We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Kopa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kopa
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the Best Place to stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small, the breakfast has a very limited selection and the wireless internet is awful. I have stayed in several different hotels in Oberammeegau. This one ranks lowest of all. The folks are friendly, but this little hotel leaves a lot to be desired. There is no elevator and all of the rooms require as sending a pretty steep stairs with luggage. It is off the beaten path and somewhat hard to find. I don't recommend this hotel, unless it is for a very short stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    63
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
48
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubna, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed there about one year ago and choose it because wanted to visit Linderhof Palace which is close. The hotel is quiet place with very friendly service. Rooms are not very big but comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Елена А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Hotel Kopa was a clean and comfortable place to stay. My room was modern and spacious, and all the staff were very helpful. The price was very reasonable too. I'd definitely recommend Hotel Kopa to anyone visiting Oberammergau!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean0536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Kopa the weekend of Nov 15th for two nights. We had a voucher that we had been trying to use for months, but every time I called for a date in the summer, they were booked months out. I was worried that we wouldn't be able to stay there because our voucher technically expired in June! Luckily, when I called after the "expiration date", they were happy to oblige us with our voucher for a later date. We arrived to friendly staff, and a clean room. Our room was very large, and the bathroom was a typical size (on the small side but functional...but that's what you get at a 3-star German hotel), Breakfast was nice, with a great self-serve espresso machine. The only negative is that there's not a parking lot, so you have to pay a 50 Euro deposit for a parking pass for the neighboring streets. Our first day we could park right by the hotel, but the second day we had to park 2 blocks away, so not terrible, but not the most convenient. (Also, we had some problems with the wifi, but we also never asked for assistance from the staff to help us.) Overall, a great hotel, and we will be sure to stay there again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great breakfast - with DIY espresso/caffe latte machine. Free coffee and tea available in the common area, day and night. Wine, beer, snacks are out for reasonable prices - and are on a pay on your honor basis (how refreshing!). Parking works with a pass issued by the hotel, which is good for any of the town's pay as you go spaces. Charmingly remodeled rooms/spaces, though, yes, the floors are a little off kilter (but it IS an old house and that adds to the charm). Nice staff, great location, QUIET (with extra door separating sleeping area from hall). Only drawback - unavoidable - is that you may have to climb stairs, which would be challenging for the elderly or handicapped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siestanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

You will be in for a shock if you are expecting a traditional alpine house. The rooms are minimalist, but chic and completely functional. Ours on the first floor, no lift, first on the right, had a spacious bathroom (shower gels etc replenished each morning), comfortable bed. There was a little recess area with a large wardrobe, ideal for dressing, but a power point is needed to make full use of the large mirror. A three position door allowed access onto a large balcony, however you could walk right around all the balcony areas as they were not sectioned off completely - this caused us no problem. At breakfast you were warmly greeted by the owner, as you were at all times. There was a very good selection for the continental breakfast - this certainly was alpinish !The staff were unobtrusive but very efficient. Although the hotel had no restaurant an excellent Italian restaurant is opposite and well worth visiting.
The hotel's position just off the main town meant it was quiet and it had views of the Laber mountain. Am concerned though about parking. We used the given pass and were able park 20 metres away and did not use the car during our stay, but parking could be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the small side street which leads to the centre of Oberammergau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagerPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
329 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a simple family run B & B hotel in the center of Oberammagau. We had an over night stay and found this to be a pretty low key hotel with very large room and bath and no much else. It is very friendly but lacks the certain Bavarian charms but the rate was quite good including breakfasts for two. There are too many tiny level changes in the room that one can easily trip if not careful.

Breakfast is pretty good!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kopa

Property: Hotel Kopa
Address: Dedlerstr. 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kopa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing