We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of mountains and town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mittenwald
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Bergzauber
Ranked #16 of 31 Mittenwald B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Our room had the most wonderful view of the mountains and Mittenwald town. The room was clean, comfortable and warm. The breakfast was delicious and also had great views. Unfortunately we felt out of place here. We were never given directions or pamphlets of the surrounding attraction (I did my own research but it is helpful to have the host give advice etc). We were anxious to rent bikes and hike as advertised on their website, but no one was around to offer them or help us rent/use them on the trails. The host misunderstand my email about the amount of nights we needed to stay, and as we were leaving for the day she ran in the streets after us telling us we needed to get out now as her next guests were coming. She did not have another room for us nor did she offer to help us find or recommend another accommodation. It was very stressful and disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nataliesue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

This was a great B&B choice in a town full of self-serve vacation rentals. Uphill from town square in a quiet area with beautiful views of mountains and town. We rented one of the apartments and had everything we needed for our five night stay (see photos). It was nice to have a small kitchen to store some food items and we even had a picnic on our balcony one evening with the roasted chicken and sides from a town shop. As it was B&B, the breakfast was bountiful and delicious, in typical German style, along with a different hot dish each day. Our hostess could not have been more helpful and we highly recommend this spot. I think they were getting ready to do a little off-season upgrades. Mittenwald is a hidden gem, the Germans go here for vacation, so don't tell anyone else! And the local beer is outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SM44147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Having never been to the Alps before, we were in awe ! But not only by the breathtaking view of the towering Karwendel. Bergzauber is superbly located within walking distance to the charming town centre, each room has a private balcony to enjoy lovely sundowners from or simply listen to the concert from the "Kurpark" below. And awakening to the smell of coffee in the morning is simply unforgettable - as is the sumptious breakfast buffet, which was one of the many higlights. Storage for our mountain bikes was provided for at no extra cost. And hosts like the Bäumlers are very hard to find - they will make you feel at home in an instant. Most of the other guests had already spent many holidays at Bergzauber - proof of the outstanding hospitality. We will certainly return and will not stay at any other place than Bergzauber.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anja41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Hotel Bergzauber (mountain magic) has unbeatable views of Mittenwald. We could look out on the Karwendel Mountains and see the gondolas ascending and descending.

The place is conveniently located - about a five minute walk (uphill from, downhill to) the town center. It's family run, and I imagine sports enthusiasts will appreciate the fact that the husband-and-wife team who run the place are avid sportspeople.

The rooms we had was spacious, all decked out with hard wood furnishings. Like the hotel's common areas, our room had plenty of odds and ends from all over the world - tokens from the travels of the current owner's ancient aunt, who still lives on the property and helps out. The room had no bathroom, but it had a sink and we had our own private bath directly across the hall. No one else used it, so it was fine.

The breakfasts are really well-done, but be warned about two things.

First, If you're not used to small European hotels, you may find it unpleasant to share tables with strangers. Forget your stereotypes of jolly, fat Bavarians eager to get to know you. Mittenwald doesn't get much international traffic, so the people visiting aren't that used to hobnobbing with foreigners. I speak German and still found it rather awkward - plus you can be sure if you're speaking English, everyone in the room will stop talking to listen to what you're saying.

Second, the proprietress assigns seats for breakfast. So your first morning there, she'll show you to your seat, and unless you raise a fuss, that will be your seat for every morning thereafter. We didn't know this, so on our second morning, we arrived as soon as the breakfast room doors opened, and sat by the window. We were told (albeit nicely, which can be rare in Germany) that the seats were assigned. We were moved back to our interior table (with no views), and watched as our coveted seats were taken by "regulars", who read their paper and never once looked out the window.

The assigned seating thing rubbed me the wrong way, but it's less of a criticism of the Bergzauber than it is of Germany in general. (If you're misanthropic, book at a larger hotel where seating isn't a problem).

4  Thank houstonian1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Fabian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer sind alle zum Tal hin ausgerichtet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmonecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Backeralm
Backeralm
#1 of 31 in Mittenwald
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension Karner
Pension Karner
#3 of 31 in Mittenwald
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
0.3 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Bergzauber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Bergzauber

Address: Klausnerweg 26, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Mittenwald
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing