We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Drachenburg
Ranked #4 of 31 Mittenwald B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. Breakfast was superb and plentiful. Lady who served coffee was extremely helpful and so welcoming. She filled my water bladder every morning so I could put it in my backpack so we could stay hydrated all day. Breakfast for us was a good selection of cereals, yoghurt and delicious selection of fruit, perfect. Our room was large, airy and very clean and had a lovely balcony. As other reviews have stated, it is a very steep climb up to hotel but well worth it to get the wonderful views of town and mountains. It was a 5 minute walk to town centre and 10-15 mins to railway station. This hotel is set in a very, very quiet residential area. MITTENWALD is a gorgeous small village and the hiking is amazing. I picked this location as it's close to the two beautiful lakes, one of which we swam in and thoroughly enjoyed. It is so scenic, a little piece of heaven, tranquil and beautiful.
My only criticism about Hotel Drachenburg is .............

We were staying for a full week and on arrival there was a extremely small bar of soap and a 30ml trio of shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. After approx 3-4 days there were no fresh toiletries provided. I asked Stephanie, the owner if we could have a bar of soap and shower gel as none had been left in our bathroom. She said we only had one minute bar for the whole 7 days and proceeded to ask me if I wanted one. I said yes as we had nothing to wash our hands or to use in shower. On paying the bill I realised she charged us 2 euros. I have travelled for 35 years and stayed in numerous hotels and b&b's and have NEVER HAD TO PAY FOR SOAP. I was very annoyed at her meanness and feel she needs to re-think this absurd charge especially for longer staying guests

Room Tip: Ask for room no 4 with the balcony above hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 1 night in this beautiful hotel. It is perched high above the town of Mittenwald with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. Unfortunately we could only spend 1 night. The staff were extremely friendly. We were very warmly greeted at reception and personally escorted to our room. The room was a good size with great views. The breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, fruit, breads, cold meats and hot beverages. A tourist card was supplied at check in which allowed reductions to tourist sites in the locality and local cable cars. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience to stay in hotel Drachenburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Brilliant place to stay and Stephanie works so hard to make all perfect. 4th time here in the last few years and will be back for the views, comfort and surroundings. Worth a lot longer stay than a day or two and be sure to eat in at least once!. Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldbutsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Drachenburg for 6 nights at the end of July/August and absolutely loved it. The hotel itself is very nice; the rooms are clean and well decorated, the hotel staff are really friendly and helpful - especially Stephanie, the manager. The views from the sun terrace are fantastic and when the sun faded there,we could move to the balcony on our room for the evening sun. There are deck chairs on the terrace and waitress service for drinks, ice cream or apple strudel. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. We only ate our evening meal at the hotel once but were really impressed at the quality of the food and also the price (which was e15.50 for 3 courses).

The hotel is up a hill, which is why it's got such good views but it does mean the walk back up from town is quite steep. But it's soon over and completely worth it - you really appreciate the scenery much more than if you were in the centre of town.

If you're coming by car, be sure and look at the driving directions on the website. Don't do what we did and put in the postcode, then end up driving up a tiny, very steep back lane to get there!

Overall, we loved the hotel and would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is set on a hill on the outskirts of Mittenwald, about 10-15 mins walk from the centre with fabulous views over Mittenwald and the mountains. The manageress Stephanie was very friendly and helpful throughout with excellent English, and provided us with loads of information on walks, etc. around the area, also that the hotel receipt she gave us gives free use of the local bus, free chair lift up one side of the valley and a discount on the main cable car on the other.
We stayed in room 2 which was probably the best with plenty of windows and superb views to the front and side of the house. Everywhere was really clean, breakfasts were great with plenty of choice. Easy enough access by road with a carpark at the hotel, but for walking the path down from the hotel is a bit steep for 100 yards or so (particularly on the way back up!) but well worth it for the view and friendliness of the hotel. The terrace is a great place for a sit with a beer looking over the town after a good day's walk and although the weather was a bit mixed it didn't spoil our enjoyment of the place at all. Mittenwald is beautiful with lots to do and plenty of places to eat to choose from and it is somewhere we are already planning to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thunderbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4globaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Be om rom med balkong og utsikt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Randi Grethe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Landhaus Sonnenbichl
Landhaus Sonnenbichl
#9 of 20 in Mittenwald
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gastehaus Franziska
Gastehaus Franziska
#8 of 20 in Mittenwald
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Drachenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Drachenburg

Address: Im Kreuth 7, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Mittenwald
Price Range: £76 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Drachenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Drachenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing