We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stop talking about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We are a family of four (two small children) and we travel quite a bit. Normally we stay at recognized chain hotels (Marriott, Intercontinental...) and we always have good time - not once I could say that we were disappointed (ok, Leeds Crowne Plaza is not my favourite). Last three years we had a winter holiday at Berchtesgaden and we have stayed at Intercontinental Hotel - beautiful place, OK food, nice pool, very pleasant and professional faceless staff... Nothing to complain about at all, but on the other hand, nothing exceptional to write about either. But, AlpenHof, everything was so PERFECT, that I can't even decide where to start. Friendly, clean, personal. If I would run a hotel, that's exactly how I would run it (ok, I would make a water at the pool a bit warmer, but that's really it). You can go to a lot of places and eat, but you don't remember it the next day. AlpenHof food - I will talk about it for weeks and months to come. Brilliant, just brilliant. Great breakfast, even better cakes in the afternoon, and dinner to simply scream about. If I would need to describe the food in one word - DELICIOUS. Overall about the place in one word - CLEAN. Worth every penny (ok, eurocent). Much recommended and I will definitely be back. Hopefully before next February! Thank you Family Zapletal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauriceRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpenhof1, Inhaber at Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2011

We thank you very much for this fantastic review and look forward to welcome you and your family some time again.

Best regards

Stefan Zapletal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

One word to define this hotel: absolute perfect service!
Always available, never intrusive!
My friend and I wanted to spend a few days in the south bavarian alps countryside to wind down. My decision to book the Alpenhof was mostly based on the TripAdvisor comments (and some others...), and again, we didn't regret it a bit! Architecture? Typical Bavarian chalet style I guess ;) But one must expect it when travelling in Bavaria! They are very proud of their heritage and they are bavarian before german! We booked a suite and the room was very spacious. The bathroom, while a bit small, was spotless and offered all the amenities expected in a 5* hotel. Lots of pillows and duvet available. Restaurant, though typical bavarian once again, offered outstanding choices and quality. The staff is there to answer all your request and to assist you in booking any activities. They have all the information regarding their region handy, and the ski slopes are a mere 5 min away by car. We recommend that you have your own wheels as the hotel is located off the main road leading to the ski slopes and Konigsee lake. Huge fireplace offers warmth and relaxation at the end of a busy, and cold, day! We did not use the spa, as like many europeans, we didn't feel confortable with their habit of walking around naked in front of everyone at the sauna and jacuzzi! And keeping a towel around your waist is not an acceptable option, unfortunately. Funny custom really ;)
We have plans to return to the Alpenhof soon as the countryside looks already absolutely fabulous in winter, and we can't wait to see it in spring or summer...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleco7x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Made to feel very welcome by all staff
Superb Food
Spacious, clean room with breathtaking scenery from the balcony.
Loved the walks down the mountain into Berchtesgaden, taking in the scenery.
Also loved the Bobsleigh Run

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunderland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed in the first week of December 2010 for two nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location does require you to have a car as it was high up in the mountains. It however was in an idyllic quiet location and not too far away from Berchtesgaden itself or Lake Konigsee.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed using the Wellness area. The fixed menu was nice but the courses other than the main tended to feature meat with no other choice listed however I asked the staff and they were very accommodating to change it for my mum and provided an alternative. Nice hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed for a week in this most welcoming of hotels. We were looked after in a brilliant way by ALL of the staff. The hotel is immaculately clean with superb food and drinks. The quiet location surrounded by mountains provides the opportunity for a very relaxing stay. We thoroughly appreciated the facilities and had a wonderful week, Thank you Stefan and whole team .. good job!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Enjoyed 4 nights at this wonderful property. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Staff was very friendly and attentive. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venturing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We've just returned from our fifth visit to the Alpenhof. Every visit is as good or better than the last. Our main priorities when travelling are:

Comfortable Family Friendliness - The hotel provides a well outfitted indoor playroom for very young children. For pleasant weather days there is also a small playground. A family can also enjoy the pinball machine, Fussball and ping-pong tables, and billiards. We also enjoy playing family board games in the fireplace/ lounge room. There are swimming noodles to use in the pools. The Hocheck family bedroom is also to be recommended as the children have a separate area with a bunkbed and small TV.

Relaxation - The hotel is situated in a residential location. No busy street traffic to keep you awake. If you're lucky enough to visit when the cows are brought down from their summer alpine pasture, you may hear the very gentle ringing of cow bells at night. Elisabeth (Lisa) in the Wellness Area provides one of the best massages I've ever received. If you have any back pain try the natural Moor mud pack with massage. The balconies are perfect for lounging and enjoying a beverage from the room's well stocked mini-fridge. The sauna area is nude, but it's absolutely fine. To my American friends, I really promise that no one is looking at us ;)

Gourmet Cuisine - We have spent over 37 nights at the Alpenhof, eating dinner here every evening. We have never seen a complete menu repeated. Every evening offers a trip to the salad bar, an appetizer, soup, main course and dessert. For the main course, there are always 4 choices from which to make a selection (3 of which include meat/ fish and 1 which is always vegetarian). We have never had a problem finding something to our liking (even my 8 year old son), even if it means trying something new such as an ostrich steak. Yes, it was good! The wine card is also extensive and offers something for every taste and price range. For example - open wine in a small carafe, 4 Euros; Dom Perignon 200 Euros.

Culture/Sightseeing - There are endless possibilities for daytrips and activities. This time we made a less than one hour drive into Austria to visit the world's largest ice cave. Salzburg is less than 30 minutes away. Bad Reichenhall has an orchestra with a varied concert schedule also less than 30 minutes travel. Some of the most well maintained and groomed walking trails can be found directly in the hotel's area. The hotel will provide you with a plethora of tourist pamphlets.

Cleanliness - The rooms are superbly clean. Truly spotless bathrooms. If you want new towels every day, just leave them in your tub/shower stall. If you'd like to reuse them, hang them on the towel warmer. It's as simple as that. We've never run out of supplies. Our maid has always made sure there is enough of everything. Slippers are also provided in the room for your comfort.

We love everything about the Alpenhof. We've never had a complaint. If we did, we would feel comfortable enough to address it with the owner or the reception staff. They are friendly, professional and centered on the guests' vacation experience. Even though we just returned home yesterday, we've already confirmed our reservations for the next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yanceyfamily2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchtesgaden
2.1 mi away
Hotel EDELWEISS
Hotel EDELWEISS
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Berghotel Rehlegg
Berghotel Rehlegg
#1 of 6 in Ramsau
668 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
18.5 mi away
Wohlfuhlhotel Ortnerhof
Wohlfuhlhotel Ortnerhof
#1 of 18 in Ruhpolding
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: £156 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing