We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed here for six nights as a base location for visiting National Park Berchtesgaden, Salzburg, and the Salzkammergut. This is a great hotel. It is located in a meadow away from most of the buildings in the little towns near by, and it's a very quiet and peaceful setting, yet it's still close enough to the major attractions in the area to use as a good base of operations.

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival, and shown to our comfortable and very clean room (a Jenner 2, deluxe double room with roof terrace). It was exactly what we were hoping for. The room was well equipped with everything advertised, including enough fresh fruit to keep us in snacks for a few days. The cleaning staff did a great job of making up the room each day and it was always kept very clean. The roof terrace had a lovely view over them meadow and we could see the surrounding mountains quite well. The room was divided into three sections: a foyer/entryway, with a huge wardrobe that easily held our massive array of luggage and clothing, a sleeping area, and a sitting area with a sectional sofa and television. There was a door to partition off the foyer from the sleeping area, and heavy curtains between the sleeping area and the sitting area. There were also curtains between the sitting area and the large roof terrace. It made our room feel like more of a little apartment than just a hotel room.

We ate dinner in the hotel most nights. There is a large a la carte menu in addition to the nightly half board menu. There is also a salad bar that you can eat from each night. The food was decent, though nothing special. The soups tended to be quite good, and there were a couple of very good appetizer courses, but the main dishes were just ok, though for the price, they were more than adequate. The atmosphere in the restaurant was quite nice - cozy and comfortable and welcoming. The staff did an excellent job.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was quite extensive and very good. Dozens of fresh breads and pastries, cheeses, smoked and cured meats, cereals, yogurts, scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, dried fruits, juices, coffee and tea. It was a great way to prepare for a day of touring.

We didn't use any of the pool or spa features of the hotel. We did walk down to the gym area and it was as good as or better than many hotel gyms we've seen. There was also a big game room to enjoy. The wireless internet worked well the entire time we were at the hotel.

We'd definitely recommend a stay here. Our only slight disappointment was the food at dinner, but the rest of the experience made up for that in spades.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2FlyingYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

Ver comfortable and friendly hotel. Absolutely lovely staff - all prepared to forgive us lazy Brits and speak English. Gave us lots of helpful advice. Location was great, but you need a car. View from bedroom was fabulous. Good gym, pools, and games room. Good range of food for breakfast - some hot sausage and scrabled egg - the rest was the usual continental stuff. Limited vegetarian options on the evening meal menu. I guess most people eat at their hotels, because the town of Berchtesgaden has few restaurants (that we could find). Fantastic walking. Easy drive to Salzburg, and would recommend the Park & Ride at Car Park Sud (south) on the road from Berchtesgaden. Don't try driving in. Rooms were very clean and roomy. Reasonably priced internet. The Salt Mine and the trip up Eagle's Nest were both fun.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Been alot of places, hundreds, throughtout Europe and America. Nothing comes close to the perfect combo of service, charm, character, calm, and dinning, Views awesome, location perfect......just enjoy. Probaby the most visually appealling spa I've ever seen. Understated elegence. You will thank me for the recommedation,

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robgreco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

The Hotel Alpenhof is a perfect blend of competent professionalism and genuine warmth. The rooms are spotlessly clean and offer every service that you could ask for on a relaxing holiday. Some of the comfortable double rooms also come equipped with a separate sleeping area- perfect for children- that are outfitted with a bunk bed and small television. The breakfast buffet is extensive by European standards and is continually refreshed throughout the morning so that you don't have to worry about sleeping in and missing out on the "good stuff." Absolutely delicious, gourmet evening meals that are included in the room rate. Extensive wine list. Top rate service staff that go out of their way to make sure the customer is satisfied! So much to do at the hotel - indoor play room for children with a slide and ball pit, state of the art excercise room for adults, ping pong, fussball and pool tables, an indoor swimming pool as well as an all season outdoor pool, tennis court, and an outdoor children's playground all work together to keep everyone entertained! They have a gorgeous wellness center well outfitted and offer many beauty and massage services. All top quality! Every crevice at this hotel is so clean and well maintained that we are already repeat customers!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellym314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

After a a recent illness, we decided to start the new year with a week away of peace and tranquility.

We could not have made a better choice.
We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from Salzburg airport and from the moment we met their driver, everything was perfect.
The half hour journey to the hotel was very relaxed and we were told of various points of interest along the route.

On arrival at the hotel,we were greeted with a warm welcome and the check in was very efficient , the receptionist could not have been more friendly .

We were shown to a beautiful room with a perfect view of the Watzmann mountain.

The quality of meals from start to finish was of the highest standard, I cannot honestly remember having been served better food or friendlier service,

The wellness area was extremely good.My wife loved the outdoor pool with the occasional run across the snow, an excellent way to get an appetite for breakfast.

Overall, we have never stayed at a friendlier,efficiently run hotel where everyone did their best to make sure we had a perfect holiday,

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitramhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Hidden on top of a hill, the Alpenhof looks out at the Watzmann mountain and Jenner Lift surrounded by Alpine snowy peaks and clean fresh dry air. Sitting on our balcony, on padded chairs huddled in provided blankets, we felt like we were in the book Magic Mountain, playing Hans Castorp, but without any illness, enjoying the vista and the quietude.
The Alpenhof is a find. We booked four nights, half pension, in a wonderful room that has a separate sitting area, a large king sized bed, a stocked fridge, a big walk-in shower, and warm slippers and robes. The room was comfortable, quiet, and had all of the expected conveniences. The staff was friendly, almost all bi-lingual meaning English and Deutsch, and all went out of their way to be helpful.
Breakfast was a grand buffet lacking nothing, and dinner was an amazing bargain with three choices of entry, well prepared and presented. Our total charge was 169 Euro a niight with breakfast and dinner for two. Definitely take the half pension. There is so much to do during the day that you do not at all feel like leaving at night to hunt a restaurant in the nearby villages.
The indoor outdoor pool was great. There is a naked area with sauna and other amenities but we did not use it.
This hotel is not inexpensive, but you really get a great deal for the money. And the friendliness of staff takes the entire experience over the top.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We were there for the second year, spent a week this time and having done most of the sightseeing last year we spent more time at the hotel. We had nice weather throughout too.
The beautiful lawn facing the mountains, the heated outside pool make it a perfect place to relax.
Huge breakfast selections and nice dinners.
Berchtesgaden is just a five minutes drive away and most of the most interesting sites around the area can be reached in a short car drive.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CesBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
1.8 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: £127 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing