We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for visiting Koenigsee and other attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great base for visiting Koenigsee and other attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were upgraded (7/9/14) to a suite facing the back, with great balcony in spite of no view.Plenty of room, very comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet, friendly, helpful service, everyone excellent in English and good with suggestions. Confusing layout of hotel, a bit of a labyrinth to find room and elevator. Very difficult to walk with luggage from train station, as involves crossing a bridge over RR tracks and going up a long and steep gravel path to Maximilianstrasse, but once there, very convenient to shopping areas of Berchtesgaden, to Schlossplatz and to National Park HQ. There is limited bus service between hotel and train station, and as in all of Germany, bus stops and timetables very clear and easy to understand. Wi-fi was not available at all in any of the rooms while we were there, only in common areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Culp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    52
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
38
73
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The rooms are clean and nice. The hotel itself is a bit dated, and getting to the rooms is literally a maze of walkways, stairs, and an elevator. The breakfast was very good. One drawback is that the wifi is only available in the lobby area, not in the rooms. Huge plus is the laundromat (Yes I said that for Europe) right next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel because it was well rated, had carpark capability, and the attached restaurant was recommended in a short trip guide book for local food styles. We were not disappointed there either.We ordered a south facing room, for the view over the mountains , which for us was covered mostly by clouds with rain, but exceptional. The hotel staff were very welcoming, helpful and informative. What a great choice. Close to old town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden for four lovely nights as part of a small tour group. My room (a single) had a gorgeous view of the mountains, and a small balcony. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom modern, and the housekeeping staff was very efficient and professional. The hotel is situated on a main road, and rooms facing the mountains also face that road, which means you will hear some traffic noise if you choose a room with a mountain view. Solution, if you're so inclined: earplugs at night. I didn't use them because I was so enchanted by the view that I forgot to put them in.

The hotel is a little quirky (in a good way), in that it's not a chain hotel, it has lots of little nooks and crannies, and it's more like staying in someone's large home, really. The ambience is so comfortable and inviting. And the food is ABSOLUTELY to die for. Mr. Miller, the proprietor, also manages the kitchen, and he couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating to our group.

I miss this hotel already. I hope to return someday. If you choose to stay at Vier Jahreszeiten, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CountessCeprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed at the Vier Jahreszeiten many times over the past ten years, normally over the New Years holiday. If you arrive by train take a Taxi to the Hotel, and save your energy for expolring the town! Many of the reviews have referred to the layout of the hotel as a rabbit warren, but we look at that as some of the charm that draws us back. The front rooms give an excellent view over the valley and you can watch the train arriving from Munich. The staff has always provided excellent and caring service, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The Junior Suites are excellent for longer stays. The Restaurant and Stube provide an excellent place to relax, and the Owner/Chef Peter Miller offers a menu of traditional Bavarian meals that will leave you wanting more the next night. There are normally many wild game selections included, and all are prepared with care and satisfy the most particular taste buds. The excellent Breakfast Buffet gets you off to a good start in the morning. If you truly want to experience Traditional Berchtesgaden and Bavaria, stay at the Vier Jahreszeiten!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bergbahnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I just came back from Berchtesgaden, spending 5 days at the Vier Jahreszieten. I asked for a Junior Suite with a mountain view. It was a wonderfully beautiful Bayrisch room. It was white and blue, with beautiful wood trim. The bed was very comfortable, as was the couch. The staff was very freindly and helpful. Also, I must put in a very good word for the restaurant that is adjacent to the hotel. Outstanding food, and very pleasent service. Parking is a bit of a problem, and it is a bit of a walk, and there are a lot of stairs to manuver to get to your room. Other than that, this is a top flight place, and the people made it even better.

Room Tip: Just know you are going to have to manuver stairs and a bit of a walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great location as it is close to the rail station. We've been here many times and come back to relax and enjoy the scenery along with the restaurant.. Food is wonderful, absolute must if you stay there.
Rooms are wonderful, lots of space to put your items and very comfortable. Heading back there soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janej565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden

Property: Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Address: Maximilianstr. 20, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel Berchtesgaden
Berchtesgaden Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing