We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings!!”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for 10 days in August with the family. Booked 2 rooms. Booking by phone was quick. Upon arrival were told to park and come to the reception. No one on site to pick the luggage in the afternoon. The lady serving us in tye reception on our arrival was such a helpful person. Very sweet and unfortunately I forgot her name but she is Austrian as I knew later and a gem to be appreciated in this hotel. She asked if I like to order something for the kids as they were tired from a 6 hrs road trip and maybe hungry. Smooth check in. At night we couldn't order room service after 9 pm and had to go to the lobby. At 10:15 ordered a pizza as the kitchen closes at 11. 10 minutes before 11 they come and tell us the oven broke down. Sorry no dinner for tonight. Good that my kids have already had dinner. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices. You can squeeze your own detox drink if you like or chose from what is available. Kids club was fantastic. My kids didn't want to leave the hotel all day. They can play football, bicycles or watch a movie. Staff very friendly in the kids club. Location of hotel iis excellent. Ac in room doesnt really work, you cant even find the ac opening anywhere. Points that I didn't like is that you have to get your laundry down and hand it to reception, and I felt that some of the staff are not trained well for customer service. At times I didn't feel welcomed in the pizzeria for example I waited for 10 min and no one came and then when I ask him he says we are very busy order from your room. Although inside the resturant one table was occupied and the terrace was full. I asked for spoons in my room and the lady getting it asked that if I don't return them when I am done I will pay for it in a rude way. I am paying 400 euros per night. Why would I take your spoons. Service nowadays is more important that the place. As I read earlier in the reviews if you speak the language you will be treated well. And that is true. I will come back if my kids were with me. Otherwise I will not

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adorable79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    69
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
113
223
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here September, 2013 on a Stephen Ambrose tour from the US. It was beautiful, functional, in the middle of everything, had every convenience and every employee except one was absolutely deep south friendly. I understand that it was built on an empty lot, but took 10 years to permit and build because it ruined some views of the cafes and shops behind it, They do a lot for their guests and for the locals bringing in children for swimming and art lessons. I feel like they are not only a top service provider, but a good corporate citizen.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back overlooking several cafes - a little noisy. The front rooms had better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angsw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My partner and I booked 2 rooms together with his sister and her 2 children and his mom.

The hotel is located literally in the middle of the old town of Berchtesgaden. No other hotel could claim "middle" like Hotel Edelweiss.

We were assigned spacious rooms and one room even had an in-suite bedroom for children. The rooms were clean and very well decorated with the traditional bavarian interiors. All amenities that we expect were present - even a room slipper and bathrobe especially for children.

On a side note: we learned during the course of our stay that this is a family run hotel because there was a homey feeling within its interior. Decorations were very well chosen the same way like a mother would decorate her own home. I even loved the oil burned glass "vases" that I had to ask where to purchase them.

The panorama restaurant and the pool are located on the 6th floor is boasting of an unrivaled view of the Watzmann mountain. Every afternoon, after a long days mountain stroll, we would relax at the whirlpool enjoying the specalur view while sipping the house cocktail "Edelweiss Spritz" - a must try!

There are so much more to say about the physical attributes of this wonderful hotel but to me - for us, what stood out in this hotel is how every single staff were extra-friendly, helpful, very pleasant to deal with and always serving with a smile. We loved every minute that we had something to do with anybody from the hotel.

Another surprise was the dinner menu that we were revelling about every evening. We booked a half-board rate and did not expect what we experienced during our stay at Edelweiss. We stayed 4 nights altogether and skipped the first night dinner. From the second night on, there was what seemed like an endless menu which were each divinely presented and were equally tasting like heaven.

I could go on and on but you should experience it for yourself!

This hotel is highly highly recommended and we would definitely come back again - for the service and for the excellent kitchen that they have.

Room Tip: Room 209 have an in suite separate bedroom for children. Spacious corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My brother and I spent 4 nights in Berchesgaden to allow him to recover from an illness that required some quality time and rest,as I was at a wedding in edelweiss hotel in 2011,I felt it was the correct venue for him and we were not found wanting in the service and first class hotel during our stay, I intend to return soon as it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 428100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Being a relatively newly built structure, it doesn't have that chocolate box Tyrolean look, but everything works beautifully. From check-in via the secure underground carpark the experience is efficient and enjoyable. Our room was large enough with effective wifi, a modern bathroom and shower, a good work desk and extremely comfortable beds. We faced the mountains at the front and could actually see the eagles nest from our open door above reception. They could not find us a double, queen or king bed sized room so we had to put up with the singles pushed together as happens so often in Germany and Austria - don't they like each other? The food was excellent, so much so that the rooftop restaurant was booked out the night we were there and we ate in the lounge restaurant. Breakfast was also excellent and included in the room price. There are lots of local activities including for kids and animals are allowed.

Room Tip: Those at the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Excellent food cooked to perfection and reasonably priced. Patio area outside of the Hotel on the main Town Square gives a good preview of life as it passes by in this very pretty Historical Town in Bavaria.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Edelweiss. The setting is spectacular- the mountain views from the rooftop are stunning. I didn't want to leave!
The breakfast was memorable- fresh pressed juices, a dozen whole grain breads and delicious fresh spa-type food available. The indoor pool is nice and gave my son a good break from sightseeing. We were the only Americans there- surrounded by Germans on holiday, which made our stay even more interesting.
One note- the hotel itself is bigger and a little more 'corporate' than I would have guessed by the photos. This is not a quaint little inn. However- they do a great job.
Families: note there is also a small play room. We went in there for a few minutes just for the kids to act like kids and play in the ball pit. At check in they even provided child size spa slippers and robe.
The only thing I wish I had done differently is stay longer. It does take effort to get to Berchtesgaden- but worth it, I highly recommend Edelweiss.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
2.1 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Maximilianstr. 2, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EDELWEISS in Berchtesgaden – the leisure hotel in the centre of town. Amongst the impressive mountains of Berchtesgaden, the hotel is located directly in the pedestrian zone. It is the perfect starting point: Everything from cafés to shops is within walking distance and the Mozart City of Salzburg can be reached in only 30 minutes by car or public transport. The hotel is furnished with great attention to detail, the rooms are comfortable and fully equipped with every comfort. We offer luxurious suites for an extra relaxing holiday. The wellness area on the 5th and 6th floor offers relaxation with mountain views. The EDELWEISS offers a 120 sqm swimming pool with massage jets and counter-current system on the 6th floor and a sauna world with almsauna, steam sauna, bio sauna, Finnish salt sauna, infrared cabin and whirlpool on the 5th floor. Our staff at the Beauty and Vital Residence will gladly pamper you with different treatments for renewing your strength and transforming you holiday into pure relaxation. We are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing