We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Billingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Pension Zwink, for two nights, in June.
Josef greeted us with a smile. He was extremely helpful throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Pension Zwink is a typical, chalet-style, Bavarian house. It is in a quiet street and well-situated for exploring old Oberammergau. Our room was large and had a wrap-around balcony with table and four chairs. The beds were very comfortable.
Parking is available on site, at the back of the premises.
Breakfast was good.
My 'excellent' rating is based on the fact that I thought that Pension Zwink represented good value for money. It is unpretentious and doesn't try to be anything more than what it is - a very good, well run, B & B. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Staying at the Zwink's guesthouse was lovely. The place was quiet, just what we were hoping for. Josef was very kind. The room, small and cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed on the second floor, south-side (I believe), which had an amazing view of mountains to the east and west. Breakfast was included; typical German-style (very filling). We can't wait to go back. The village itself is quaint and memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Josef is a gem. Extremely friendly and helpful. The place is cozy, neat and pretty right at the price.
The breakfast is simple. but the whole experience mainly is enhanced by the helpful and friendly owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkaamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
272 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed one night while providing a lecture at the NATO School in Oberammergau. The room was adequate and simple. Had to leave early the next morning so can't comment on the breakfast. The price was comparable to the room so can't complain. My two biggest complaints were:

Upon check-in wasn't provided a WIFI code and by the time I want to get on, it would have required me to find the proprietor and I wasn't in the mood to do this. Probably a simple oversight but when checking someone in, provide the WIFI code.

The second was that I was made to pay cash as opposed to paying by credit card. No real issue but make it known on booking that cash is the form of payment that is accepted.

Overall, thought the pension was fine but wouldn't return. I have stayed in other places in Oberammergau and Ettal that are better so will skip this one in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef Z, Inhaber at Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your honest assessment. Your opinion is very important for us to improve our service and to be able to turn off possible misstatements.

It is normally not usual that you get no wifi code at the check in. This was unfortunately missed this time. I will inform the team about it and give instructions.

The Payment is of course possible with credit card.
On this day you were supervised by the senior, who can not use the technical equipment.
Unfortunately, you had to leave us early in the morning. Otherwise you would have been served by me personally and could pay from 6.30 a.m comfortably with card. We are sorry for this circumstance.

We ask to apologize our mistake and are looking forward to welcoming you again, also to show to you that we can do better.

Kind regards
Josef Zwink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night. It is a nice small hotel. We had a large room with a balcony around 2 sides. Was quiet and pretty clean. Bathroom quite small. Breakfast room was pleasant and food satisfactory.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CloggerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef Z, Inhaber at Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Hope to welcome you again. Your team of the Guesthouse Zwink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was one of our favourite places to stay on our Germany trip in July, 2013. The rooms were lovely, the location was perfect in the beautiful town of Oberammergau. The highlight of our stay though was the gastfreundlichkeit of our hosts, Anton and Josef Zwink and family. They went over and above to make our stay there special. They served us such wonderful breakfasts and were so accommodating. We felt very much "at home" in this Gasthaus and would definitely stay there again next time we pass by this way. Thank you to the Zwink family.

Room Tip: This is one of the places to stay at in Germany which is at the top of our list. We highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DagmarJuergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a great 2 night stay at this cozy B&B! Our room was very comfortable, and we especially loved the attached balcony and seating area. The hotel's location is perfect; it's just a short walk from many of Oberammergau's restaurants, a bus stop (the one you'll need if you're planning a trip to the Zugspitze), and the bahnof. Breakfast was delicious, and the breakfast room itself was wonderfully decorated. Overall, Pension Zwink was a great value and one of the highlights of our trip to Bavaria.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast

Property: Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast
Address: Daisenbergerstr. 10 | 82487 Oberammergau, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Pension Zwink)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The combination of a boutique hotel and a familiar guesthouse makes the difference at the Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast. The Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast welcomes active mountain freaks, relaxed nature lovers as well as fine intellectual culture connoisseurs with cordiality and bavarian hospitality. Done from a day of adventures and discoveries? Then our rooms and suites are just the right thing. In a cozy, wood-accented ambience you can put up your feet, relax, browse a book without ruffle or excitement and of course sleep really gorgeous. Certainly we also offer satellite TV, WIFI, safe for valuables and a fridge for a cool nightcap. Each room has views to the Oberammergau mountains. Most rooms have a private balcony. Yet, even in our garden lounge you can gaze at the beautiful surroundings, relax and take a break from everyday life . We even thought of the late risers among us. Under the Raindance shower you will certainly start awake and sprightly into a new day. With the KonigsCard you have more than 250 attraktions in our destiantion included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mammhofer Suite & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing