We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very recommended!”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very recommended!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a family room that was big and comfortable. The hotel is very clean. Owners are so nice and helpful with tours snd restsurants. Breakfast was excellent- big and tasty. The view around is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    99
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
102
264
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We only couod stay one night but I wish it could have been more. Very comfortable bed, exvellent barhroom and an outstanding breakfast buffet. Great view of the mountains from our balcony. Would definitely go there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Captcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had such a wonderful experience at Hotel Bavaria. The staff is kind, rooms are comfortable and cozy, breakfast is very nice, and it is located within a short walk to town. I am giving only four out of five because I felt our room was inferior to that of our friends who booked after us and paid the same price. Ours was smaller on the street with a small shower stall and they had a large room with balcony and mountain view, a large tub. I don't mind if rooms are different, but this was a big difference and it was a nice room, just feel like they are not equivalent for the price.
Hotel does have good and free internet connection.

Room Tip: Request room with balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catszo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

One of the most memorable places I've had the good fortune to stay at would be Hotel Bavaria. The owners are warm, friendly, accommodating & happy to help. The guest house is well situated within walking distance from the bus & train station (yet not that close that it would cause any disturbance), is clean with large beds (always appreciated) &, has a continental breakfast as good as any, if not better than, some of the four & five star hotels I've stayed in. Having been put onto its location by my all knowing travel agent on my first trip to Europe, the place has now become a necessary detour on all subsequent trips to Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 423Ian1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, La.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have taken yet another group to the Hotel Bavaria in Berchtesgaden, and once again my group of 11 voted it the best hotel of our journey. We made it our base of operations for 4 nights, visiting the lake country around Salzburg, the city of Salzburg and the Obersalzburg area, including the Documentation Center depicting the rise and fall of the Third Reich.
However, the jewel of the hotel is the management and staff, which attended to our every needs during our stay with them. Petra, Wolfgang, and Andrea made all the difference in the world when it came to making our visit with them memorable. The buffet breakfast is the best I've seen at a 3 star hotel. The town of Berchtesgaden is one of the friendliest I have ever visited. Good eating places throughout the town means you don't have to walk far for your meals.
This hotel has become my home whenever I visit that area from now on.
Petra, Wolfgang and Andrea, thanks again for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Simply stay at this hotel...all rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumturken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A very nice hotel in Berchtesgaden! The hotel is well located and in a very classic German style. The price is quite reasonable for the area. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms, and despite its small size it was very clean and tidy. The room had a comfortable bed, nice balcony, and a good bathroom. Very quiet and restful night of sleep.

The breakfast was quite good and the breakfast room was very welcoming.

The best part of the hotel is the staff. Apparently the hotel has been run by the same family for over 100 years and they clearly have a talent for it. The man who welcomed me was so friendly and accommodating. I was on a bicycle tour and he took good care of my bicycle and kept it safe and dry indoors overnight. He gave me excellent directions in the morning as well as a map of downtown Salzburg (my destination for that evening).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inconsistency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in one of the romantic rooms. It was very clean and nicely decorated.
However I expected a bit more from the whirlpool which was allright.
The breakfast was excellent, so all in all it was a really nice stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riversurfer_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#14 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Property: Hotel Bavaria
Address: Sunklergaesschen 11, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bavaria 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing