We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well run, family owned hotel.”
Review of Hotel Turmwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Turmwirt
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A well run, family owned hotel.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

What a great little find in Oberammergau. Family owned, and a very nice place to stay. Breakfast served daily, with traditional german fare and usual bacon and eggs etc. The rooms are more than enough with a fridge and balcony. Central location, so very easy to get around. If i find myself back i this quaint little town, i will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank benblinkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
31
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Group of 14 people stayed 3 nights. April was low season so we enjoy the nice and quiet of this little town and small hotel. A good break from our previous city and big hotel experience. Food variety at breakfast was not as many as bigger hotels, but they were good quality and hot food were cooked right. We also had all three dinners there. They were 'set dinner' by our travel agency. First two were fine home cook style, taste good. The last one was very simple white rice and little meat with little sauce. Very unimpressive. I wonder either this is something about 'cost effective' (this is a dinner include in travel package) or the chef knew we had to catch long flight back to U.S. the next morning and tried to serve us something easy on our stomach? Taste was fine though, just not something I'll serve guests. Speaking of morning flight, I really appreciated the chef and waitress served us 6:00 a.m. breakfast so we could catch the flight. We had one waitress all three breakfast and dinner. She was always cheerful and helpful. Very happy with her service.
The room for 3 people was a little small but sensible usage of space. I felt warm and comfortable. Don't know why. I had been in many hotels. This room had all things in the right place. Very clean, both living area and bathroom. I am a clean freak and I loved it! Wifi was good. No issue at all.
The only thing was: there was a cemetery right outside my porch. I do not mind. But I am the new generation of Chinese who is not superstitious. Thus I know many Chinese (especially older generation) will not like to sleep next to a cemetery. If you are Chinese who travel with grand parents, tried to ask for a room which face the other side.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veryyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at this charming cosy hotel in the centre of Obberammergau (opposite the church). Newly refurbished and quite large rooms with a lovely view over the German Alps (ask for a room with a view). There is a small but useful gym, lounge area and sauna. Staff was incredibly kind and helpful. There is quite a lot of choice in this small town but I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel for Christmas as a tour leader for a group of 22 persons from Finland. We all liked the hotel very much, good breakfast with a variety of things to choose from and our dinners were very good too. Some in our group used also the sauna and they said it was the best they ever been in. That's a lot said from a Finn ! Would come back here anytime with group or private.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikajunaturkuun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Based on a tour of the cemetery across from the hotel, the same family has operated this inn for generations, just as community members play in the passion play for generation after generation. The inn is centrally located not in the heart of the area most frequented by tourists, but just barely outside it, across from the community church where many former actors from the passion play are buried. While we were there, we were served either by the Innkeeper or one of his two daughters (the other one was away). The innkeeper is more than willing to talk about history of the town and passion play and to make recommendations for dinner. The inn has a very large breakfast area used only for breakfast. It also has a small bar with beer, wine, hard liquor, and schnaps. The breakfasts were sufficiently varied to satisfy most any taste, but if you're not down early, some of the offerings could disappear. There's free wifi in the hotel, but it's often difficult to access it from the rooms. We found that the lobby and the staircases were the best place to access it. The gym is small, but the equipment is up to date and in excellent working order. The sauna also was high quality and hot. The only downside to the sauna is that it takes about 30 minutes to crank up and cost eight EU per person.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had to take a course in Oberammergau and the hotel was booked by the institution. So, arrived with a bit of trepidation since I like to book my own accomodations. Well, arrived around 11:30 am and checked-in without any issues. Location is ideal in the beautiful, little town and there are numerous restaurants and local bars within just a quick walk.

The hotel is family owned for several generations and the entire staff were quite hospitable. Ask about the history of the hotel regarding the church across the street....

I stayed in room 3 on the second floor which allowed for a nice view of the snow covered mountain from the balcony. Suggest a room on the next floor up, for unobstructed views! Internet is complimentary but I had to login several times which cramped my web surfing style but not a show stopper.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was fulfilling. Breakfast consisted of cereals, sliced meats, cheese and other typical German breakfast items. There is a little bar to the left of the reception area that I did not discover until a day or two after my check-in. The gym is fairly limited but does offer a treadmill, eliptical, and maybe a stationary bike. Did not use the sauna but an hour notice is required.

PS - the church bells do toll but consider it a part of German culture (and who do they toll for you ask....). Drink enough beer and/or walk around town or the local trails to aid in a night of restful sleep!!!

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the third or forth floors, for unobstructed views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel out of several that sounded good and it worked out perfectly for the four of us - two couples traveling together. We stayed there for three nights in mid December, which was a quiet time for the hotel and also for the town. Having 2 1/2 feet of snow on the ground just made the town picture perfect. Our rooms had a beautiful view of the highest peak, the Kofel, and more of the surrounding town. The rooms were very comfortable- large, had a table and two chairs, nice clean and updated bath, balcony, small frige and plenty of storage. We had some laundry for a very reasonable charge. The hotel doesn't have a lot of parking, but we didn't have any problem as so few people were there then. Because the town is small, everything is walkable, so we went to several different restaurants nearby. The hotel serves breakfast (which was included with our comfort deluxe room), and the staff was able to help us with questions we had, such as catching the bus to nearby Linderhof Castle.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jmg4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Antonia
Hotel Garni Antonia
#11 of 25 in Oberammergau
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turmwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turmwirt

Property: Hotel Turmwirt
Address: Ettaler Str. 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Turmwirt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turmwirt is a 3 Star Superior rated Hotel with newly renovated rooms and spa. The family Glas operates this house and will give you a superb stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Turmwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turmwirt Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing