We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of Alpenhotel Rieger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhotel Rieger
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. Had two rooms left and the receptionist was kind enough to show me the room before I committed. Very nice balcony view of the surrounding hills and mountains. Breakfast was very good with a large assortment of meat, cheeses, fruits, veggies, cereal, bread, yogurt, and good coffee as well. Located in the center of town with a grocery store across the street and many shops near by. Clean heated pool and very attentive maid service made for a very enjoyable stay. Hotel was full but still quiet. Large bathroom with a double sink. Rates were very reasonable with no hidden charges.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were two grandparents, a daughter and two grandkids (10 & 12) staying for one night in two rooms. The rooms were large, nice and clean. Parking was a little difficult so they led each car to a diffferent place to park, but our car was not far from the hotel. The price was a little higher than B&B prices (it's a hotel), but still not bad. They had a swimming pool that our daughter used. You needed to go to the lobby to use the internet. On the day we left Mittenwald we first caught a bus in front of the hotel to the top of the Lautaschklamm (Spirit Gorge) and walked the gorge downhill, and then walked back to the hotel where our car was parked. This was wonderful and we highly recommend it. We still had plenty of time to tour Neuschwanstein later that day. The clerk helped us figure out how to do this. You can drive to the top, but then you must walk down and back up to your car. You can also walk up and back down, but this would be a lot harder and take much longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

found this hotel by accident really, late night driving. reception staff very helpful with our lack of the language - very reasonable - out of season - and great breakfast, huge! rooms very comfortable and quiet. - lovely town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for one night in late September as part of a German road trip. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would certainly recommend the hotel. We speak only basic German, and though the front desk attendant was happy to exchange pleasantries with us so we could practice our language skills, he spoke perfect English as well.

Upon check-in, we learned that the hotel was fully booked and we were upgraded to a suite even though we booked (and paid for) a regular room. The suite was absolutely huge, with a bedroom, a good size living room (with loveseat, coffee table, and TV), a large balcony, and two bathrooms. Unfortunately, given our short stay, we were not able to take advantage of all this extra space, but it would be a great amount of room for someone who wants to spread out over a longer stay. The rooms are far from modern, but they are clean and comfortable, and perfect for our trip.

My number one priority for a great stay is a good night's rest, and I am thankful that I received exactly that at Hotel Rieger. The church bells in Mittenwald ring frequently, and I was a little apprehensive about that, but we found that with our windows tightly closed, they did not disturb our rest. The bed was sufficiently comfortable.

There seemed to be a fair bit of construction in Mittenwald during our visit, so we had a little trouble navigating to the hotel at first, but were able to figure out an alternate route once we arrived. If no roads were blocked off, it would be quite simple to drive to the hotel. There is plenty of parking in front of the hotel, which is free overnight and only about 2-3 euro if you remain parked during the day.

Breakfast in the morning was a typical German buffet, with cold cuts, cheeses, breads, jams, cereals, yogurts, and juices. They also had an a la carte menu (extra charge) if you wished to order hot eggs, etc. We found the included buffet to be more than adequate. I wish we had cheeses like that at home!

Before our trip, we had a hard time deciding if we should stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen or Mittenwald, and are truly glad we stayed in Mittenwald. It is a cute, quaint town with plenty to do, friendly people, gorgeous natural surroundings, and only about 20 minutes drive from G-P. We hope to return in the future to explore the area further.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bqkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was our first time at this hotel, and we were very pleased. Our room was very clean, excellent front desk was helpful and friendly. Free WiFi in the lobby. Breakfast was great even by European standards. Modern building in a great location. Parking OK but not plentiful except for city paid parking. If returning to Mittenwald, we would most likely choose this hotel again. Lovely outside dining great for afternoon snacks, coffee etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tourop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Six of us stayed here in early April in 5 separate rooms. My husband and I stayed an extra night. We had a lovely meal the first night and equally nice the next evening. In fact, there was a 50th wedding anniversary party. The local Bavarian entertainment and "people watching" was great. We had our dog with us and it was easy, using the elevator to get him to the top floor. The park near the hotel is a great place for dog walking and Mittenwald is an enjoyable 20 minutes away from Garmisch. MIttenwald is much more laid back, but access to other towns in the area is quick. The staff was excellent, the meals were enjoyable and having easy parking in front is a plus. We had an excellent stay and we'll be back.

Room Tip: You'll want to overlook the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you get lost and somehow find yourself in this small town this is one of few choices. Don't expect Wifi in the rooms or modern design. Simple and practical is the name here.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
#2 of 20 in Mittenwald
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Gastehaus Edlhuber
0.2 mi away
Gastehaus Franziska
Gastehaus Franziska
#9 of 20 in Mittenwald
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Rieger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Rieger

Address: Dekan-Karl-Platz 28, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range: £89 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhotel Rieger 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpenhotel Rieger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing