We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and hospitable, ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic and hospitable, ”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The food was very well cooked and for reasonable prices. Serving was a bit slow because there was just one waitress, but beautiful experience! We didn't stay at the hotel, we just visited the restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IonutColdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    61
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Ever since the 13 th century Hotel Alpenrose is known to be a guesthouse. The beautiful façade, one of the most beautiful in Mittenwald, reveals its long history. The hotel is located in the main pedestrian zone where, just where you want to be. However the hotel can very convienently be reached by car from the rear where a P garage is available. The rooms are modest nevertheless cosy and nice. The beds are good and the linnen is clean and crispy. The hotel has a nice, cosy and typical restaurant. The menu offers a good variety of local dishes. All of good quality. The staff is friendly and skilled. The service they offer is just as would want it. No matter how ancient; all modern facilities such as WiFi are available and functioning well. The price for the hotel and restaurant is compared to the quality and bewaring in mind the location lower then you would expect. I, we, would definitely choose this hotel again next time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Charming, family run hotel and restaurant, with interesting historical photos and items on the walls. Wonderful breakfast. Lovely zither music at dinner. Very convenient location, with secure parking. Room was quiet and clean, but very small. It did have a lovely little balcony but the weather was too cold for us to use it. We especially loved the dogs who reside behind the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannyGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We booked this hotel nearly two months in advance to avoid disappointment as we were looking forward to lodge in a typical Bavarian old style inn and to have a very pleasant dinner in their charming restaurant.
We arrived early, around 2pm, parked at the hotel car park, walked by a big notice saying “zimmer frei” and went at the reception where we were told that due to overbooking they were full, but had a vacancy nearby at a sister establishment. Under normal circumstance we would have refused and gone to look for a place on our own, but we were tired after a long drive from Venice, so we reluctantly accepted. BIG MISTAKE!!!! They sent us to the Bichiehof and for that we have posted a separate review (we suggest you read it!!!)
Frist of all we had a confirmation booking, by email, from the Alpenrose, not from another Hotel Garni. Second, we never were informed at any time that there was an overbooking as we would have liked the opportunity to look for another similar hotel in Mittlewald or change the itinerary. Third, when the offer was made for a different place we assumed, incorrectly as it turned out, that the replacement place was of similar standard of the Alpenrose.
From what we have since read in the various reviews this is a very common happening with the Alpenrose and we find it very unprofessional and to say the least not a practice that one would expect from the normally efficient German establishment, but from one of a third world country. We have travelled far and wide in the world and a lot in Germany as well, where we have always found excellent service and honesty. This does not apply to this hotel as the overbooking was either a complete lie or they already knew this at the time of my request, but accepted the booking nevertheless, so there was no intention from the start to let us have a room at the Alpenrose. Of course as a matter of principles we did not eat at the “charming” restaurant, so they lost out there as well.
So this is my suggestion to any future travelers: stay clear of the Alpenrose or at least if they offer you an alternative because they are “overbooked” run like hell, but do not accept their alternative!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a nice hotel! It is a family run establishment with very friendly staff. The room was perfect. It was quiet. We were on a ally that allowed us to open our windows at night. We ate one night at the hotel. They had a couple of boys that played the accordion. They were very good and the food was great. Typical German fare. Breakfast was a real treat. It had all the breads and jellies, etc. Everyone was very friendly.
The town of Mittenwald is so lovely. The mountain is right above you. We have been to this town several times and love going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Hotel Alpenrose. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the pedestrian zone. When looking at the hotel from the pedestrian zone, ours was the top 2 windows on the left side of the building. We had a very nice double bed, an extra single bed (that was on the floor, no bed frame), a couch, a small table with 2 chairs and a really cool old wardrobe. With all of this furniture the room was a little crowded but manageable. The bathroom was nice and clean, there was a shower, single sink, hair dryer and a toilet.
We had free wireless internet in our room which was very nice.
Our windows overlooking the pedestrian zone and the creek that runs thru town was amazing. We were there during Almabtrieb (when the cows come down from the mountain pastures) and they walked right in front of the hotel! We watched some of this from the street, then went up and watched the rest from the comfort of our room out our windows!
I do not believe there was an elevator (lift), if that is important to you.
They do take credit cards for payment, but I’m sure they prefer cash.
Breakfast was very good with a large assortment of all the traditional Bavarian breakfast fare, with meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, jams, juices, coffee and poached eggs.
The staff was very friendly, but sometimes seemed a little busy to stop and help with questions. This may be in partly due to the very good restaurant that they run on the ground floor. They also have outdoor seating (small biergarten) in front of the hotel which was very nice. But all in all no problems at all.
They have a bar that is with the restaurant, so since things in Mittenwald close down pretty early, it’s nice to have a place so close to have that last bier! The night we went they even had live music.
We would definitely stay at Hotel Alpenrose again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This family run hotel offers a personal and cosy accommodation in the heart of Mittenwald's perfectly preserved main pedestrian street. The view of the Karwendel Mountains from our rooms was amazing. The breakfast was delicious especially the different varieties of German breads, the restaurant is also lovely at dinner time with very friendly staff who are all dressed in traditional German costumes. The food is excellent although the serving sizes are enormous. The rooms are a little cramped and out-dated, (especially the bathrooms) however they are clean functional. The staff are all very warm and accommodating and there are two friendly dogs that are often to be seen in the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Karwendel mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendalls_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
0.6 mi away
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gastehaus Franziska
Gastehaus Franziska
#10 of 20 in Mittenwald
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof

Property: Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Address: Obermarkt 1, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Mittenwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing