We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location!”
Review of Hotel Wittelsbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wittelsbach
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We loved the Hotel Wittelsbach! My husband and I along with our 3 grown children and two spouses stayed 3 nights. Great location as a hub for sightseeing Bavaria and for walking anywhere in town. Our 3 rooms had lots of space and were super clean. Wonderful buffet breakfast too. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Petra who gave us lots of tips for seeing King Ludwig's castles. They gave us parking passes so parking in town was a breeze. Only small complaint would be no wi-fi in the rooms. It is available free of charge in the lobby area though so we all just hung out there to post our pics and check email. We would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lternes, Manager at Hotel Wittelsbach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear guest,
many thanks for your feedback. This helps us to improve ourselves. Our Wifi is now working in all our rooms.
Kind regards
Your Hotel Wittelsbach-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I love the location of the hotel which gives you a walking distance to see everything within the city. The service is remarkable, a smile from every staff every morning gives you a beautiful starting day. Clean rooms, nice breakfast and a full info for any destination you might want to go to.
They just have to think about two things:
1- wifi in every floor.
2- a small fridge in rooms.

I hope this would reach the management to work on it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank BuNawaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lternes, Manager at Hotel Wittelsbach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear guest,
many thanks for your feedback. This helps us to improve ourselves. Our Wifi is now working in all our rooms.
Kind regards
Your Hotel Wittelsbach-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Loved it!! So very quaint and Germany and the town was a shopping center...The restaurant was great with a wonderful waitress. Upon checking out they gave us some beer jelly!!! So cute! Also it is close to the church by the meadow Wies which is a pilgrimage church and a must see. Oh I would just love to come back when they do their whole town passion play!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KSoltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a charming family-run hotel right in the centre of Oberammergau. The rooms are spacious, well-equipped and spotless. We had a great room with a balcony and view over the town. Very friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a great stay at the Hotel Wittelsbach in Oberammergau, Germany. Our experience was simply incredible. Even though we stayed 12 nights, we really didn’t want to leave.

The hotel is a typical Bavarian structure and was in good repair. The rooms were not overly large, but were of standard size for the area. Of greatest importance to us was that the room and the hotel was very clean.

Now for the best part; the staff. In our travels to about 26 countries, we have had both good and bad hotel staff, but I must say that the folks at the Wittelsbach are some of the best. Of particular note, I’d like to say thanks to the two Petras who really helped make our stay a warm and welcoming experience. Both were always friendly and always had a lot of time for us whether we were asking to store our bike or needed directions to some of the areas great hiking.

As we were doing some pretty serious training, we brought our own food and did not try the restaurant; however, I did look at the hotel restaurant menu and it did have a nice variety.

All and all a great hotel for a reasonable price; we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a parking pass and the hotel will give you one that allows you to park over night in any par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rogerl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We found this hotel very nice and adequate for our needs. It is located a couple blocks away from the Passion Play stage/theater. The room was clean and comfortably accommodated two of us. We had a room with a balcony and a view over town. Easy walking distance from the shops in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We found this hotel adequate for our needs. The room was clean and accommodated three of us comfortably. We had a room with a balcony and a view over town. Parking was a bit inconvenient. Front desk staff gave the bare minimum information - not much help. In contrast, the breakfast staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler52700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
286 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#8 of 25 in Oberammergau
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#13 of 25 in Oberammergau
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
280 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wittelsbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wittelsbach

Address: Dorfstr. 21, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wittelsbach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wittelsbach is located in the heart of Oberammergau, home of the world famous Passion Play. The hotel has been family owned and operated for many decades. We invite you to enjoy the amenities and the personal style of our 3-star hotel, which combines modern ambience with a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wittelsbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbach Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing