We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gastehaus Franziska
Nearby Hotels
Post-Hotel(Mittenwald)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bichlerhof(Mittenwald)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gastehaus Doring(Mittenwald)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Karner(Mittenwald)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Alpenhotel Rieger(Mittenwald)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backeralm(Mittenwald)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
11
16
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
16
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicturesque townstayed heretrain stationshowerguesthousebalcony
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Gastehaus Franziska has everything that a good German hotel has to offer: spacious quiet rooms with a large balcony, incredibly light and soft blankets and pillows... The rooms have a desk+table with enough chairs, a safe, a mini bar (which means a fridge), a radio, Internet access (wifi, though they talk about WLAN), large bathrooms (ours was decorated with crimson red tiles, very unusual). But best of all was the breakfast - there was everything you can think of: cheese and charcuterie, a wide choice of cereals, fresh vegetables, yogurt, delicious pate.
The only problem was, the check-in time is until 18.00, and most of the day there was no one at the reception. But, if you arrive late, you should call the hotel to let them know (NB: call on the phone, not write an email), and they will figure it out.
The hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Innsbrucker Straße - these rooms have a breathtaking view on the Karwendel mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dos-caras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here five days in late September---loved the town,the gastehaus, and the many walking paths starting right outside our door. Franziska is in a very good location on the edge of town (five minute walk to the pedestrian zone, fifteen minute walk to the train station). It's on the main road but quiet, peaceful, and very close to the river, where there are several great walks, one way up to a gorge and waterfall, and the other way to the Karwendel funicular station.
Mittenwald is extremely picturesque and the hotel fits in perfectly with its geranium filled balconies. Everything was very tidy and clean. On the third floor facing the side street, our room was large; besides the comfy bed with obligatory down comforter and a spacious wardrobe, there were two tables, four chairs and a small couch----traditional cute Bavarian style furniture. The bathroom looked recently redone, modern and sparkly clean--and a skylight window looked directly onto a mountain spitz. Breakfasts are served in a pleasant room with a large window wall and are the usual muesli, fruit (not fresh but canned), wurst, cheese, good bread, soft boiled eggs. Great place in a great location, in a great town.

Room Tip: the third floor seems like a good choice
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Spent two nights in this small, but very comfortable and well run hotel. Clean and spacious rooms.Friendly staff. Just be warned however that if you are arriving to check in after 6.00pm (which we did. just ) the reception is not manned. Despite being warned of our later arrival we could not raise anyone via the intercom or phone to check us in, only managing this ultimately via the intervention of one of the other hotel guests. Nevertheless we enjoyed Mittenwald and the surrounding area. Great walking country. Can recommend eating in the restaurant of the small local brewery diagonally opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chester_UKCitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel was immaculate .Not sure how we scored the junior suite but it was spacious and nearly everything worked perfectly. The bath was great but the shower is a bit of a struggle due to the sloping roof. Small kitchen facilities meant that we could buy stuff and eat in which made a very welcome change from restaurants.
The breakfast was superb, just as well we are on a walking holiday so we were able to do justice to the beautifully presented buffet

The owners and staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble

And mittenwald is picture postcard stuff. We will surely return and make the Franziska our base

Room Tip: The second floor suite was great
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterh025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Beautiful town and very comfortable hotel. Very clean and spacious room. Staff were friendly and very nice. The woman working the breakfast (among other things) was really great she'd let me fumble along with my poor grasp of German and then step in with English.

I won't say what they did for us (don't want to set up expectations that it would happen for others), but I will say that the staff at Franziska really went the extra mile to earn our repeat business!

The town attitude reminds me of a small Hawaiian town; Slow pace, friendly people, no rush, no worries. The man in the Strawberry shaped fruit stand is my 10 year old daughter's new best friend after he gave her a free strawberry!

Oh, and one of the tastiest beers I've tasted in a long time is brewed in Mittenwald, too! (What more could you ask for [other than a permanent resident visa, that is?)

Nice place to visit. Wish I lived here.

Room Tip: If I had to do it all over again, I would have requested a room facing the street (and the mountain)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews