We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe the best hotel in all of Bavaria!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Maybe the best hotel in all of Bavaria!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Hotel Bavaria and cannot say enough about it and its owners!
I had requested and reserved the Bauernstube room which has a great view of the Watzmann Mountain. When we arrived they upgraded us to the Watzmannsuite, room #20 (without us asking, and it was quite a bit more and gave us the same rate as the Bauernstube)!!! Our room was on the top floor overlooking the Watzmann, the Ramsauer Ache (river) and the train station area! It was a fantastic view from our very own balcony which had a small table and 4 chairs. We had wine, bier, cheese and bread with an incredible view even in the rain. When looking at the hotel from the road, ours was the top balcony that says “HOTEL” on it. We had a very nice double bed in the bedroom. In the living room 2 couches, a small table, a TV and a BAR! In the kitchen a small table with 2 chairs and all the normal appliances. In total we had 4 windows and the double wide door out onto the balcony. We had views in 3 directions!! But my wife’s favorite part was the bathroom. Of course it was nice and clean, there was a large shower, granite double sinks, a towel rack warmer and a bidet, a hair dryer and a toilet, but the best part was the giant jetted whirlpool tub. And over the tub in the ceiling, they had twinkling lights that looked like stars. So you could turn out the lights and turn on the stars and it felt like you were outside!! It was really cool.
We had free wireless internet in our room which was very nice.
Breakfast was very good with a large assortment of all the traditional Bavarian breakfast fare, with meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, jams, yogurts, juices, coffee and poached eggs. Along with some other things you don’t normally find, scrambled eggs and fried breakfast sausage! By far the best breakfast we had at any of the hotels we stayed at in our 15 days in Bavaria and Austria. The coffee machine even made Cappuccino and hot chocolate as well as some teas. And the view from the tables was amazing.
They had a full bar, but we did not see it open. BUT, what they did have was a refrigerator full of bier and some other drinks. There was a list on top that told you how much they were and you took what you wanted and wrote it down and a piece of paper with your room number. At checkout they totaled it up for you and added it to your bill. It couldn’t be easier! They even had wine and some snacks. So it was nice to have a place so close to have that last bier. We also meet some nice people hanging out and enjoying the company.
The staff was very friendly and very helpful. They gave us free passes to ride the buses (which we used), had umbrellas for us to barrow (which we used), and were a tremendous source of information…..(which we also used). They let our friends park their station wagon in the parking lot all day for free….the list goes on and on.
They do take credit cards for payment, but I’m sure they prefer cash.
When we left, I forgot to give them back the key to our room. As soon as we got to our next destination, I contacted Wolfgang by email and told him what I had done. I mailed the key back to him and he sent me a conformation of his receipt of it. He couldn’t have been nicer.
We wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else in Berchtesgaden but the Hotel Bavaria, and we highly recommend it to everyone.
A special thanks to Petra, Wolfgang and Andrè for making our trip to Berchtesgaden and the Hotel Bavaria an unforgettable one!

Room Tip: Ask for the Watzmannsuite, room #20. The view and the whirlpool are worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    99
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
259
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We has a lovely stay. The hotel overlooks busy roads. We walked up the hill to the town and had a grand time shopping and dining here. The breakfast in the morning was very well presented. Very cleaned and well run. Not far from Eagle's nest. Easy parking at rear.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juba, South Sudan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Unbelievable service. Arrived at 830 pm and found the lobby locked. A simple phone call and we had a room, no questions asked. Trust by the owners was ultimate, they were the most hospitable people you can meet. They bent over backwards to assist, giving advice and being so, so happy every time you see them. This is a must stay hotel. Breakfast was superior. The sauna and whirlpool were great after a 4 hour mountain hike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juba_Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is lovely but may be in need of some "freshening up" because the rooms are starting to show some wear & tear (and we saw 3 rooms). We requested and received a balcony room with fantastic views, the added outdoor space was a real benefit. The rating system goes from Average to Very Good - I would prefer to rate this hotel as Good (it's much nicer than average but not exactly very good). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was AMAZING. If you want to go out for dinner/drinks you'll need to walk/drive somewhere which isn't a big problem unless the weather is bad or walking hills is a problem. There is an honor bar if you want a beer or wine but there's no on-property bar.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this lovely hotel in August. We found it totally charming. The owner and his wife, Petra and Wolfgang Kurz, were lovely people and their son, Andre, could not have been more helpful to us in getting settled and planning our daily activities in the Berchtesgaden area. Andre helped us find places to visit and places to eat. It was a wonderful place to use as a base for visiting this beautiful area. Parking was ample and there is a quaint part of the town, with good restaurants, only a short walk away. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

This is not a 5 star Hotel, but for what it is it is Tops.
staff was more than helpful with directions and advice.Room was clean,very clean and charming as is the Hotel it's self.The view from our room was terrific.
The Breakfast was a full breakfast and everything you would want and could ask for.
The only thing I have to say negative is that our room was on the third floor and some help with the bags would have been nice? I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irontree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Bavaria in Berchtesgaden, and I cannot say enough good things about our experience! The Kurze family is so welcoming and helpful; we really did feel like we were guests in their home! The accommodations were impeccable, and the location: PERFECTION! It was a short walk to/from the train station upon arrival, and a 5 minute walk to the heart of downtown. Public transit was easy to access from the hotel... and the views from the breakfast room were the icing on the cake! I would highly recommend this place for a stay in Berchtesgaden, and will most definitely stay here again if we make our way back to this paradise!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgdSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Property: Hotel Bavaria
Address: Sunklergaesschen 11, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bavaria 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing