We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay at Berchtesgaden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Almada, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay at Berchtesgaden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A top hotel, there could not be much better, the only downside is the lack of private parking for guests, the pool and viewings are amazing!
Excellent location that allows you to acess anywhere around without trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    68
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
106
213
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in,staff are wonderful and cant do enough for you to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable,
Situated in the heart of Bechtesgarden with views of the Kehlstien (eagles nest) and the Waltzmann

awesome breakfast and a variety of restaurants for lunch or dinner, spacious rooms also
if you are visiting this area be sure to stay here,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHBcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hidden treasure in the Alps. Very friendly and helpful staff, mostly German speaking. The breakfast and Dinners was awesome. Loved the whole German theme. The swimming pool's view was beautiful. Situated in the Alps between little shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeyore707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I did not stay there but a meal in the piano room. The whole ambience was relaxed with beautiful surroundings. Everything was comfortable and the service was good, the food was good. Wishe I go back and stay there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here 2 nights in late April as part of a group of high school students and their chaperones. From the minute I entered the lobby area I knew it would be a good experience. The staff were cheerful, helpful and multi-lingual. The hotel is situated right in town on the edge of the small shopping mall. A little further out of town there is a path above the city where the old salt brine wooden pipeline once ran.
Our room at the Edelweiss was beautiful. Marble, tile, woodwork, small balcony with door that either opened or tilted out at the top. The WC was a separate chamber behind a gorgeous sandblasted glass door. Complimentary bottled water and wine were in the room when we arrived. Beds were very comfortable.
The breakfast was an enormous smorgasbord of items. It stretches over many, many counters for self-serve. Only the coffee was not excellent.
The night before we had a 5 course dinner that was excellent. I also had a bowl of Cream of Wild Garlic soup and some bread in the lobby which was delectable.
There is a spa, pool and outdoor jacuzzi. All very attractive and well-maintained. There are white robes and slippers for you in the room with a bag of spa towels.
At night the large bar in the lobby comes alive and some of the activity drifts over to the lobby seating area. There were always free apples in a wooden bowl there, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

After a long-ish trip on the autobahn, it was a delight to find this hotel in the centre of Berchtesgaden. The service is Bavarian, which is to say, efficient and friendly- just as I like.

My room was large and comfortable, if a tad anonymous. I had a great view out to the mountains, and the room was very quiet, despite fronting on the main road. The bathroom was nicely laid out, with a separate toilet room. I liked the amenities, thought the shower door tended to leak and soak the bath mat.

There is a very large bar area, and we enjoyed local beers from hospitable waiters. We didn't try the restaurant at dinner time, but it seemed to be well attended. Breakfast, though, was nicely laid out, and the quality of the fruits, breads, meats and cheeses was excellent. Hot breakfast is available too, and I hope to stay long enough to try it next time I'm in town!

All in all, this is a well organised four-star accommodation that deserves its good reputation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July

Pros: Good breakfast, friendly staff, quiet and scenic location, clean, nice sized room, clean bathroom, balcony. Can keep window/balcony door open at night. Location convenient to the Eagle's nest and the Konigsee.

Cons: Squeaky bed, no air conditioner, no free-wifi,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernhard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
2.1 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Maximilianstr. 2, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leisure Hotel in the Centre of Town Hotel EDELWEISS in Bavaria/Berchtesgaden Located in the centre of Berchtesgaden, the EDELWEISS Hotel in Bavaria offers plenty of space for recreation, history, authentic traditions and nature adventures. On this page, you'll find out what makes the EDELWEISS a popular destination for active holidaymakers, seminar guests, events and wellness fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing