We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look elsewhere for apartments!”
Review of Gasthof Waldluft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berchtesgaden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gasthof Waldluft
Ranked #38 of 52 Berchtesgaden B&B and Inns
AL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look elsewhere for apartments!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Should have looked elsewhere when it took them over a week to get back to me with an offer to my inquiry. We stayed in one of the two apartments and actually stayed an extra night but only to do more activities in the area, not for the house. Dining room way outdated, apartment decor dark and old, miss matched. Pillows were terrible to sleep on and the balcony was packed with storage equipment, empty boxes and junk so we couldn't even open the doors to enjoy the view. Trash including food scraps scattered around stairs that led to apartment door outside. Had to walk through the messy kitchen to get to breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was basic, coffee terrible. To top it off, was never told about the tourist tax which added up to additional unexpected 30euros at checkout time. You can do much better elsewhere for the price. On a positive, the bathroom was clean and updated and there was lots to do with in an hours drive including Hallstat Austria which was AWESOME!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauaibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    4
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Spectacular view and had and enjoyable stay!

The gasthof is about 20 mins walk from Berchtegaden Hbf. While it is a nice walk to the gasthof, with luggage you will need another 15 mins. The location is quiet and the staff were very helpful. Special thanks to Ruddigar who helped us with bus and ferry timetable to Konigsee and gave us a lift to the train station.Internet works well even in the room we stayed and we had a room which face the mountains. Bring your own shampoo, shower gel. There are only stairs in this gasthof but the team in the gathof helps to take our luggage to the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at Gasthof Waldluft for three nights and enjoyed our time. Although slightly quirky, the accommodations were comfortable, the dinners were hearty, and the views were spectacular. We took the recommendation of another guest and visited the Therme, which was wonderful! The only downside was that the internet did not work, which was something we had planned on having during our stay. The hotel manager said we could use his desktop if needed, but for our purposes this wasn't a good solution. We ended up spending quite a bit of time at the tourist center using their wireless.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We adored our stay at Gasthof Waldluft. We noticed a few negative reviews on Booking.com, but not here, and the reviews here are more accurate to our experience. The owners, waiters, cooks, everyone, made us feel so at home at the Waldluft. Our German is a little shaky, but we asked Frau Kurz to speak slowly and she did.

The views are amazing. It is up on a hill (so be warned, manual car drivers or people with shaky legs), and the panorama of Berchtesgaden and the surrounding Bergs is just perfect.

We also ate dinner there one night, after an exhausting day of travel and hiking. The Weiner Schnitzel is good, but get the croquetas to accompany--those are delicious. My husband had the "Gypsy Schnitzel" which had a slight turmeric/curry taste to it--something different for us, but delicious. One night, a group of locals (dressed in lederhosen!) came in for a dinner--if the locals love it, you know it's good.

The rooms are comfortable and cozy, with a nice closet space so you can unpack and feel at home. Our bathroom was a little small and old, but that wasn't a problem for us. The water pressure could be better. Or just plan to go to the Therme every night =)

Request rooms at the front of the house--I believe it is rooms 15 and 13--for the best views. Though you can't really go wrong with any of the views.

We enjoyed the closeness to the Therme. After a day of 8-hours hiking, we were able to come home, eat, change into our PJs with our suits underneath, and wander down to the Therme. It wasn't the best Therme, but we liked the salt pools and the waterslide (Kiddish, I know, but it was really fun!). No need to pay extra for the sauna, they have a salz grotto for a damp infusion of salt. Then showered up, changed back into our PJs and were able to head up the hill and straight to bed! Perfect.

Room Tip: Request rooms at the front of the house--I believe it is rooms 15 and 13--for the best views. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inothernews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
426 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I spend 1 week on a return visit to Berchtesgaden in this Gasthof.
Our requirement was close to the bus stop since we arrived by train , internet , the therme and a restaurant . Waldluft offered all this and more. The gasthaus is on a hill which gives you a nice view of the city but it requires abit of walking up that hill. The rooms are small for american standards but clean and charming Several have balconies and a lovely view of the Watzmann . Breakfast buffet style is very good. The restaurant is open throughout . .In addition to the lodging there is a fee of 2.10 Euro per person per night which gives you a discount card that provides free transportation on local buses and reduced ticket prices in many places.We had a great time thanks to Flora, Ramona and Ursel.See you again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I was there with my husband and a friend for a weekend in october 2011. Very nice and clean rooms, but the best of all are the views from the balconies, no matter where is your room facing. The staff is very friendly, the cuisine superb and very typical, just the way an outsider can expect. You feel like at your grandma's house. There are many natural atractions around for nature lovers. We just hope to get there again some day... I strongly recommend for nature lovers who like to feel like home and doesn't like a lot of people around. The perfect bavarian natural and quiet weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, perfect location and rooms with balconies made this the perfect place to stay. 5 minutes to the Eagle's Nest and 5 minutes to Konigsee.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.7 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#8 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Waldluft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Waldluft

Property: Gasthof Waldluft
Address: Bergwerkstr. 56, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Berchtesgaden
Hotel Class:1 star — Gasthof Waldluft 1*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing