We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wittelsbach
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This hotel has a old-fashioned elegance, but is also a little worn. The front desk manager spoke very little English. The rooms are large and comfortable, with 15-foot ceilings and beautiful crown moulding. Ours had a nice balcony overlooking the valley. The rooms were clean enough, but the bathrooms could use a remodeling. The location is in excellent, very close to the downtown area and pedestrian mall.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinPshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

The best things to say about Wittelsbach are (1) the views of the mountains are great; (2) the location is central, close to shopping, food and rail/bus transportation; (3) there is a laundromat right next door, and (3) the breakfast is pretty good. We found the proprietor to be rather grumpy. On the plus side, he did offer us a travel card good for local buses with a 10 euro deposit (we got our money back too when we departed). The room itself was extremely dated, the furniture looked like it was 30 years old. The bathroom was in serious need of an update. The lighting was awful at night, lots of sunlight during the day (when you are not there). The overall cleanliness of the room was questionable. The phone had layers of dust on it, and the shower curtain was stained and unattractive at best (who uses shower curtains anymore anyway?). As others have noted, the hotel is at the top of a hill ABOVE the train station. There is a path up from the train station, but you definitely do not want to haul your luggage up there or back. Get a taxi. In the end though I might still recommend this hotel (though my wife wouldn't due to the cleanliness), as you don't spend a lot of time in the room, the price was OK, and Berchtesgaden is a wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanilla_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This is a very good hotel, has a laundramat right next door, good location in middle of town, staff helpful,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuswellbrookCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We booked into the Hotel Wittlesbach on a recommendation from friends who had stayed there 3 years previously. After hearing their rave reviews, we were exceptionally disappointed - everything seems very tired and having compared notes with our friends, the standards seem to have slipped since their visit.

The staff seemed very apathetic, the rooms, lift and bathrooms were 'tired' looking, musty and noisy and the breakfast was so disappointing that we gave it a miss on our last day, prefering to eat out. I didn't appreciate the waitress just 'turning over' our paper place mats for the next guests to use - I also didn't appreciate one guest fingering all the rolls before deciding on the last one she picked up (not the hotel's fault I know, but just another point which didn't help )!!

We stay in Germany (near Murnau) every year and decided to visit Berchtesgaden as an extra this year. We are possibly very lucky with our other B&B accommodation in Murnau, as the service, accommodation and breakfast is exceptional - however, I think there are certain standards which have been dropped by the Wittelsbach and which is a shame.

If you are looking for a 1/2 night stay, need somewhere central and walking distance from the main part, this hotel is a good option - if you are looking for somewhere a little more special - try the Hotel Edelweiss - newly opened and looked fantastic (great bar too).

Sorry Hotel Wittelsbach, but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We arrived at the Hotel Wittelsbach expecting a typical small european hotel. What we got instead was hot and noisy rooms with uncomfortable beds, dirty walls and carpets, a musty smell, nasty food for breakfast, and a staff that varied from rude to unconcerned. There was no air conditioning or fan and so, on a hot night we were forced to leave the balcony doors open. As the hotel is surrounded by noisy bars, we were kept awake by drunken patrons shouting until 5 am. There is also traffic noise. Closing the doors did little to close out the sound anyway. After a miserable night, we went to breakfast in the hotel dining room and were greeted by stale muesli, canned fruit, mealy apples, and strange-looking cold scrambled eggs. The server could barely be bothered with us. We spent the day trying to decide if we should spend another miserable night or lose our money and pay for a night somewhere else. Beware because their cancellation policy won't allow you to see the room without losing most of your money, let alone if you should experience a night like we did. We finally decided to spend the extra money and get out of there. The same crabby clerk was on duty at the desk when we asked to check out early. He didn't have the fundamental good manners to provide basic customer service. There wasn't even an expression of concern at our complaints, let alone an apology, and of course we didn't expect to be offered even a partial refund given their cancellation policy. We travel frequently and we have yet to experience the likes of this terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

A nice hotel with lots of character. My wife and I had a big double room with a balcony and a nice view of the mountains. Staff were super-friendly and very helpful. The only bad thing was the street noise -drunk people walking from the pub down the road. I guess the rooms facing away from the street don't have this problem. I would recommend asking for one of these.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This is a charming, convenient hotel, with a great proprietor who is helpful. Rooms are big, had a fridge, nice big bathroom, and a balcony with great view. But this was on the street and the noise continued all night. Screaming and traffic. Perhaps in the back with no view would be quieter. Dated and worn room, but sufficient. Nice breakfast. Parking was challenging with a big car, and there was a daily 5 euro fee. Also very expensive wireless offered, 8 euros for 60 minutes, there is an internet cafe down the road for 10 minutes for 50 cents. Be sure to get the guest pass, for discounts offered at area sites and parking, for free. It must be asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.1 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
144 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpenhotel Laerchenhof
Alpenhotel Laerchenhof
#11 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wittelsbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wittelsbach

Address: Maximilianstr. 16, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: £79 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wittelsbach 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wittelsbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbach Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing