We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Value, Service, Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastehaus Neu

Gastehaus Neu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberammergau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Neu
Ranked #10 of 12 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Incredible Value, Service, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I've been touring Europe for over 20 years--lived outside U.S. for 13 yrs now. So, can say that I have been to some real great places and real dives. Haus Neu rates as one of the most well-priced, clean, friendly, and well located guest houses, I have been to. Larger rooms have great space at around 58 euros with breakfast. Smaller rooms for one or one with child run about 35 euros. All with an excellent breakfast. An incredible value for Germany! Penny and her husband Anton are very welcoming, with a wealth of pointers and ideas for travel. The location is right in town. The Passion Play is running in Oberamergau from May 10 to Oct 10. Rooms are booked through this period, but plan a trip to Haus Neu and the beautiful Alps. Safe travels.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BatureGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

It was so wonderfufl and clean that we decided to reroute our trip and stay another day. Penny is the best. Very helpful and witty and we had the best time there.
we are 2 couples traveling together and there was not one complaint between us.
B. Moore
Illinois

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

My daughter, sister and I stayed at the holiday house run by Anton and Penny Neu just a few weeks ago. The guesthouse was our favorite accomodation on our 2 week trip to Germany and Austria. The guesthouse is right by the river and you can see the ski runs and the beautiful Bavarian Alps from the front porch or the bedroom balcony. Penny told us about several local celebrations which we were able to participate in easily. Breakfast rolls and pretzels were provided early every morning in a box for pickup at our leisure.

We could not have been happier with the large holiday house and the friendly service that Penny and Anton provided. We hope to go back and stay when we are in Germany again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Spent two nights at Pension Neu and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The proprietor was delightful and the location great. Value was even better!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosaint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is a terrific guesthouse, in a perfect location with very helpful hosts. The room was lovely, the view was breathtaking, breakfast was plentiful, and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. This is probably the best value accommodation I have ever stayed at.

This is one of the most beautiful areas I have ever visited in my life and I really didnt want to leave. I would definately like to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus-wonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Penny & Anton are brilliant hosts, with local knowledge of where to go & what to see. Their breakfasts are great & are always willing to advice when needed. They are situated 5 mins from the centre which is great for meals & evenings out!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annalansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

My husband and I spent our first night in Germany at Gastehaus Neu. Unfortunately, with our late booking of the room, we were unable to stay there for additional days. Oberammergau is a beautiful and charming town and Penny and Anton Neu were wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schilcherhof
Hotel Schilcherhof
#8 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Neu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Neu

Property: Gastehaus Neu
Address: Passionswiese 3, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holiday in the traditional Bavarian family B&B home or holiday house (both for non-smokers) of an Oberammergau woodcarver and watch him at work in his studio!Quiet and sunny situation very near Passion Play Theatre, hiking and cross country ski trails. 2 mins walk from town centre.Parking in front of the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing