms which are large and very well appointed and quiet and overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 310Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    46
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
133
236
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prosper, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Breathtaking views! Secluded hotel but close to all the major sights. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Was great having a drink on the patio while the kids enjoyed all of the activities...bike riding, swimming, tight rope, sauna and more. Breakfast was fabulous...especially our own personal table. Highly recommend. Only negative is we could not stay longer. Thanks for a Great Stay!!

Room Tip: Edelweiss rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. It's the second time me and my father have stayed here, and we absolutely love it we wouldn't stay anywhere else when we visit this part of Germany. The staff are very very friendly and helpful and make you feel so welcome. The owner of the hotel is a great guy aswell very pleasant. The food is fantastic with a great menu. The whole place overall is Amazing set among the most beautiful scenic mountain ranges and landscapes. It also has indoor and outdoor swimming pools with sauna, spa beauty therapy and massage parlour it has everything a perfect hotel should have.We will be back again next summer,and many summers after that. I highly recommend this hotel, it really is something special.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adzc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great Hotel outside of Berchtesgaden...On way to Konigssee lake...would have had a dreamy view, but our weather was terrible! Rooms were nice...Check in easy. Breakfast and Dinner great. Spa was good and European...Being a Alpine resort, I expected a signifcantly better Hot tub!!! Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: WIFI as in most Europe Hotels was not great. didn't work very well in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star_Buck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas at Alpenhof. However we did feel at times that it was maybe a little too formal for our 2 year old son. Food was fantastic, afternoon cake fabulous and very friendly people. Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YokkaBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

a perfect wellness- and hiking holiday. The staff at the hotel, reception, service and cleaning were excellent, friendly and always helpful. A place you have to visit! The area around Berchtesgarden is stunning, the mountain beautiful and the lake Koenigssee very relaxing.

Room Tip: our room was just excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayUrlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just enjoyed a marvellous few days at this friendly and very relaxed hotel situated in the hills between Berchtesgaden and lake königssee in southern Bavaria. We have visited this part of Germany before so we know it is very special as the beauty of the mountains and the lakes are almost without equal. We have stayed in different hotels and pensions in the area but for us this was the best because it is in a very good location close to lake königssee and the obersalzburg, and because it is very relaxed with good food and a nice swimming pool. Our room was spacious with a good view of the mountains and the bathroom was superb. There was a very good range of food at breakfast. Finally all the staff were friendly and helpful. We aim to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazandrew433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchtesgaden
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
458 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
1.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Property: Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing