We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A most excellent stay Wolfgang and the family made us feel really welcome, he was funny and helpful and gave us useful local tips to make our stay more enjoyable.

A good breakfast with excellent views to the mountains from the breakfast room.

Good sized, clean and attractive rooms with lots of useful amenities (fridge and sink in ours).

Great location to get to all the attractions this part of Europe offers and easily within walking distance of old town.

Particularly enjoyed the morning weather report from Wolfgang which is always preceded by "the forecast it is always wrong for 3 months but it says ............."

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank buckspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    103
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
107
273
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed our three-night stay at the Hotel Bavaria. We were a little disappointed with the size and ambience of our room when we first saw it (Room 16, Typ Himmelreich on the second floor), but what it lacked in size it made up for in the view from the balcony looking directly out at the Watzmann. It also had a spa bath, albeit one with a mind of its own!

Although the room types might appear uniform online in fact each room is different, for example - despite the room description claiming to provide one, our room didn’t have a refrigerator - so if you have particular needs it’s probably best to discuss your requirements directly with the hotel first. The décor of the rooms also varies quite a bit – our room did not have the ‘romantic’ décor of some of the other rooms of the same type/price.

What really makes this hotel is the hospitality of the owners. Whether it was finding us something in which to brew decaf coffee, or offering to run us up into town in the rain, Wolfgang and Petra could not have been more helpful. They would have to be some of the best hosts we’ve had the pleasure to stay with.

The breakfast has a good selection, although it doesn’t vary from day to day. History buffs (or movie fans who’ve seen The Monuments Men) might also be interested in the adjacent abandoned rail tunnel where Goering stashed his looted art in the later stages of the last World War (best viewed from the northern end of the Berchtesgaden railway station platform).

Overall we'd rate this hotel "Good", if Tripadvisor had that rating!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel in late June 2014 and like it very much. The room is nicely updated. Hotel is charming. Service is very good. Breakfast is quality. Highly recommended and we will definitely consider this hotel first if we visit the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icicream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just over a month ago I stayed at the Hotel Bavaria, and still miss it so much! Such a beautifully run family hotel with great charm and beautiful views. The family were so helpful and knowledgeable when we were asking them for advise about what to get up to. We stayed on the top floor in room 29 and it was the best choice I have ever made. Beautiful spacious room, amazing bathroom and beautiful views from the balcony facing the Jenner Mountain. The breakfast was lovely and the free coffee machine/daytime pastries were a great touch.

Ok this hotel wasn't the most modern hotel I have ever stayed in, but this has beautiful charm and felt really warm.

Hotel Bavaria is one of the main reasons I am already planning my return trip to Berchtesgaden.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the Jenner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent five nights here in July and very much enjoyed our stay. We don't like large hotels and this fitted the bill perfectly - family owned with lots of characted.
The location is excellent, being 5 minutes from both the centre of town and the train staion. The whole of the hotel is exceptionally clean and the star of the show is Andre! He does a really good job, gave us a great welcome and so informative about the area and couldn't be more helpful.
We had a room with two balconies, plenty of natural light and spacious with a seating area, also tea and coffee making facilites and a small refrigerator. The only disappointment of our whole stay was the tiny bathroom which was also very dark, but it didn't spoil our stay.
Berchtesgaden can be quite expensive so we thought the hotel gave good value for money, especially with the inclusive breakfast. Beautiful town and area - if we went back we'd choose the Hotel Bavaria.

Room Tip: Although you won't have a view of the mountains the rooms at the rear maybe be the quieter optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent customer service from reception. Were prepared for our arrival with comprehensive info pack in english. Spacious room with separate sitting area although conversely a small bathroom. Good breakfast but were slow to clean the tables so guests were having to remove dirty crockery themselves so they could use a table. The coffee machine is of particular note as great choice and quality. Location is also very good just 5 mins wslk from both the town centre and the station / cable car. On site car parking too.

However biggest issue for us as tall people was being allocated a room on the top floor in the eaves as we hsd to keep stooping - most uncomfortable

Room Tip: Avoid the third (top) floor as rooms are in the eaves
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in mid-June, and can very highly highly recommend this hotel. The location is first class, being only a few minutes to the railway station, and a few minutes (up a steep hill) to the town itself. There would also appear to be good car parking facilities. The staff here were most welcoming, helpful and friendly. Facilities in our room were good and the room was very clean and comfortable whilst the breakfast was first class. Our room had a large balcony with great views to the mountains - this added to the experience. Room rates were most reasonable. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Property: Hotel Bavaria
Address: Sunklergaesschen 11, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bavaria 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing