We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speciel and friendly hotel.”
Review of Hotel zum Turken

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berchtesgaden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel zum Turken
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Speciel and friendly hotel.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have been here for some nights the last 3 years and it always nice to be back.

The hotel is in old style,,but nice and friendly.

Relaxing too!

Very friendly staff.

Ivar Sørgård. Tromsø.Norway / Munich /bayern

Room Tip: if you like nice old hotell with nice wiev and speciel history ,,this hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    27
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
69
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Unfortunately I didn't know about the Hotel zum Türken before coming to the area, but I will definitely return to stay overnight. Although the Türken is a lot less comfortable than the next-door Interconti, it is preferable as the "real" experience of this historic place. Interesting discussions with the new "old lady" at the reception to the bunker (although the quasi-famous owner lady passed away this year 2013) and with other guests. Hotel doors are closed - for guests only. Great views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is old, but it is extremely clean and decently maintained. The breakfast buffet was nice. We knew the age of the hotel when we booked it and booked because of the history associated with it. We would go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBX-Girl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My family stayed at this hotel for the history. It was very interesting to know that the SS guards stayed here and that Hitler himself lived next door. You do not have to be a neo Nazi to appreciate the history. We are proud Americans and my father fought in WWII. But history is history. And we believe the place is haunted. We had two separate experiences and we did not know about the other persons until we left the hotel. My son and I had a shivering presence- items moving experience in one of the rooms. My adult daughter had a frightening chilling feeling when she was in one of the jail cells below the building in the tunnels. She was at first afraid to tell us about it. I will not get into further details because you may think I'm crazy. But we do not even believe in ghosts. Or we didn't;'t until we visited this hotel. But it is not a negative at all. it ads to the history and to the perhaps violent happenings in this hotel. We loved it - once we left.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the valley. Ours also had a private restroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We really wanted to write a good review of this very interesting historic hotel but it is hard to justify it. The hotel is undergoing some changes and several look very positive -- the furniture in the hallways, and having a breakfast buffet are good. We also really liked the self-serve bar. We had three rooms for 2 nights. Two of the rooms were much better than the third. Those rooms were larger with balconies and a view of the valley. The third room was very small with a very small shower and shower curtain that was so close that it stuck to your back as you showered. The shower also took at least 5 mintues to rouse up any hot water. But worst of all, the room smelled extremely musty to the point of bothering our allergies and sleep. The hotel apparently needs some TLC. Having a curved shower curtain rod and somehow getting rid of the terrible smell would certainly improve the situation in room 16. We hope that this hotel can update and save itself so all can learn more about its important history.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Im sorry. I really wanted to love the place but as far as a hotel goes, no chance. I booked here and after discovering my room was essentially a closet with a cot, I had to move to the Intercontinental.

Now, with all that said, the building is remarkable. The historical value of this place is off the charts and I'm so happy to have been able to experience it. The Frau was charmingly grouchy, God love her and I paid to see the tunnel system which is well worth the price. Awesome historical value.

Upon reflection, I guess I would not have been able to tour the interior of the house if I'd not had a room booked there. So it was worth one nights cost just to see the fantastic interior and historic pictures inside. I hope someone can purchase the Zum Turken in the future, maintain the history but bring the rooms to just the 1980's even. Maybe even the 70's.

I know many will disagree with my views but trust me, they have clouded historical glasses on if they recommend the place as a hotel. Hotel Intercontinental, 500 yards away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank clyons24542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickeyville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I had the privilege of spending the nights of Oct 3 and Oct 4, 2012 as guests at the Hotel Zum Turken. We felt fortunate to book the hotel on relatively short notice the week before. I worked with Frau Scharfenburg via email to agree to all arrangements in advance. I reserved the room with a credit card via telephone speaking directly to her in English, no problems. The process of booking a room and the room rates are absolutely clear. Frau does ask that you check in prior to 5PM (17:00) unless you make special arrangements in advance. Frau Scharfenburg is very clear about her expectations and in exchange provides all of the positives that you read about in many of the previous reviews. We each have a group of people who we feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to meet, I personally count Frau Scharfenburg among that group. She provides a connection in the form of the Turken and her life experience to a period of world history that impacts us all differently. She embodies a work ethic and high standards for excellence that we would all be fortunate to maintain though our entire lives. If you are genuinely interested in experiencing the Turken and meeting Frau Scharfenburg, you will not be disappointed. I have stayed in 4 & 5 start hotels on six continents in the last 2 years. The Turken is one of the few, maybe the only, I will remember 20 years from now. With his permission, I will also mention that I had the unexpected opportunity to meet Geoff Walden at breakfast. Any person with an enthusiasm for history and an appreciation for the breadth of experiences available in Europe, will be completely comfortable at the Turken.

Room Tip: If you can, reserve a balcony room on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
488 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
513 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
436 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Turken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Turken

Property: Hotel zum Turken
Address: Berchtesgaden-Obersalzberg, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#5 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Zum Turken Hotel
Zum Turken Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing