We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed for a week in this most welcoming of hotels. We were looked after in a brilliant way by ALL of the staff. The hotel is immaculately clean with superb food and drinks. The quiet location surrounded by mountains provides the opportunity for a very relaxing stay. We thoroughly appreciated the facilities and had a wonderful week, Thank you Stefan and whole team .. good job!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
133
236
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Enjoyed 4 nights at this wonderful property. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Staff was very friendly and attentive. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venturing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkenstein, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We've just returned from our fifth visit to the Alpenhof. Every visit is as good or better than the last. Our main priorities when travelling are:

Comfortable Family Friendliness - The hotel provides a well outfitted indoor playroom for very young children. For pleasant weather days there is also a small playground. A family can also enjoy the pinball machine, Fussball and ping-pong tables, and billiards. We also enjoy playing family board games in the fireplace/ lounge room. There are swimming noodles to use in the pools. The Hocheck family bedroom is also to be recommended as the children have a separate area with a bunkbed and small TV.

Relaxation - The hotel is situated in a residential location. No busy street traffic to keep you awake. If you're lucky enough to visit when the cows are brought down from their summer alpine pasture, you may hear the very gentle ringing of cow bells at night. Elisabeth (Lisa) in the Wellness Area provides one of the best massages I've ever received. If you have any back pain try the natural Moor mud pack with massage. The balconies are perfect for lounging and enjoying a beverage from the room's well stocked mini-fridge. The sauna area is nude, but it's absolutely fine. To my American friends, I really promise that no one is looking at us ;)

Gourmet Cuisine - We have spent over 37 nights at the Alpenhof, eating dinner here every evening. We have never seen a complete menu repeated. Every evening offers a trip to the salad bar, an appetizer, soup, main course and dessert. For the main course, there are always 4 choices from which to make a selection (3 of which include meat/ fish and 1 which is always vegetarian). We have never had a problem finding something to our liking (even my 8 year old son), even if it means trying something new such as an ostrich steak. Yes, it was good! The wine card is also extensive and offers something for every taste and price range. For example - open wine in a small carafe, 4 Euros; Dom Perignon 200 Euros.

Culture/Sightseeing - There are endless possibilities for daytrips and activities. This time we made a less than one hour drive into Austria to visit the world's largest ice cave. Salzburg is less than 30 minutes away. Bad Reichenhall has an orchestra with a varied concert schedule also less than 30 minutes travel. Some of the most well maintained and groomed walking trails can be found directly in the hotel's area. The hotel will provide you with a plethora of tourist pamphlets.

Cleanliness - The rooms are superbly clean. Truly spotless bathrooms. If you want new towels every day, just leave them in your tub/shower stall. If you'd like to reuse them, hang them on the towel warmer. It's as simple as that. We've never run out of supplies. Our maid has always made sure there is enough of everything. Slippers are also provided in the room for your comfort.

We love everything about the Alpenhof. We've never had a complaint. If we did, we would feel comfortable enough to address it with the owner or the reception staff. They are friendly, professional and centered on the guests' vacation experience. Even though we just returned home yesterday, we've already confirmed our reservations for the next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanceyfamily2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

The rooms & beds are very comfortable, food is excellent - everything is very fresh & cooked to high standards. Staff are helpful, sociable and always greet you with respect. Very good spa facilities. Nice relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant. All hotel quests respect peace & cosy decor of hotel, ideal location if you want to be away from busy life in the city. Breakfast is enormous, afternoon teas & cakes compliment the beautiful surroundings and tranquility. Good value for money, every day is like a celebration, well stocked bar, nice lounge with fireplace. Don't rent the car from Munich airport!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petevikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at the Alpenhof for the last few days of an excellent holiday in Austria and Bavaria and the stay was one of the highlights of the holiday. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful setting and, the staff are friendly, the rooms spotless and very nicely furnished, the food is very good but for us the highlight was the fantastic outdoor and indoor pool and spa complex. i would certainly recommend the hotel for either a summer or winter holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AANDDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our third stay at the Alpenhof and we have been delighted with the staff, food, amenities, etc every time. The first year we did not include half-board (evening meal) with our reservation - we did not make that error again. The food is fantastic and you have your own table reserved for the length of your stay with your name on a china placeholder. It makes for a wonderful evening without having to drive someplace to find a restaurant. Just enjoy a great meal and then a quiet time at the fireplace or Spa and then the peace and quiet and good night's sleep.

The Spa and the swimming pools - wonderful, heated, relaxing, a real pleasure. I almost don't want to leave the hotel during the day, but there are so many fascinating things to see and do around Berchtesgaden.

The Staff make us feel like family. We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergenbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Immaculate hotel with friendly and efficient staff. Would suit either a couple or a family holiday as we took. We stayed in the extended Hocheck family room with seperate bunk room for the children which we would recommend to anyone with children as in the evening they can go to sleep whilst you can still go out on the balcony and in the living area.
Food was outstanding both for breakfast and dinner, with various choices and options for the children (they will even create dishes for the children to order - if you have fussy children this is a good option).
The indoor and outdoor pools are excellent as both are heated, the children loved playing in the pool outside in the pouring rain.
Overall - would highly recommend it...apart from the weather.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchtesgaden
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Property: Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing