We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotell in a wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotell in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Oberammergau. It is truly Bavarian. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Also, recommend visiting the Passion Play Theater. I saw the play in 2010, and it will be done again in 2020. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogluver315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    55
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
82
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had traveled from a cheaper area and had been camping so 95€ seemed a shock but comparing against what we sampled later this Hotel is excellent value in a superb position in a top tourist destination so the price was reasonable. Your bang in the center of Oberammergau and to get up and walk to the church at 7,30 before the tourists arrive with the cinnamon smell of the bakeries wafting in the streets was magical.The staff are helpful and friendly, and though they don`t make a big play of it, they will cook sausage, bacon and eggs to order for you. First rate. One gripe, stop charging for WiFi

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a charming little hotel in an excellent location. Why the terrible rating? The staff! We were with a tour (45 people) and my thought was they just didn't know how to accommodate that many people. We were referred to as "The Americans" with rude wait staff at the front desk, and in the dinning room. First night we asked if there was room service - said yes, and brought coffee up. (This young man was the ONLY helpful person working). Second night, asked if we could have room service - told no but wouldn't serve us in restaurant either. Finally, the waiter brought us 4 cups of coffee to the tune of 25 Euros - translates to $10.00 per cup - and brought to us in disgust.
Because we were such a large group we ordered from a preset menu for dinner on day two. I ordered chicken. Waiters kept passing me, I would indicate chicken, but was never served. Had to speak to tour guide, was told no more chicken. Ok, so I had over done schnitzel. I had ordered chocolate mousse for dessert. Waiter put in front of me, then took it away. When I asked for my chocolate dessert was told there was no more left. AVOID this hotel if you are in a large group!!!

Room Tip: Each room is different. Ask if they will show you the room before you agree to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingGal1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Alte Post in Oberammergau zentrum. What a great experience! It's a typical family run hotel with modern amenities including WIFI anywhere. The full breakfast with eggs cooked to your liking only made it better. All the desk personnel spoke English beautfifully and were most helpful with assisting us in navigating the area as many roads were closed or dangerous due to heavy snow. Without doubt Oberammeragau and Hotel Alte Post in particular are wonderful experiences to be enjoyed during Christmas and the winter months.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTJack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Alte Post was our base for 5 nights on a Treyn tour to Bavaria, and it was delightful. Our room was very well appointed and comfortable, the bathroom was excellent. It was always warm, too, so important when it's freezing outside. The breakfast was first class, always a great spread. We would have liked somewhere more comfortable to sit in the evenings apart from the Stubel - a lounge area would be a great asset. Food on a package holiday is always a bit dull, and this wasn't any exception, but what we had was always well cooked, and they were very helpful with a guest who had strict dietary restrictions. Also, it's ideally located in the centre of the town. the staff are extremely good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have stayed at the Alte Post every January for 14 years and the welcome and standard of service remains consistently good. Rooms are clean and spacious. Anton Jr and his team look after guests impeccably.

Breakfast is the usual German fare and of high quality.

The hotel has it's own private car park and the hotel is situated in the centre of the village. WiFi works throughout the hotel and available on a payment basis.

Room Tip: Views are good from the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadioTircoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Alte Post for three days during a Christmas tour of Germany.

The first thing that I must report is that Oberammergau is stunningly beautiful in the snow. I felt as if I had stumbled onto the set of a Hollywood movie. Oberammergau lies high in the German Alps. There is one peak nearby, the Kofel, which rises even higher, and it seems always to be looking over you.

The Hotel Alte Post is a bit kitschy, but mostly cozy. For instance, my room had paneling on three walls and on the ceiling. It was very old paneling, which gave off a lovely warm glow. My room also had a religious triptych floating above the head of my bed. Since I am Catholic, this did not bother me much, but someone who is not Catholic might find this alarming. I was traveling with a tour, and one of the other travelers said that she had mounted antlers above her bed. We thought this was a hoot.

The beds are European style, which means that single rooms really have single beds. Double rooms have two single beds placed next to each other in a king-sized frame. I need space when I sleep, so I just moved one of the single mattresses from the king-sized frame across the room and placed it on the floor. It was quite comfortable.

The breakfast at this hotel is incredible. The bread is out of this world, the cold cuts are tasty, the cheeses are delectable, the jams are sublime, and the espresso machine,once mastered, makes very good cappuccino.

The staff is friendly and efficient-- especially young Felix, who speaks perfect English. If you need something and they can get it for you, they will.

The Hotel Alte Post is a little odd, but all the more charming because of it. I rate it a winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickB755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#15 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Property: Hotel Alte Post
Address: Dorfstr. 19, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its first-rate facilities, the Hotel Alte Post is theperfect accomodation for all visitors to Oberammergau,whether for vacation or business.There are many sightseeing activities nearby, the Passionplaytheater is a five-minute walk away and there are a variety of shops in the pedestrian zone right outside the front door.Day trips to the nearby castles of Linderhof andNeuschwanstein bring the royal flair of Ludwig II tothe present. The cheese dairy and distillery in Ettal Abbey are definitely worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing