We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon to be close to the eagle's nest and Salzburg. The hotel is old and is a maze of hallways but the signage makes it very easy to find your way. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the valley. I loved the large bathroom, windows and patio. We were also greeted with a plate of fruit and some toblerone bars. The staff was friendly, the food in the restaurant was good and the view was fabulous. It was also a short walk to the salt mines and the aldstadt. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend you stay here as well.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a small room in the back area. As other reviews noted, this place is a warren, very confusing to get around and lots of unavoidable stairs. The room was old and the electrical plugs were mostly in the headboard which made it a challenge to charge things overnight. The room advertised a minibar, but there was just an empty cabinet. Reviews had indicated there was free wifi, but our room had no signal and the front desk said there was a charge in any event.
The view from the breakfast room was stunning.
The best part was dinner. The restaurant was not busy but the food was classically prepared and gorgeous. The waitress was very friendly and helpful with choices. She was also very helpful to the two American military families that were at the next table. Kudos! (She even served tap water!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank GenawithanE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed here for several nights on a group tour. My room had great views of Berchtesgaden and the surrounding mountains. The owner is a trained chef and cooked some excellent meals. They included a good breakfast buffet with cereal, bread, cheese, sandwich meat, etc. Room was clean and had a small balcony. Only annoyance is you have to any for Wi-Fi.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rjuricich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were quite happy with Vier Jahreszeiten. The balconies were very nice to have, especially with the breathtaking views of the valley and surrounding mountains. The rooms were a little small, but quite comfortable, and everything was in good repair. With thin walls, noise from other rooms can be a bit of an issue, but it was not a serious problem.

The location is good -- a few minutes' walk from "downtown," and it's also possible to walk to the train/bus station via a path that leads down the hill from the parking lot across the street. We were given Berchtesgadener Land visitors' passes, which allow you to ride the local buses for free, and also give you discounts on admission to some local attractions and even discounts at some parking lots in the area. That was a nice bonus.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke good English. The breakfast buffet was great, too; they put on quite a spread. For dinner, the hotel restaurant serves good food (and there are plenty of other options within easy walking distance).

Internet was the only thing we'd have liked to see a little better -- Internet access costs EUR 5 for 24 hours, and the signal is terrible. It's not available in the rooms at all, it barely works in the first-floor lounge, and didn't even work very well in the lobby. I'd give the hotel five stars if they would improve their wireless network.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would stay here again myself. It's a pleasant, comfortable, well-run hotel in a very beautiful place, and was outstanding value for the very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The front side has SPECTACULAR views, not to be missed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumpendebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent five wonderful days at the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten. Everything about the hotel was delightful. The room decor was traditional, rooms were spacious, and had all of the amenities. The view was amazing! We sat on our balcony in awe of the mountains and the view of the town. The staff was more than accomodating/friendly - many spoke some English which was a plus for us. The breakfast was excellent and eaten from a dining room with the same view as our room! The first night we ate dinner in the hotel restaurant -it was ssooo fabulous that we ate dinner there every evening!! The final plus of our stay here was the location to eveything. We walked to the Salt Mines, all of the town center amenities, and walked the trail to Lake Königssee. We can't say enough wonderful things about our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWiseN0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I have stayed here on 3 separate trips. My ONLY complaint is I am not there long enough.

The hotel is situated on a slope overlooking the valley. From the front side of the hotel (the recommended side) you can see the railroad station, the river, and the world's most awesome view of the German Alps. These rooms ovelook the Watzman, the second highest peak in Germany. Rooms have balconies, and I soend a lot of time out there watching the panorama. Sit there with a glass of wine and it doesn't get any better!

Single rooms are small and very comfortable. There is also an honor bar. The hotel is old and charming. To get to one's room from the lobby involves a number of stairways and twists and turns. There is a lift (very small; one person and maybe 2 bags).

Peter Miller, the owner, is equally charming. He is the primary chef. The food and menu are very good. We chose to eat in the smaller dining room which is part of the bar, which contains the stammtish, the table exclusively for locals. It's very warm and cozy.

Breakfast buffet is included in the room price. The buffet is generally scrambled eggs, cold cuts, pastries, and other items. The breakfast room is at the front of the hotel, so you eat while looking over the valley and the mountains.

It is a short walk from the town center. There are a number of shops, some touristy, as well as deli/bakery style places. In the summer a number of places have outdoor seating in the fountain square; it's a great place for a cup of coffee and people-watching.

All of the staff, from the ladies maintaning the rooms to the front desk to the restaurant, were very welcoming and friendly. Most spoke enough English for communication to be no problem. (Sadly, I haven't learned German yet)

The only drawback to the hotel is the Millers lost the use of an adjacent parking area (condos are being built there) so there is little parking. There are a few spaces owned by the hotel which go fast. Otherwise you will need to park in a nearby paid garage.

Despite all that, I would walk any distance in order to stay here. The Millers are welcoming and friendly, the food is great, and the rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Spent a little extra and get a room on the front of the hotel. There is no view from the rear.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

For the money this was a nice hotel. Parking was right across the street and the rooms were above average in size. The breakfast was included and was better than some. The hotel is a little dated but very clean and the staff was nice and helpful. It was just a short walk to the center of town.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank bigdawg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#15 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden

Address: Maximilianstr. 20, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: £86 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel Berchtesgaden
Berchtesgaden Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing