We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A perfect place to stay while visiting charming Oberammergau!! The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are large (at least the 2 rooms we occupied were) and comfortable, and the location is superb...right in the center of the old town. The restaurant connected with the hotel was nice and the included breakfast was quite complete, with eggs, meat, cheese, pastries, coffee, tea, juice. We loved it here, both the hotel and the town, and found it to be a nice place to base ourselves while touring the area.

Room Tip: We requested rooms with views and had delightful rooms with balconies and a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    55
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
82
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
379 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Oberammergau is a beautiful experience.
The Hotel Alte Post is conveniently located in the heart of the town, it's location is its best feature.

The rooms are different sizes, so be specific about your needs regarding bed type and room size.

The restaurant is average. The breakfast is quite limited and not as good as what we have experienced elsewhere in similar towns in Europe. I would not recommend the restaurant or the breakfast.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay because of the beauty of the town. But the hotel itself was not memorable in any way.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

So it is unusual for me to give 5 stars for a hotel. I grade each hotel on the universe of hotels, worst to best overall, not with a group like budget or upscale. This is the only hotel of a "normal" class I recall giving a 5 star too also.

I will admit that I just love this part of Germany, and this hotel epitomizes the old world charm of this hotel. We states on the front, OLD part (upon recommendation in TripAdvisor) and it was great. Felt like we were staying in an old Bavarian lodge... Which I guess we were. There were modern consciences of course, but they were nicely integrated.

The room was very spacious we stayed in, probably twice the size of most normal hotels. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom adequate. Staff was friendly and they had free on site parking which was nice.

There was an integrated resturant which served the free breakfast. Typical European style selection.


Would absolutely stay here again and encourage anyone planning a trip to this area to give them a try

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at Hotel Alte Post while attending the NATO School in Oberammergau. This is a great hotel in a great town. Friendly staff, with a nice restaurant. Breakfast is included with your stay. On site parking available - one of the few hotels in town that offers free parking at the hotel.

I stayed in one of the two story lofts, available in the back of the main hotel. Large and spacious, a nice but simple room. Only complaint was that the room did not come with a microwave or coffee maker. Room also had a large patio with a fantastic view of the Bavarian Alps!

Ate a few meals at the hotel, and the food was always good - typical Bavarian fare, with a decent selection of beer.

If I'm ever in Oberammergau again, I will definitely stay here! It is situated in the heart of this cozy town, right next to several shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Aviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Referring to the previous review, no, Oberammergau is not the place for night life when the Passion Play is not on! I did not think it would be! At least the empty streets are safer than most in the U.K.!!
The biggest drawback of the Alte Post Hotel (in common with many hotels in Europe), is the lack of a lounge for relaxation after Dinner - the two 'stuebli's' were very much locals' locals.
It felt awkward remaining in the restaurant whilst staff were trying to clear tables and lay up for the following morning's breakfast.
That said, this was a very cosy and comfortable hotel - very old in parts, but with modern facilities in the Dining Room and in the guest rooms - but oh!, the pillows!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the views but could encounter early morning traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffreyM593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed with a group in February. Room was comfortable and full of character. Food was fine but nothing to write home about (except the goulash soup which was outstanding !). Main problem was the evening time. After we had finished our meal and been hustled out of the restaurant there was no bar, lounge or public area to sit with friends to drink and chat. In fact there is no bar at all.
I think this hotel is maybe reliant on being a picturesque building in a picturesque village - people will flock here whatever the standards, so why bother to change anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Alte Post. It is a comfortable hotel right in the centre of Oberammergau. We had a lovely room overlooking the street. Double-glazing ensured that there was very little noise and the facilities in the room were good? The free to guests WiFi worked reasonably well although there were areas not covered. Was there anything we didn't like? We felt that the staff, especially on reception, could have been more friendly. The issue with this particular hotel is that there is no designated bar/lounge area, so that get-togethers after meals, for instance, meant going out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Property: Hotel Alte Post
Address: Dorfstr. 19, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its first-rate facilities, the Hotel Alte Post is theperfect accomodation for all visitors to Oberammergau,whether for vacation or business.There are many sightseeing activities nearby, the Passionplaytheater is a five-minute walk away and there are a variety of shops in the pedestrian zone right outside the front door.Day trips to the nearby castles of Linderhof andNeuschwanstein bring the royal flair of Ludwig II tothe present. The cheese dairy and distillery in Ettal Abbey are definitely worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing