We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Alpenhotel Fischer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenhotel Fischer
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We booked into this hotel at the recommendation of my parents, who had stayed there a few years before, and had only wonderful things to say about it. We had a great experience too!

Location
We walked to the hotel from train station--it was about 10-15 minutes, but up a steep hill--at that altitude, we were huffing and puffing when we got there, but without luggage, its not a bad walk at all. The views from the front porch were amazing!

Reception/Staff
All were very friendly. The receptionist personally showed us to our room. The keys are hanging on the wall outside the counter, so you can pick your key up and drop it off without disturbing the receptionist. There was a decent-sized elevator, as far as European elevators go.

Room
Our room was actually quite small--barely larger than the queen-sized bed, however the bathroom was VERY nice, and very large compared with most of the other hotel bathrooms we'd experienced--very nice shower, among other things. We had two big terrycloth bathrobes waiting for us, as well as spa shoes! (see below)

Amenities
The hotel has a full service spa in it, along with a fitness room and an indoor pull & sauna. We did not get to take advantage of the spa services or fitness room, but we did go for a swim in the pool after dinner--we had a wonderful time looking out the floor to ceiling windows at the Alps while paddling around the pool.

Each guest also got a Kurkarte, which you present around town at various tourist attractions for a discount (for instance, the bus up to the Eagle's Nest, the card gets you a 2 euro discount). Don't forget it when you go out.

Restaurant
The food was excellent, and the service wonderful. Great salad bar, amazing desserts, attentive wait staff.

Price
Two people, one night, breakfast included in the price of the room, and dinner simply rolled into our bill at the end of our stay (rather than paying that night), a grand total of 123 euros.

We only stayed one night, as we had very little time to spend in Berchtesgaden, but we would definitely stay there again when we visit next!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    26
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
45
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2007

In many ways the Fischer embodies what an Alpine hotel should be like. The staff were very friendly, the food for both dinner and lunch was out of this world, and the views were incomparible. We stayed prior to the recent renovations, when some of the furniture and decor was bordering on tacky. There were issues with the water pressure, but evidentally this is a common problem in the Alps and probably not the hotel's fault.

  • Liked — Service, Views, Food
  • Disliked — Lack of internet access, low water pressure
  • Stayed May 2003
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cjm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narbonne France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

I loved to stay in this very excellent hotel. Location very near the centre. Large rooms with a lot of amenities. Superb breakfast. Very kind service etc etc...
I was surprised to learn that this hotel was only rated 3 stars. When I expressed my surprise about this to the manager the morning I left, he told me he expected to receive its 4th star, this month (june 2006). I fully agree with this rating and wouls recommend this hotel to each traveller.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophiegepes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 May 2005

After learning, to our dismay, that the Hotel Rosenbichl (where we had a reservation) did not have a room for us, my fiancee and I found the Hotel Fischer. Fortunately, they did have room in the inn, and we had a wonderful time. The food was delicious, the beer was great, and the place had a very authentic Bavarian feel. The only downside (which wasn't really much of a downside), was that we were the only young people staying there. Most of the guests were retirees, and so the place had kind of a low key feel--very mature. Overall, however, we really enjoyed our experience here. Indeed, Berchtesdaden was one of the highlights of our trip--especially the hike in the beautiful national park located nearby.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2004

Very nice hotel, friendly staff. Fab salad bar every evening, and great breakfast bar.

Only downside is the location - very convenient for bus and train stations, but to get the town you have to ascend a very steep hill, and it takes a while if walking(about 20 mins? don't remember exactly, but it wasn't exactly around the corner)

  • Stayed June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Fischer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Fischer

Property: Alpenhotel Fischer
Address: Koenigsseer Str. 51, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#5 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Fischer 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, chill out and take a break from everyday life. Enjoy the indescribable panorama of the Berchtesgadener mountains in our wellness hotel. Fresh renovated and in quiet, central location the whole infrastructure of the location is available to you.Whether you want to chill out after an eventful day or make new friends and have a talk at the chimney - the days in our hotel will remain in your memory for a long time.We'd love to support you in your plannings of individual extracurricular activity. In our house you can find a sauna, an indoor swimming pool (28 ° C) and at Easter 2006 our new wellness realm. With pleasure our chef will provide you with his culinary delicary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenhotel Fischer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Fischer Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing