We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place we stayed in all Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Hildegard
Ranked #10 of 14 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

What can we say, fantastic, the welcome was warm, the place was clean and spacious. The breakfast was so amazing with way more variety than was necessary and then they offered to cook us more if we wanted. The owners were clearly very hard working and there was not a speck of dust anywhere or anything out of place. We received free Internet in room, a gratis welcome drink, free mineral water, free parking, and free tourist cards which gave you free entry to the cable car and other local attractions, all covered in the very reasonable daily charge. The owners were fluent in English, French and German. Highly recommended, the place is emasculate.

Room Tip: No need, they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

There were 5 guys and two wifes in our party and we tarvelled by cars and motorcycles to this superb destination. Gunter and Marianne are truly excellent hosts who were avaiable to greet us, take care of all our needs and still be there when we all departed after 3 nights. I have never stayed in a hotel as clean as this one, which is complimented with all other standards including a great breakfast. Will stay again without fail if we find ourselves in that part of the world again. Magnificant Thank You KC & Linda

Room Tip: I beleive it has a gym but we did not go on holiday to get fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCofJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We've stayed there 2 times for 2 weeks - and it was wonderful ! Very friendly hosts, great food - everyday different range of choice, very clean and good equipped rooms- cleaned every day.
Definitely we'll come back here - it was great time !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_kate212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We traveled all over Germany for 3 weeks. This was, by far, our most bizarre experience. When we arrived (5 of us), we rang the bell and were admitted by the husband of the couple who run the property (they live in the building). We were not greeted warmly, in fact, the husband just stared at us as if we were relatives who had arrived unannounced. This was awkward and uncomfortable and commented upon later and noticed by all of us. We had to do the talking to warm things up. It was very strange. In any case, we were all shown to our rooms which were very clean and sparten which we expected. After settling in, my husband asked the husband of the couple if we could do some laundry. He replied that this was no problem and showed my husband how to use the machines. The first load went in and everyone in the group (except myself) decided to go to dinner. I decided to take a nap and was awakened about an hour later by the wife of the owner knocking on the door and requesting that I finish the laundry. I was in my pajamas and feeling unwell, but decided that I should dress and go down since she informed me that "We can't do laundry all night long!" She also informed me that there was a 5 euro charge. No big deal about the charge, but the rudeness is typical Germany. She should have said, "Mrs. Schmidt, in this house we try to have quiet by 10pm, so we are hoping to have the laundry done by then". Now, here is where I should note that the laundry was deep in the cellar and there was only one other guest in the house! It's all about the "rules and ordnung", folks! Unfortunately, there was a big event in the town for the time we were there, so the restaurants were all full and my husband and other family members had a hard time getting served. By the time they arrived back at the house, it was past 8:00 and things were not good. We were not able to do all of our laundry and the couple seemed completely thrown off by our not knowing their "house rules" and hurrying along the drying of our laundry. They were so determined to have us done with the laundry, that they brought up laundry stands (two large ones) and draped our laundry outside in the hallway. We thought it was in the dryer, drying! In the morning, it was all still sopping wet! Everyone took turns in their bathroom with the hair dryer drying their laundry. My husband did this for over one hour straight! And, still they charged us for the use of their machines. The next morning they served a lovely breakfast and were friendly, but the entire stay was marred by their lack of being able to go with the flow and dry the laundry. It is a German fetish, I have learned. They seem to have an innate fear of completely drying the laundry. Dryers, it seems, are completely wasted on them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank FW710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank mtere2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guillaume s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#13 of 25 in Oberammergau
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Hildegard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Hildegard

Address: Daisenbergerstr. 8, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gastehaus Hildegard 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gastehaus Hildegard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing