We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of Cafe Am Luitpoldpark - CLOSED

Cafe Am Luitpoldpark
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Italian, Austrian, Cafe, Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We went based on the reviews here and are pleased to confirm the good things already said.

We were welcomed at the door by a very pleasant waitress who was sweetness and charm personified, and who chatted to us for a few minutes whilst a table became free. Later on, given her obvious networking and organising skills, we came to believe she must be the owner, so good on her for doing a great job.

The menu was varied, reasonably priced and rather unusually came with a salad buffet. My wife liked that as she could get exactly what she wanted and I liked it as I didn't get presented with a plate I wouldn't eat. The mains we had were as good as we'd hoped, so no complaints at all.

As a dessert, please try the Watzmann-becker. It's a huge ice-cream and fruit dish, which we shared between two, but it could easily feed three or even four. It came out from the kitchen with a roman candle spouting a flame about two feet high, much to everyone's amusement.

The restaurant was full and is the only place we remember where some guests (from different tables) were nice enough to say goodbye on their way out.

A very pleasant experience and well worth going very slighly out of the old town centre for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brigadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I went to the Cafe Am Luitpoldpark upon the recommendation of Andre at Hotel Bavaria. He picked a winner for me! Even on a snowy Sunday night, the restaurant was 3/4 full. Service was very prompt and friendly. I had the "Waldmann's Heil" (Goulash with spaetzele, gravy, cream sauce, and raspberry sauce). The presentation was excellent, and the taste of everything was fantastic! I told my waitress that it was as good as the goulash that my mom makes. The salad buffet (included) was also great, with a wide selection of items. Not an American style salad buffet, but tasty German salad items.

A good value for dinner, the entree and a 1/2 liter of beer came to 17,40 Euros. Next time I'm back in Berchtesgaden, I'll be back!

Visited on 10/28/12

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxxydrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, MA USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food with nice view”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Outdoor seating was great. The food was excellent. We got pasta with pesto and it was well prepared. service was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good athmosthere”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Good atmosphere,Food is not perfect,but good enough.Also salads free buffet is nice.
Clean, fast service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank It G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilbeek
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great dinner at the Luitpoldpark”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

In july-august we went by car to visit Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia and Bosnia-Herzegovina and back again, by Austria and Germany, (2 adults and 2 teenagers) preparing everything at the last moment with Tripadvisor.

At this restaurant we had a really excellent meal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Am Luitpoldpark also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing